• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Calling My Name

Morning! It is crazy hot here in DC… already in the mid 80s this morning and heading for the mid 90s by the afternoon! It wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t so humid, but it is what it is.

Last night my boyfriend ended up having the night off so we decided to do happy hour by the house. It was way too hot to run or bike outside and I was thinking about swimming, but then realized my pool is closed on Mondays. When he asked if I wanted to go to Kora for happy hour, I couldn’t say no…

We ended up splitting a small white pizza (which normally comes with sausage but we asked for it without).

It’s actually a lot smaller than it looks but just as delicious. I had a few glasses of red wine with my pizza and then had a vegan pasta dish, which was also quite small.

This was vegetable agnolotti, which is similar to a ravioli in that its a stuffed pasta. Because it was vegan, it had no cheese and was just stuffed with tons of veggies! The sauce was a housemade red pepper coulis (with no cream) so the dish was very light. This is something I’ll definitely try to recreate at home sometime soon. Twas a fun night, and a rare occassion I get a weeknight with my beau, so I enjoyed it.

This morning I woke up BEFORE my alarm went off, which never happens to me. I looked at the clock and was wide awake and realized it was before 7. Though unplanned, I decided to go out for a run and take advantage of the day before the heat set in. The run was great, and this time I remembered to drink a lot of water before going out which was a much better idea than the last time I ran in the morning and left without taking a sip. Here are today’s stats:

Distance: 3.20 miles

Duration: 31:45

Avg. Speed: 6.0mph

Avg. Pace: 9:56 min/mi

Calories: 373

Though I don’t think I’ll become a consistent morning exerciser, I’m loving getting my workouts in first thing. I feel like it sets me up to have a good day and make better food decisions since I don’t want to “waste” my workout from the morning.

After I got home, a blueberry breakfast parfait was calling my name. Last night, I heated up 1 cup of blueberries in the microwave for 1 min 30 seconds. I refridgerated it over night so it chilled, and looked like this in the morning:

Into a tall glass, I layered:

  • 1 cup of chilled blueberry syrup (1 pt)
  • 1 cup of nonfat plain yogurt (2 pts)
  • 1 serving of vanilla protein cereal (2 pts)

That was a sample I had received a while back and hadn’t yet tried. I really loved the texture of the cereal – much crispier than regular cheerios a bit “airier” if that makes sense. The parfait turned out great!

The plain yogurt was creamy and provided a nice contrast against the sweet blueberry syrup (which had nothing but blueberries!) and the cereal added the perfect amount of crunch. This is one of the best breakfast parfaits I’ve ever made/eaten.

I think you could do the microwave fruit trick with lots of different kinds of berries/fruit – raspberries, blackberries, strawberries, etc. The microwaving gets it melty and syrupy, and then chilling it makes it almost jelly like. SO good.

And the background on the parfait is a view of my pool, which was also calling my name this morning.

But work won out on that one… 🙂

Are you a morning or an evening exerciser? What’s your pre workout routine. Do you eat/drink before you go?

13 Responses

  1. I definitely do the majority of my exercise at night- but I prefer late morning (which only happens on the weekends… boo!).

    I used to hit the gym in the morning a few times a week and have been slowly sneaking it back in- I do start the day feeling more energized…

  2. Beth, that parfait looks amazing. Congrats on getting up early this morning for a run. Occasionally, I can convince myself to wake up early for a workout, but sleep usually wins. I have noticed that when I exercise early I tend to make better food decisions because I don’t want to “waste” the workout, as well.

  3. I am definitely a morning exerciser. If I don’t do it in the morning, I don’t do it at all. I, too, feel like I’ve “wasted” my AM workout if I eat not-so-good (food is never bad, really…) during the day, so it’s a good motivator for me all around.

  4. I am definitely NOT a morning exerciser. I’d love to be, but it’s just not in the cards. I’ve tried many times, but always slip back into the routine of evening workouts. That gets bad here in FL when the weather starts to heat up because it’s usually 90*+ in the evenings with “feels like” temps over100*. Yikes!

    As for morning routines? Mine consists of rolling out of bed, showering, and getting myself prettied up. Then off to work – I eat breakfast at my desk every single day & have done this since my first “real” office job in 2000!

  5. I can do both but I prefer evenings, although feel better all day when I get it over with in the morning. I usually try not to eat anything at least an hour before a workout

  6. That pizza and pasta look deliteful! You’re so good at making fancy breakfasts 🙂

  7. I am a morning exerciser and I usually don’t eat much before but afterwards I chow!

  8. Absolutely not a morning exerciser. At all. Nope, not me. I really wish I was capable because its nice getting the workout out of the way, but its not for me.

  9. OMG that pizza looks so good!! I loove crust, it’s my favorite part and that crust looks so fluffy and amazing.

    Way to go on getting up and getting in some exercise!

    So jealous of your pool!

    I am an evening exerciser on days I have to work. I don’t like to wake up before 7 so am doesn’t work for me. On weekends and days I have off I like to knock it out early so that I can enjoy the day and I love starting it off on the right foot.

  10. I’m definitely a morning exerciser. If I don’t go first thing it’s really hard for me to get myself out the door!

  11. Im not a morning person at all, but if I don’t work out first thing in the morning I don’t work out at all. With that said, this past week has been horrible, and I need to force myself out the door come tomorrow. Being I exercise so early, 5ish or so on the weekdays, I don’t have much of a pre-workout routine, other then brush teeth, wash face, and go! Oh, and grab water. Depending on what I have planned for that workout, cardio vs. weights, I TRY to eat/refuel for my workout, the night before. But lets, just say that’s a work in progress. I do notice that I FEEL better cardio wise if I consume gatorade vs. just water during, so that’s something I need to keep in mind. Other then that, time wise, am exercise works for me, and like you, I feel it helps mold my day as far as eating, and in general I do FEEL BETTER throughout the day as a whole.

  12. love your dinner-that pizza looks so good…..so great that you got up and at em to work out. i LOVE exercising in the morning. i try to do it as often as possible. hope you stay cool today!

  13. Quality not quantity on the pizza, it looks great!
    I like do my longer workout first thing in the morning and just have a snack before. In the afternoon I go shorter and obviously have a good lunch a few hours before. I am not a fan of evening workouts.

Leave a Reply

