• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Frozen Smoothie

Hello! Today has been a really good day, but far too fast if you ask me. I ended up wandering through the Farmer’s Market by my apartment after work, and before I even got to the market, I spotted this truck:

A frozen yogurt truck! I knew I needed a snack because my stomach was grumbling, so this was an exciting discovery. I just ended up getting plain tart fro yo, and I actually ordered it in a cone but they were out and gave it to me in a cup instead.

The cone (with no toppings) was $2, and the small (with 3 toppings) was $5, and I”m cheap. So, plain it was. “Twas delicious though, and perfect for the hot, hot weather today. I made my way through the farmer’s market and am noticing such a change now because great stuff is coming out of the farms! There’s tons of fruit, greens, squash, beets, etc., and way more than there has been earlier this season. I ended up just getting  a little bit because I have the farm share coming on Thursday, but I picked up a few things that I knew wouldn’t be in there.

2 pink lady apples, baby cucumbers, cherries, cilantro, and goat cheese. I got all this stuff $17, the biggest splurge being the goat cheese which was $7, but I sampled some and it is SO good.

After my farmer’s market adventure, I decided to go to Bikram! I already worked out this morning, but it was just a quick run, and I haven’t been to Bikram in over a week, so I decided to just do it. It felt awesome. I’ve said this before, but for some reason, when I take some time off from Bikram, my first class back is always the best. I really enjoyed it and got deep into a lot of the postures, and held a few of them the whole time for the first time, which was very exciting for me.

Before I went to Bikram, I made myself a smoothie with:

  • 1 cup light soy milk (1 pt)
  • 1 large frozen banana (2 pts)
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries (.5 pts)
  • 1/2 cup blueberries (.5 pts)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (.5 pts)

I poured it into a bowl:

I actually threw it in the freezer for 2.5 hours while I went to Bikram. I’d seen frozen smoothies on a few other blogs and wanted to see what it was all about. Here it is out of the freezer.

I couldn’t resist poking my finger in it immediately when I pulled it out of the freezer… thus the indent in there. Freezing it was such a great idea!! It made it take a lot longer to eat, and it was more slushy like and almost like a bowl of ice cream. It was SO satisfying and the perfect treat for after Bikram.

I am off to catch up on Treme from Sunday night (the New Orleans show on HBO!) Does anyone watch it? Awesome show!

7 Responses

  1. Girl! thanks for the comment about me + sadness because of no running, I think I might try a few new versions of cardio for the moment – it’ll be okay, I know it!

    & shoot, freezing smoothies in a bowl- I’ve done that before! Mainly without really wanting to, but it’s pretty awesome how much longer they last, ’cause they’re too cold to inhale. and eating it with a spoon brings in a huge ice cream affect, for sure 🙂

    Frozen Yogurt truck? You live in the best place ever!! I’d go crazy for one of those! Seattle is lame apparently. I need to talk to who is in charge around here…!

  2. We watch Treme, I was terribly upset that they already eliminated a wonderful character….vague to not give too much away.

  3. A frozen yogurt truck is quite possibly the best idea EVER. That truck should make its way to Arizona.

  4. Our farmer’s market has amazing goat cheese too! I can’t turn it down when I pass their booth. I wish we had fro-yo trucks here! How amazing!

  5. I always freeze my smoothies! It makes such a delicious difference

  6. that truck is pretty crazy huh!! hehe

    omg and i could totally have used a good smoothie like this one for my sore teeth/jaw yesterday. i made mine with banana and strawberries which was pretty good tho i guess.

    i didnt get laughing gas unfortunately.. but they gave me some valium and something else combo..and i did feel pretty happy tho 🙂 lol

    xoxo

  7. A frozen yogurt truck? That’s awesome. We have so many Mr. Softee trucks here but it’s ice cream. Great idea to freeze the smoothie.

Leave a Reply

