• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

The Flavor Was There, But…

Hiya! Thanks for all your responses on my post from this morning. It looks like most people are morning exercisers, which makes me feel like I should be less lazy and just get up and go! To think about freeing up my evenings is pretty desirable too, and I think it is great to get my day started on the right foot. I can already feel how much more on track I am today than on days where I don’t work out.. an M&M here, starburst here… bite of whatever is in the office kitchen, etc.

So unintentionally I haven’t been to the grocery store in ages. I’ve been traveling for so many weekends and stopping at farmer’s markets here and there and just haven’t made the time to go. It’s made me go out a bit more than normal, but also get a little creative in the kitchen. For lunch today, I decided to make some black bean burgers.

Into the food processor, I threw:

  • 1/2 cup black beans (1 pt)
  • 1 tbsp parmesan cheese (1 pt)
  • 1/2 large carrot
  • 1/4 onion
  • fresh dill

I pulsed that until combined so it looked like this:

And then formed it into patties:

I realized once I started forming them into patties they were a little too wet. I should have added 1/4 cup of panko crumbs, and also rinsed and dried the beans better. I was in a rush though, so I just went with it. The texture of these was sort of like a thick bean spread, so when I heated them up they kind of melted a bit together. The flavor of them, however, was awesome. The fresh dill and parmesan make SUCH a difference – I think that’s the trick to delicious homemade veggie burgers.

I ended up taking a flatout wrap (1 pt) with some greens, and put the heated “burgers” on top and wrapped it up.

Again, the consistency was way off on these, but the flavor was awesome. It tasted great spread in the wrap. On the side, I had some more fresh broccoli (0 pts) from my farm share with some salsa (0 pts) to dip.

I had an apple (1 pt) for “dessert”

I am off to wrap up the day. Be back!

What are you looking forward to tonight?

9 Responses

  1. Looks so yummy! Are food processors really as easy to cook with as they seem? I haven’t hopped on that bandwagon yet, and I just want to make sure it’s worth it when/if I do!

    http://www.firednfabulous.com/

  2. I officially need to start making my own veggie burgers.

    Not looking forward to much tonight. I work 9-5 and then have paralegal school 6-10. Yucky!

    I am excited about my hummus and basil sandwich I get to eat while driving to class. Haha.

  3. My husband and I just realized last night that we hadn’t been grocery shopping in over 2 weeks! Needless to say our fridge and cupboards were totally bare and we ended up spending an arm and a leg at the store!

    Those black bean burgers look good – how would you suggest making them if I don’t have a food processor? Would chopping everything by hand work with these ingredients?

  4. Hey Beth,

    Thanks for the encouragement. I really like the classes, and it’s nice to change things up. Plus, it’s more fun to focus on dancing rather than just on “exercising” to burn calories.

    Wow, I really need to buy a food processor. Those veggie burgers look awesome. Question–is 4 points enough for lunch for you? I usually need to get in 7-8 to feel full for the rest of the day…

    • Hey Katie,

      I think it depends on where the points are coming from! Beans fill me up as much as a serving of chicken, which is 1 pt v. 3 pts. Also, those flatout wraps are super filling, and so are apples + veggies. I probably would have brought something else to have too if I had planned better but it did leave me pretty full.

  5. Looking forward to hopefully catching up on True Blood. And slathering myself with Icy Hot. Ouch. 😦

  6. Not much on the plate for tonight in my house! Except breakfast for dinner!!! HOLLAH!

  7. I really need to get a food processor because my blender is starting to make crying noises…

  8. Those burgers are looking yummy! You’re like the veggie burger queen lol and the only thing I’m looking forward to tonight is dexter and my boyfriend (:

Leave a Reply

