• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Holy Veggies

I just got my entire day’s worth of fruit and veggies in 20 minutes. Let me show you.

First, I had a Mexican Style Salad.

It had:

  • Red Leaf Lettuce, no slug (0 pts)
  • Fresh cilantro (0 pts)
  • New Jersey Corn (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup canned black beans (1 pt)
  • 1 oz 75% RF Cabot Cheddar (1 pt)
  • Salsa (0 pts)
  • 1/2 serving baked tostitos (1 pt)

On the side, I steamed some broccoli (0 pts)

And then had 2 baby cucumbers sliced, and 1 cup of cherries.

Everything that I ate (besides the canned black beans, cheese, salsa, and baked tortilla chips) was organic and from a local farm. It was so filling and satisfying, and the whole huge meal was only 5 points. As you can probably venture to guess, I’m trying to use up all the fruits and veggies I have because I have a new farm share box coming tomorrow! Normally I won’t have a problem using up everything but because I’ve been traveling on the weekends, its been tough trying to use it all.

What are some of your favorite ways to add extra flavor to meals, without adding too many calories? Adding fresh herbs to a salad is one of my favorite ways to add tons of flavor with minimal calories. I also love to use garlic and vinegar in cooking, and salsa for salad dressings, dip, or as a topping on baked potato.

12 Responses

  1. That looks amazing Beth! Must try it–I love salads with black beans because they really fill you up. I just ate a subway sandwich and baked chips so I’m a bit jealous.

  2. I love putting flavored hummus on everythinggg – or even just with chips! I would consider a heaping plated of hummus loaded tortillas lunch anytime lol

  3. I like adding raisins to a salad – they’re the perfect amount of sweetness.

    I have been eating so many cherries lately since they’re in season right now! Yum!

  4. Balsamic Vinegar is really good for flavor.

  5. oh i love all the veggies! so weird that some people don’t even eat that much in a week 🙂 you are rocking it!

  6. NICE!!! i llove when i have days where i get all my veggie servings in early.. then i dont feel so bad about going carb crazy later on 😉

  7. I definitely like to add herbs to my dishes to give them lots of flavour without the cals…..thyme is my favourite at the moment!

  8. I love adding hummus or a lot of times I will use salsa instead of salad dressing in a mexican salad or on top of a potato.

  9. I really have to get myself to a Farmer’s Market. They only have them on Saturdays here though. But still, all your food looks awesome! I’m going to make those black bean burgers this weekend!

  10. Love all those veggies, they look fantastic!!
    & saw your post on all your races, good luck on them + that’s super exciting that you’re training for a half marathon in the fall! That’s so motivating + inspiring to me, anything longer than a 10K seems out of my reach as of now.

    Have a great day!

  11. I love balsamic vinegars, spicy mustard, chutney, and lemon pepper!

  12. Mmmm… that salad looks delish!

    My favorite low-cal flavors are: mustard, vinegar, Bolthouse Farms yogurt dressings, hummus, herbs and spices, hot sauce, and fresh jalapenos. YUM

    Jenn

Leave a Reply

