• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

New Races!

Good morning and happy hottest Wednesday of the year so far! It’s supposed to get up to 99º today… eek. I woke up today feeling GOOD though definitely didn’t wake up before my alarm with enough time to go out for a run before work… 🙂

I did have time to throw together a simple but delicious breakfast which I ate outside on my balcony in the sun (before it was TOO hot).

Sometimes simple breakfasts are the best. This bowl had:

  • 1 cup nonfat plain yogurt (2 pts)
  • 1 cup blueberries (1 pts)
  • 1/4 cup raw rolled oats (1 pt)
  • cinnamon (0 pts)

This bowl was packed with protein, antioxidants, fiber, whole grains, and deliciousness. Yum.

In other exciting news, I’ve signed up for 3 races in preparation for my half-marathon in September! I’ve been working out a training plan which I will share once I have it all set in stone, but I’m largely working off the Hal Higdon Novice Half Marathon Training Plan, but changing it around a bit to accommodate dates where I’ll be out of town, and fitting in Bikram yoga and bike riding so that I can still keep my fitness routine well rounded.

The three races are…

July 16th – Run for the Gulf 5k

July 24th – Crystal City Twilighter 5k

August 28th – Blue Crab Bolt 10k

September 19th – Philly Rock N Roll Half Marathon

Yay!

It feels so good to have these races on my calendar because I haven’t had anything since the Love the Run You’re With 5k back in February. Races always keep me on track with my running, plus give me something to look forward to! Plus, the money goes to charity so it’s something I can feel good about spending my money on. All pluses!

Do you run in road races? What do you have coming up that you’re looking forward to, or what race have you run in recently/how was it? If not, why not? Is running not your thing?

14 Responses

  1. I look forward to reading your training plan. I just posted my first half training plan yesterday on my site. I also based off of Hal Higdon but modified a lot.
    And your breakfast looks great!

  2. I haven’t run in a race in a few years, but I’d love to start running again! I like how you start out with smaller races and then work your way up to a half marathon. I think this is a realistic and smart way to approach running 🙂

  3. Good morning Beth!

    You’re breakfast looks really yummy. Those races sound like an awesome way to keep motivated. I wish I could run…but I think the extra 50 pounds on my frame might make that difficult 🙂

    Hope you have an awesome hump day.

    • Hi Katie! I actually started running shortly after I joined WW and had 50+ pounds on my frame. It helped me TREMENDOUSLY in losing the weight! I did the couch to 5k program, which basically has you start with walking and jogging increments, and then slowly decrease the walking and increase the running, so eventually you’re running the whole time. The plan can be found at http://www.c25k.com. Check it out!

  4. Great race schedule! I love having shorter races scheduled inside of a training plan for a halfer!

    I’m totally looking forward to the Peachtree Road Race in HOTLanta on July 4th! My family meets there every year to run it – this will be my 4th year in a row participating & like the 10th for my parents. Always a fun time!

    Also – I agree with the walk/run you’re recommending for commenter Katie. That’s how I got into running too! Start off easy and before you know it you will be able to run the whole time. Gets you ready (mentally and physically) for running any distance!

  5. I’ve got two 10k’s in July that I’m getting ready for… they make me nervous because 10k is not a comfortable distance for me (I have issues with getting a good pace for that distance). But it’s all about self-improvement, right? 🙂

    Good luck on all yours!

  6. Pacer’s puts on great races – I really enjoyed the Quarter Marathon I did in May. You’ll have lots of fun! I was considering the Twighlighter too, but think I should save my $$ for the wedding 🙂

  7. Good luck in your races!!

    I have a 5k on July 4th and August 22, and then a 5 mile race (my first) at the end of September. Then a 10k in October and then an 8 mile run on Thanksgiving.

    Yippie!

  8. WOW Beth!
    Good luck with all your races!
    You go girl!
    Just jotted down this healthy breakfast idea!
    And again…thanks so much for always jotting down the WW points!
    So helpful!
    xo

  9. I used Hal Higdon’s novice plan for the half I ran this spring. I think it works really well if your goal is just to finish, but I think he expects novices to incorporate more walking than I did. While completing the race wasn’t much of a problem, my legs really tightened up after 10 miles since that had been my longest run up to that point. My fiance (who runs much faster than I do) also hit a wall at 10 miles. For the next half I run, I plan to use his intermediate plan, which goes up to 12 miles before the race.

    I definitely use races as motivation! I was great throughout the spring, but after my half in May, I haven’t run at all! I have two races in July (including the Twilighter), a 10K in September, and the Army Ten Miler in October. I’m going to pick up race training again in July.

  10. I second Gwen’s comment on the Pacers races (like the Twilighter and Love the Run You’re With). I run almost all of theirs… in fact, my fiance and I bought the Pacers Platinum race package this year since it ended up being a good deal for us! If they do it again next year, you should look into it. It’s pricey, but if you plan to enter most or all of the races anyway (as we did) it’s a bargain and you get a lot of nice perks.

  11. Those sound like great races! Good luck and post lots of pictures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

