• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back At It

Whew. I am SO glad that is over with! I have been putting off going back to weigh in at Weight Watchers because I knew I was up a few pounds and haven’t really been counting points in ages. But today, I sucked it up and went and I am so happy I did. I’m not thrilled with the weight itself, because I gained 3 pounds since the last time I was there, I’m just happy that I went and can start fresh. So, officially now, I have 9 pounds to lose to get to my goal weight, which is very do-able if I just make a few tweaks to my diet and keep up with exercising frequently.

The way that I generally do WW which has worked for me in the past, is I pick one “free” night where I don’t really count points, and then just assume I’ve used all of my weekly points. Then I try to stay at my daily target every other day or else use Activity Points that I’ve earned if I need extra points. My free night is actually going to be tonight since I have the happy hour, and that should give me plenty of time to make up for any set back I have tonight so that I have a good weigh in next Thursday.

So, here is my plan:

  1. Back to Weekly Meetings – Every Thursday at 12pm because it’s over lunch and works well with my schedule. There is a Wednesday 12pm meeting as well in case I have a conflict on Thursdays.
  2. Keep up with the Water – Though WW calls for 6 cups a day, my body is happier when I have 8+ cups a day. This was one of my June Goals which helped me get back into drinking a lot of water, so the plan is to just keep up with my water consumption.
  3. Exercise Consistently – My goal is to work out 4-5x a week, with 1-2 days of running, 1-2 days of Bikram, biking, and some strength training.
  4. Count WW Points – Another one of my June Goals which I have been relatively consistent about, but I plan to try to count as much as possible until I am at my goal weight. This will be a little bit of a challenge because when I first started WW and was good about counting points, I was eating a LOT of processed foods, which are easier to count points of because the nutritional info is right on the package. Now that I largely eat whole and unprocessed foods, it will be a bit more of a challenge to count points, but I will try my best and estimate when necessary.
  5. Keep a Mostly Whole Foods Diet – Going along with the last bullet, I don’t want to revert back to a lot of processed foods like I was eating when I first started WW, so I want to keep eating a lot of the same things, just a little less of it, and treats in moderation.

So that’s it! Seems very simple and straight forward, but as everyone who has ever struggled with their weight knows, its a lot easier to say than to do. Please stay tuned and check in with me and make sure I’m sticking with it so that I can get to my goal weight and look and feel my best for my best friend’s wedding!  On the bridesmaid dress note, I ordered a size 10 which is a bit too snug, and my friend Jess got a 12 which is a bit too big, so we’re actually going to do a test tomorrow and possibly switch dresses. While I still want to fit in the 10 by the wedding, I do not think I need the pressure of the dress possibly NOT fitting, so I’m hoping the switch works out.

Onwards!

Lunch today was a treat to myself for going back to WW. I went to the Juice Joint, my favorite quick spot for a healthy lunch in DC. I got a small side salad to go (no dressing)

Which had organic greens, tomatoes, carrots, and cucumbers (0 pts).

I also got my favorite sandwich from there, the Fresh Mozzarella & Roasted Veggie Sandwich. It has roasted zucchini, squash, red peppers, sprouts, tomato, basil, and fresh mozzarella on multigrain bread. It comes with balsamic vinaigrette dressing, too, but in an effort to be a little light, I asked for it without the dressing. Check out how packed with deliciousness this sandwich is!

And you know what? I didn’t even miss the balsamic! I probably will order this sandwich just like this going forward, even after I’m at goal. The veggies and cheese add so much flavor that you don’t even need it. I’m counting this sandwich as 7 points (just a guess), by breaking down the bread as 4 points and the mozz as 3. I’m guessing that’s a little high because there wasn’t much mozz and the bread was pretty thin, but the veggies may have been cooked in a little EVOO so 7 sounds safe. That means 11 total for today with breakfast, which is not bad at all.

Have you struggled with your weight before? What are the key changes you made to your diet/exercise routine that have helped you along the way? For me, drinking a lot of water, eating tons of fruits and veggies, and exercising at all (because I didn’t used to!) were the biggest changes that helped me to lose most of my weight.

24 Responses

  1. I gained freshman 15 and was the biggest I’d ever been in my life. I was eating a lot of greasy food and was eating it really late at night. The summer after my freshman year, I did Weight Watchers with my mom. The key thing for me to lose the weight was to stop eating so late at night. By the fall of my sophomore year, I was back to my regular weight and had broken the habit of eating really late. Keep up the good work!

  2. I have a very hard time losing weight. I lose a couple of pounds and then gain it back. It seems like my body really likes the 145-150 range, which would be great if I were taller!

    I’ve been seeing some success eating a lot of protein and cutting back a bit on carbs. Also choosing carbs like potatoes, corn, or beans instead of rice and pasta.

  3. Beth,

    That’s AWESOME that you were able to go so long without WW and you only gained 3 pounds! You should be so proud of yourself.

    I agree about the dress–why put yourself through so much pressure if you can easily switch. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you fit nicely into the 12 and your friend fits the 10 🙂

    As for me, I had a slightly disappointing weigh in, but I’m determined to keep my head up and keep doing what I’m doing.

  4. Way to go back at it lady! I personally love the meetings – it’s my food church on Saturday ams!

    Having a free day really worked for me in the past – though I think having a free meal would probably help me lose faster now. I know I also have to be consistant about exercise.

    My struggle is that after I gained back some of the weight, I didn’t know how many points I should be eatting. What I was eatting pre-gain or what the quiz says. It’s a difference of like 3 pts at least. I’ve been too afraid to just go up to what I should eat based on the quiz.

    I’ve been playing with the Shape Magazine Virtual Trainer – so not only counting WW points but also logging my calories on their site. It looks like I should actually be eatting a little bit more – but I’m still chicken!

  5. Beth, Good for you for going to an official weigh in! Walking in the door is the hardest part. I think it is amazing that you have only gained 3 lbs also! You should be very proud of yourself. I also weigh in on Thursdays but I didn’t go this week because I knew I had gained. I am not proud of myself for skipping. The only person I am hurting is myself. You can do it! Do you have e-tools? That can help you figure out the points of your own (non-processed) recipes. That’s what I use. Good luck!

    • It is SO hard to go when you know you gained… When i was really diligent about losing weight I’d skip on weeks I knew I’d gained and just go back the next week instead, but then it got kind fo out of hand and its been 3 months.. and I admit, 3 pounds is not bad, but I’m just ready to be at my goal already! I’ve been doing WW since last March, so I’m ready. And yes, I do have e-tools but I don’t really use the recipe builder. I should though!

  6. Just out of curiousity, how many total points do you get daily? I’ve been reading up on your blog for the past few days and enjoy all the diff foods you eat! I get 21 pts. and need ideas on dispersing throughout the day!

  7. okay thats a pretty fantastic sandwich if its part of the WW menu/ choice foods!!! holy yum!

    i know i did a post a couple days ago about WW and their ads, but im so happy that your approach to weight loss was never what the advertisements for the WW commercials implies. you have healthy goals and your mind set is extremely balanced and thats why i LOVE reading your blog!

    i did have a lot of food allergies, hormone issues, and thyroiditis that causes me to fluctuate in weight. thankfully everything balanced out and i finally have my metabolism back. the biggest changes for me was acceptance. once i accepted that i was good no matter what then i was able to start getting real about why i wanted to lose the weight and how i was going to get there. just staying focused on other things made the weight come off easily. the more i focused on “oh i cant do this cuz im heavy, ppl will look at me, im so swollen etc” the more i stayed in that place. if i pictured how i wanted to look, and then focus on staying positive in the place i currently was, things started changing quite quickly for me.

    xoxo ❤

  8. I have struggled with my weight my whole life! When I was a small child I was under weight due to many issues with foods that made me sick. However as
    I started to get older I got kinda pudgy, and at the age of 7 my grandmother decided that I need to be placed on a diet. Since 7 I have been on a whole lot of yoyo diets and drugs. when I was 24 I tried WW again, but I didnt tell anyone. I kept it from my friends and family because I didnt want it to be a big deal and I didnt want the added pressure of what if I failed and everyone would know it. I lost 80 pounds, I got married about a year later and gained 40 punds back. I have again since then been on the weight gain and loss rollercoaster. I did try to go back to WW in Febuary but I have fallen off the wagon and am finding it hard to get back with it. So today I have challenged myself to see if I can keep up with you! Thank you for inspiring me with your own goals.

  9. good for you to make that plan and stick with it. i know soooo many people who have lost major weight on WW and keep it off. it is a program that works. i sturggle with keeping my weight where it is. years ago i lost about 25 pounds and have been able to keep it off by knowing my body. i have to be honest i don’t own a scale and do not have a goal weight. as long as my size 4 clothes fit i am good 🙂

  10. I need that sandwich! Oh my goshhh yum!! That’s definitely something I need to make at home – oh boyyy (:

    I haven’t really struggled with my weight recently, but in high school I was wayyy more unsure of myself. I feel like being healthy now is way more important than being a certain size.

  11. I am a student home from college for the summer (I live in MD) and I never struggled with my weight until I went to school. I was always on the slender side and ate whatever I felt like, didn’t do sports and barely worked out. But when I went to college I found it hard to deal with all-you-can-eat dining halls during hour-long meals with friend. Ironically, I started working out in college and now work out for an hour almost every day. I was really sad and frustrated at the end of my freshman year after gaining 20+ pounds never having been conscious of my weight at all. I went on a strict diet and lost about 20 pounds in 2 months and felt awesome when I started my sophomore year. But I think I was too strict with myself because I ended up gaining all the weight back and then some and now am trying to lose it slowly for good. It has been a very hard experience, especially since I promised myself I would never gain the weight back and learned so much about nutrition and calories in sooo many foods.
    I have started reading a lot of health blogs which has been really nice and keeping a positive attitude and not categorizing food as “good” or “bad.” Beth, we must work close to each other because I go to juice joint and yogen fruz! I HAVE to recommend a new frozen yogurt place to you that’s amazing! It’s a pretty far walk form my office, but it is a serve-yourself place on 10th and F called frozen yo. Its awesome!

  12. I gained a bit early on in college… but lost 30lbs last year!! I’m at my lowest weight right now, but i still want to lose another 10-15. I lost it by not snacking late at night, began casually running, and eating smaller portions… nothing complicated at all. I would love to get to my goal by the end of 2010.

  13. Some of my key changes were:

    1) Nothing to eat after 8 pm.

    2) Quit eating junk cold turkey for 3 weeks. Get it out of your system because it can have huge amounts of power over your body and brain, and cause you to make bad choices. It can be an addiction, and you have to deal with it that way.

    3) Be able to say no to yourself, and know that just because something yummy is sitting there – you don’t have to eat it! Know that it’s going to always be there, so scarcity is not an issue.

    Torri 🙂

    • I think the no eating at night thing is key, not because it matters WHEN you eat your calories, but because it gives you a sense of “Kitchen is Closed” and just to not eat more than you should in a day. By 8pm I’ve usually eaten all the calories I need for the day…

  14. I put on about 20 pounds when I was in college that I attribute almost entirely to alcohol and alcohol related eating. After college I cut WAY down on the booze and about 10 pounds dropped right off. After I got my eating back under control the other 10 came off pretty easily. I have never struggled with the exercise part luckily!

  15. Good luck on all your goals w. WW and such, you’re going to do awesome!! My hubby lost 60lbs in about 1.5 yrs just by upping the running (like mad dog) and cutting out all white flours, processed foods, and sugary ickiness (we used to eat huge bowls of ice cream about 3x a week). It goes hand in hand though, we found that the more we exercise, the more we want to eat right so we can push strong through our workouts. & vise versa, the more we eat right, the more we want to work out. It’s a fun cycle 😀

    have an awesome weekend!

  16. That sandwich looks mouthwatering!!

    I’ve been overweight all of my life, so yes, I’ve struggled with it for decades now. I finally got serious about weight loss and health 3+ years ago, but it’s still a hard road with lots of ups and downs. At my lowest, I lost 98 lbs, but gained some of it back, but I haven’t given up. I’m in this for the long haul and I’m patient.

    Jenn

  17. Hey beth! Yes, I think we’ve all been there at some point in our lives before! I will be starting a one month makeover on my blog! You should check it out!! I briefly posted about it today!

  18. Yay for recommiting!! I am doing the same!! I have been weighing in weekly but not following the plan completely. Today is weigh in and a clean slate. I am also 9 pounds from goal!!

    Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

