• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Two Showers

And I thought yesterday was hot… Nothing compared to today so far. I woke up early to go for a run since I have a happy hour after work, and I thought I’d be OK since it was 7am… not so.

Last night after work I went over my friend Rachel’s new apartment who I haven’t seen in months! We hung out by the pool for a little bit but I was getting eaten alive by bugs, so we went inside instead to make dinner. I just watched but this dinner was DELICIOUS and seemed pretty easy!

In a food processor, she put:

– sun dried tomatoes

– olive oil

– breadcrumbs

And then added some parsley to the mix, and coated two tilapia filets. She just pan fried it and made some green beans to go on the side.

I don’t know what the proportions of ingredients were for this, but it tasted DELICIOUS. I didn’t think there was any way I could finish the piece of fish since it was pretty huge, but I inhaled it with no problem at all. I’ll definitely be trying to recreate something similar and will share ratios and WW points once I make it myself. Yum.

So this morning as I mentioned above, I woke up before 7 to go out for a run. I didn’t even check the weather but did drink a huge glass of water before I went. I decided to do 4 miles today since I woke up a little earlier, and from the second I stepped outside I could not believe how hot it already was! I made it through the first 2 miles no problem and then turned around to head back, and I was just having the hardest time. I kept saying “You can do this” over and over in my head, and then I made it to the 3.1 mile mark, but I knew if I started walking it would just take me longer to get home. I saw 3.2 on my Garmin and kept going, then 3.5, then 3.65 and I just could not run anymore. I stopped to walk, for the first time ever on a run! I literally had no choice – – I was parched, hot, sweaty, and just miserable. You gotta listen to your body sometimes when it says no, so I did and walked the last .5 miles home.

Here were the stats:

Distance: 4.14 miles

Duration: 47:10

Avg. Pace: 5.3mph

Avg. Speed 11:23mph

Calories: 497

It’s crazy how that last .5 miles brought down my pace and speed SO much. The first 3 miles were 6.1 mph 6.1mph and 5.9 mph, and then the 4th mile was 5.0 mph. I was so happy I ran since I didn’t work out yesterday and have plans after work, but man that was rough.

One of the things I do whenever I’m working out is think about what I want to eat afterwards to help me get through. This morning I was trying to think of what to have for breakfast, and for some reason my mind was saying Blueberries with Milk, eaten like cereal. I’m not sure why but it is just what I was craving. For good measure, I added 1/2 cup fiber one cereal, and then 1 cup each of light soy milk and blueberries to the mix.

The picture makes it look like there’s more cereal than blueberries, but the blueberries cover the whole bottom of the bowl. This bowl was only 2 points total and while a little strange, totally hit the spot.

After I ate and showered, I decided to run and pick up my farm share for this week. It was more substantial than the last few weeks and is a good mix of veggies and fruit.

I got:

  • Kale
  • Arugula
  • Green Onions
  • Basil Plant
  • Apricots
  • Yellow Plums (babies!)

I am pretty excited to try the plums because I’ve never had them before – – and I haven’t had a fresh apricot in AGES so I can’t wait to dive into those either. I now have 3 herbs that I’ve been watering but NEED to plant from the last few weeks at the CSA – cilantro, chives, and now basil.

Walking home from the CSA, I started profusely sweating. Like sweat dripping down my face and back so I had to stop to wipe myself off a few times. No joke. I ended up making it back to my apartment in much worse shape than I had left, so I had to take a second shower! It is that hot out… crazy.

After I got to my desk I was still a bit hungry, so I had some watermelon (fresh from a NJ farm stand) with a few more blueberries. (2 more points)

So good and refreshing.

My plan is to go back to Weight Watchers today over lunch….. EEK. I haven’t been since April 1st, but I need to suck it up and cross of this June goal while it’s still June! Plus, I’m still paying for it, so it’s time.

After I get back from weighing in and eating lunch, I’ll post my game plan for getting to my goal weight/fitting in my bridesmaid dress by August 7th.. stay tuned!

7 Responses

  1. Good luck with your weigh in today Beth! I also have mine on Thursdays 🙂

  2. I think this is the first summer where I need to take water on short runs. Normally I don’t take any if it’s 4 miles or less. But even 2 is too far without rehydrating!

    Good job pushing thru to 3.65 – I would have probably caved in sooner!

  3. Good luck at WW!

    I almost always take walking breaks. There’s been only one time I haven’t (and it was a race) and I actually had power walkers pass by me because I run so incredibly slow.

  4. It is supposed to be 112 degrees here today! I HAVE to run with my Camelbak in the summer or it’s pretty much a disaster

  5. DC is absolutely stifling today – so hot! Makes me scared of what July and August will be like.

  6. Mmmm… breaded talapia sounds good!!

    Jenn

  7. Such easy ingredients but looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

