• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

TGIF

Heya! Last night’s festivities turned out to be quite a bit of fun, but this morning was less so. I had a few of these:

Earl Grey Julip, which was basically a glass of bourbon on the rocks. yum. I also had two steamed veggie buns and a delicious salad to eat.

(Veggie buns are top right of the salad). The salad had shrimp, a citrus vinaigrette, and rice noodles on it. SO good.

The one win for the night was that I always tend to crave pizza after a night out, and last night was no different. BUT, instead of calling Domino’s like I usually do, I decided to make my own low-cal version of a pizza, with RF shredded cheddar on a flatout wrap with garlic. No picture but it was a victory none the less.

Today I made another Breakfast Parfait but reworked it a bit so it was only 3 points!

This had:

  • 1 cup of blueberries, microwaved for 90 seconds and then refridgerated overnight (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup fiber one (0 pts)
  • 1/4 cup raw rolled oats (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt (1 pt)

It was a little smaller than the one earlier in the week since I used half the yogurt, but it still kept me full for a few hours and tasted delicious. Plus, only 3 points for a breakfast parfait? Sign me up!

Lunch today was also really delicious and colorful.

This had:

  • 1 flatout wrap (1 pt)
  • 2 cups arugula (0 pts)
  • 2 fresh apricots, sliced (1 pt)
  • 2 tbsp goat cheese (2 pts)
  • 2 tbsp cherry craisins (1 pt)

On the side I had 2 sliced up baby cucumbers (0 pts)

And then a pink lady apple for dessert (1 pt).

This wrap was AWESOME. The arugula was spicy and peppery, so worked perfectly against the sweet craisins and apricots. Plus, the goat cheese was crumbled throughout and was creamy and rounded out the wrap perfectly. I got the apricots from my farm share yesterday and honestly cannot remember the last time I had fresh apricots! Dried, yes, but fresh? They are so delicious, sweet and juicy.  My boyfriend put a fresh goat cheese, apricot, and asparagus pizza on the menu at the restaurant, so I’m thinking about using the rest of them to make an at home version of that. Mmmm.

What are you plans for this evening? I am looking forward to tonight because I’m trying out an African Dance class with a few friends for the first time! It’s an hour and 15 minutes and I was told “Prepare to sweat!” so I think it’ll be a good workout, but something new and fun. I rarely ever do classes since I don’t belong to a gym, so doing this with my girlfriends will be a treat!

26 Responses

  1. Beth,

    That’s awesome that you’re trying out an African Dance class–let me know how that goes. And your night sounds a lot like mine–except that I was sticking to the Long Island Iced Tea (my favorite).

    I’m thinking about working out tonight, but I also want to catch up on some sleep before I go out tonight, lol…

    Hope you have a great weekend!

    • Ohh have fun whatever you decide! I’m trying to cut back on alcohol so plan to have a sober night tonight. Plus, its about the last thing on earth i want right now. 🙂

  2. I feel you on the pizza thing! Way to go on making a healthier version. I live a block from a pizza place and I always try and avoid it after a night of drinking.

    Have fun at your class tonight! I loooove taking classes.

    • I have a bunch of quick grab and go restaurants downstairs from me but lucky for me they close at 8 so when I’m home from a night out it’s always past 8 and Sbarro is CLOSED. 😉

  3. I hope you’ll report back on the African dance class. I’ve noticed a lack of videos on your blog. Perhaps tonight will be the night?! 🙂 A co-worker of mine and I are trying to convince another co-worked to take hiphop classes with us. No go so far, but we might just sign her up and drag her along under the guise of after-work drinks. 😉 Where is the studio you’re going to? Do they offer other classes?

  4. African dance class? Sounds pretty sweet! I can’t wait to hear your review of it! And tonight, I’ve got no plans at all sadly. Just work and maybe a little Dexter action later (;

    • I loooove Dexter! September 26th is when the 5th season premiers but who’s counting? oh wait, ME!! 🙂

    • I too love Dexter. He’s HOT!! Can’t wait for the new season to start.

      Right now I’m totally into True Blood. Can’t get enough of Eric!

  5. Let us know how the class is. It sounds interesting and fun!

    Tonight we have no kiddie. He’ll be sleeping at Granny’s so it’ll be a night to ourselves, which is pretty rare. Probably wind up grabbing a bite to eat and a few drinks.

    I remember my mom telling me that during her pregnancy with me, she was sick the whole nine months and the only thing she could really keep down was apricot juice! I don’t think I’ve ever had a fresh apricot, just dried. I’ll have to try them!

    Thanks and have a great weekend!

  6. No plans and I love it! I just want to chill!

  7. I am LOVIN that breakfast parfait Beth! So I’m beginning to see that people actually eat oatmeal raw….why am I just now realizing this!???
    I am totally starting to make my Greg the overnight oats next week to take with him and eat on the ferry on the way to Seattle!
    ANd let me just say…that wrap…looks amazing!
    I need to try and find out where you find the wrap itself.
    I’ll poke around on your blog!
    xo

  8. I’m always surprised how filling parfaits are! I used to think of them as a snack before I actually started eating them and what a shocker!

  9. next time i make a parfait i NEED to have TONNES of layers like urs! that looks too fun 🙂

    xoxo

  10. I took African Dance in college and LOOOOOOOVED it!

  11. Love loove how you put sweet fruits in your wraps! Bet it tastes fantastic with everything else. Have a great Sunday!

  12. The parfait looks so yummy! I must replicate.

  13. Your breakfast parfait is AWESOME!

    And only 3 points! Have you seen the one’s at starbucks? And they are so expensive!

    I have all the stuff to make this!!

  14. Bourbon on the rocks = hardcore! Just the way I like it, too 🙂

  15. Beth, where’d you go? I miss reading your blog…

  16. Hope you are doing well!

  17. We need another update 🙂 My life is missing Beth-spiration

Leave a Reply

