• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Technical Difficulties

Hiya! Sorry I disappeared yet again, but I’m having some major technological difficulties. When I was in Oklahoma City (first week in June) my laptop charger broke and then I bought a new one a few weeks ago but it doesn’t work unless I put it at a really strange angle and lay my computer on the floor pushing it in further (I’m pretty sure it’s not an ideal fit). That said, I haven’t had a computer at home, and then we went to visit the boyfriend’s mom on Sunday/Monday (used comp time from OKC to take the day off!) so I got back to the office yesterday. But then, I went to update you all on what was going on in my life and I realized that I left the cord at home to connect my camera to my computer!

Instead of boring you with the details of my every day for the last 5 days, I’ll just fill you in on a few highlights.

Workouts

1.) African Dance Class – SO fun! It was kind of ridiculous because the instructor could ways in move my body wouldn’t even dream of, but I literally had a smile on my face for the whole class. Some of the women in it (there was one guy) were really amazing dancers, and some, like me, haven’t yet found their rhythm (will I ever?), so there was a mix of different levels. I definitely broke a sweat and danced a lot for almost an hour and a half! If I was a better dancer I’d probably make it a semi-regular thing because it was fun, but I’m not sure how much I’ll actually go back.

2.) Bikram – I had an awesome Bikram class on Saturday! I hadn’t been in a few days and I was just really feeling it. For the first time ever, I was able to get my toes behind my calf in Eagle Pose!! It was such an exciting moment when I actually saw my toes poking through! Sometimes when I go I have  really good class and it just “clicks” but sometimes I struggle my way through. Saturday’s class was awesome.

Eats

I had breakfast with one of my best friends on Saturday morning who was visiting from NYC. I’m so sad I didn’t get a picture with her, but I did take a picture of my delicious breakfast.

Eggs Florentine, which is basically Eggs Benedict, but with spinach instead of ham. Eggs Benedict was always one of my all time favorites before I got healthy, but I figured out how to enjoy it but still stay on track – just order it without the hollandaise! Because the eggs and poached and the yolks runny, when they break and ooze all over your plate, it makes the perfect sauce, so you don’t even miss it!

I also had an awesome breakfast bowl yesterday, nothing special, just delicious and filling.

1 cup blueberries (1 pt), 3/4 cup puffins (1 pt), 1/4 cup rolled oats (1 pt), 1/2 cup Trader Joe’s FF cottage cheese (1 pt). It was a great meal to get back on track after the night away on Sunday because I always have trouble staying on track when traveling, which I don’t think makes me unique. I wasn’t THAT bad, I just wasn’t measuring or counting points, but we did go to Olive Garden for dinner Sunday night. I looked up the menu beforehand to figure out what I should get, and I found out that the Mussels di Napioli only have 180 calories and 8 grams of fat (4 pts), so I ordered that (which is an app) plus the Minestrone Soup (1 pt), and had 2 breadsticks (6 pts) and some salad (1 pt) because I got it without the dressing. Monday we ate breakfast at the hotel buffet and I ate too much even though it was pretty gross. We ended up going to Mexican on the way home for dinner and I ordered a light entree but ate way too many chips and salsa, story of my life at a Mexican restaurant.

The weekend itself, splurging aside, was realllllly fun. Saturday I had that delicious breakfast with my friend, spent a few hours at the pool, and then went to Bikram in late afternoon. It felt so good to just relax and actually enjoy my Saturday rather than traveling. Sunday we left pretty early to get my oil changed and then get on the road, arriving at Wil’s mom’s house around 2. We brought some food over to throw together sandwiches for lunch and just sat around chatting. It was very low-key, but very nice to relax and just sit around. Olive Garden was that night, and then we met one of Wil’s childhood friends for a few drinks at a bar near our hotel. I stuck to vodka sodas (had 2) and then got to bed pretty early. Monday we had breakfast at the hotel and then went back over his mom’s house for a few hours before hitting the road to get back to DC. Yesterday was INSANE at work since I had been out on Monday, so the day flew by. Today I feel like I’m finally getting back into the swing of things.

I’ll be back in a bit to show you today’s eats and get back to my regular program!

I know it’s long gone, but what was the highlight of YOUR weekend? Or, anything fabulous to look forward to for the 4th?

6 Responses

  1. That eggs benedict does look good. What would you recommend for someone that doesn’t really like runny yoke though? (I can’t stand it – even the thought of it makes me gag.) Is there a work around that won’t make it morph into a totally different dish?

    As for fab things to look forward to for the 4th? Peachtree Road Race baby! Well, that and VACATION! My family always spends a week in the mountains in north GA for the 4th – we get in lots of hiking, biking and plain old relaxing!

    • Hi! GOOD LUCK ON YOUR RACE!!! Very exciting!

      Do you mean breakfast recommendations in general or a healthy way to have benedict?

  2. oh my gosh african dance class sounds awesome! What a fun way to get a workout. I love the breakfast bowl idea too! I’ll have to try that! xo

  3. Highlight of my weekend was spending time with my family in Florida! It was a nice break from the real world.

    Just looking forward to the 3 day weekend. Cant. Freakin. Wait.

  4. at least the eggs benedict was good, too bad they couldn’t make ANY substitutions..you’re one of my best friends too!!!

  5. Glad you’re back! I had a good weekend out of town. I did a lot of hiking and biking!

    African Dance sounds like such a cool activity!

Leave a Reply

