• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Whipped Oats

So, back to normal, for now. 😉

I woke up early this morning to go for a run since I hadn’t worked out since Saturday. To be honest, I was kind of dreading the run before I went (mostly because I was awake before 7am, but partly because I hadn’t run in a week and I thought it was going to be hard!). It ended up turning out really well! Because of my dead computer, I couldn’t plug in my Garmin for the breakdown of stats, but I found this cool running calculator that can help you calculate pace or speed to figure it out.

Duration: 38:59

Distance: 4.00 mph

Avg. Speed: 6.16mph

Avg. Pace: 9:44 min/mi

Overall, a great run! The weather was perfect, a lot cooler than it has been for the last week or more. I think it was around 70 degrees and a little breezy. Amazing.

After I got back from my run, I was HUNGRY. Yesterday I saw this technique for Blended Grains, where you make your oatmeal like normal (or any other grain you want) then you blend it up. You can use a blender, food processor, or handmixer, and it basically gets really fluffy and turns into whipped oatmeal. I was thinking about it during my run, so figured why not give it a shot! It’s kind of hard to gauge the consistency of it from this picture, but it was really creamy and delicious.

I topped it off with some cherry craisins

And it was goooooood. For this bowl, I used:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (2 pts)
  • 1 cup water (0 pts)
  • 2 tbsp egg whites (0 pts)
  • ~2 tbsp cherry craisins (1 pt)

I added the egg whites to give it a little protein and I couldn’t even taste that they were in there. I will definitely be blending up my oats or some other grains again – I loved the texture of these! I had a pretty huge Pink Lady Apple (1 pt) for a mid-morning snack.

Lunch was half successful, half not-so-much. Bad news first. I had some arugula in my CSA from last week that I wanted to use up (since I get a new box tomorrow) but it has so many tiny holes in it! I looked it up and found out that the holes are from flea beetles and I guess it’s common for them to eat arugula that is organic. That said, I rinsed the arugula really really well, but it was grossing me out as I was eating it.

I ended up picking the feta and blueberries off the salad and throwing most of the arugula out. 😦

The successful part of lunch was pizza! I picked up these flatbreads at Trader Joe’s:

I heated up some spinach in the microwave and dried it off really well with a paper towel. I added some pizza sauce, the spinach, and some reduced fat mozzarella cheese to the flatbread and threw it in the toaster oven. The end result was this:

So good!! The point breakdown for lunch is:

  • Arugula (0 pts)
  • RF Feta (1 pt)
  • 1 cup blueberries (1 pt)
  • Flatbread (3 pts)
  • Pizza Sauce (0 pts)
  • Spinach (0 pts)
  • RF Mozzarella (1 pt)

So 6 total, which is not bad at all.

What are some of your favorite things to healthify? I love making pizza at home because it’s one of my favorites! Regular pizza can have so much fat/calories/points (which I still eat a bit too much), but making a healthy version at home is pretty easy and delicious. I also like to make my own fries at home, another one of my favorite unhealthy things that can actually be really good for you if you make it in your own kitchen.

9 Responses

  1. That pizza looks delicious! Pizza is one of my favorite foods to healthify using pita bread or english muffins for mini pizzas. I’m so jealous of everyone that gets to shop at trader joe’s…we don’t have one here =(

  2. That pizza looks terrific and so low point. How much cheese did you put on it so that it only was 1 point? I’ve made my own homemade pizza and it ends up costing at least 10 points with the dough (6), cheese (2). sauce (1) and olives (1). I would like to be able to cut that down. What kind of Flat Bread do you use.

    Glad to have you back!

    • The flatbread is pictured above on this post and it’s from Trader Joe’s. It’s great because it’s the perfect size and has a lot of fiber (5 g) and protein (5g). The cheese is also from Trader Joe’s – Reduced Fat Shredded Mozz. It is SO good – my favorite shredded cheese because it tastes delicious and melts perfectly – unlike other reduced fat/fat free cheese. 1/4 of a cup is 1 serving and has 45 calories and 4.5 grams of fat – so I used 1 serving to get the 1 point. Not bad!

  3. That pizza looks really good! I have a three year old son and he is obsessed with pizza. That looks like a fast and healthy way to make him his own little personal pizza!!

  4. pizza definitely pizza! you can control everything from the kind of crust/dough you use to the amount of sauce, cheese and toppings! yours looks great beth! glad you are back up and running (ha literally and in reference to your blog!)

    blueberries and feta cheese? oh me, oh my. i’ll have to give that a whirl.

  5. What a great idea for those flatbreads! I want to try that now.

  6. ugh! If I see one bug in my lettuce/spinach/kale, etc., that’s it for me. I usually just throw the entire thing away because it grosses me out too much to eat it. Post-traumatic stress!

    One time a HUGE live moth FLEW out of this lettuce that had been in my fridge for days (how did it live?). I was so traumatized I stopped eating salad for a few months!

    Torri

  7. Aww, poor arugula! I can see how you had to throw them out, though, super attacked by mini insects!! & Those oats look so nice! I might give ’em a try, but I’m not sure when, since I’m currently in love with the thick, oaty-ness of whole oats. We’ll see.

    Healthify?! EVERYTHING! Lasagna with little or no cheese and muchos vegetables, an organic low-sodium low-sugar sauce, whole grain pasta. Pizza with little or no cheese, millions of veggies, whole wheat crust… hmm I see a pattern… Meatloaf with ground turkey breast, millions of veggies, egg whites. Baked chicken parm? Shoot, son. Possibilities = endless. 🙂

  8. I’m with you on making pizza healthy- it’s so easy to make little switches with the dough and chill out on the cheese and all the sudden there’s a world of difference in how much more healthy (and tasty) it is.

Leave a Reply

