• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

5 v 5

Hello and happy almost Friday! I’m in a great mood because it is gorgeous outside and my old boss is taking me out for early birthday drinks tonight (which is Tuesday!) These things add up to me having a bit of trouble sitting still…

My friend/coworker Kara brought me in a treat today. (Side note… isn’t it always weird to just say coworker when they’re your friend, or to just say friend when they’re your coworker, but maybe even weirder to put a slash in an introduction!?) Anyways, she posted a recipe for Blueberry Cheesecake Squares with Hazelnuts and they looked SO good that I commented on the entry asking when she was going to bring them in for me to try… well today was the day.

Oh man was that tasty! She used fat free cream cheese and fat free yogurt in the recipe instead of the heavy cream/full fat cream cheese, but these babies were still 5 points each! While absolutely delicious and I’m so glad I had it, it’s kind of funny that the picture above this is 5 points, and all the food below this (my real lunch) was also 5 points…

Carrot “chips” and raw broccoli (0 pts)

Massaged Kale Salad with 1 tsp olive oil (1 pt) and salt, plus 1/2 cup chickpeas (1 pt) and yellow squash (0 pts).

I also had a toasted wheat pita on the side (1 pt) and used it to eat the chickpeas and salad. For dessert, I had some watermelon chunks (1 pt).

Isn’t that crazy that you can have one blueberry cheesecake square OR carrots, broccoli, chickpeas, squash, kale, olive oil, a pita, and watermelon for the same number of points!?

What are some substitutions you’ve made in your diet to cut down on calories/fat or points? I used to snack on a lot of processed granola bars or yogurt with cereal and peanut butter, but as my points started dwindling down I realized I could get much more bang for my buck if I ate fruit or veggies for snacks. For the same number of points as 1/2 cup of yogurt plus 1 tbsp of peanut butter and 3/4 cup puffins, I can have an apple, a grapefruit, a cup of grapes, AND some watermelon. I might turn into a piece of fruit if I did that, but you get my drift… 🙂

10 Responses

  1. Hey Beth, all that food looks absolutely delicious and you’re right about getting more “bang for your buck” with less processed foods. I used to be obsessed with the 100 calorie packs until I realized they were, to some extent, empty calories.

    How did the weigh in go today, by the way?

  2. It’s crazy how many points a little snack can have. Can you imagine if I had not substituted the fat free yogurt and fat free cream cheese? It’s always nice to treat yourself once in a while b/c otherwise, you’re more prone to have 4 bars instead of 1!

  3. Those blueb cheezies look yumsters! and i totally get your drift about the more for less thing. It’s why I eat salads… more volume= happy Jae.

    Um… just keep in mind though… you probs have already heard this before….not all calories are equal. I learned that the hard way. I ate my calorie allotment in ww bread for a day and my thighs got bigger in a snap ><

  4. Wow – how good does that blueberry cheesecake slice look!!! yummo!

  5. I used to eat a lot of processed food for snacks and lunch…the 100 calorie pack snack items were a must in my house. I never buy them now. I eat fruit and veggies for my snacks now.

  6. oh happy early birthday! how nice of your boss 🙂

  7. That blueberry cheesecake square looks out of this world good! I love to make substitutions that I hardly even notice like cereals that taste exactly the same but are lower in calories.

  8. i substitute nonfat greek yogurt for everything. It is so much better and definitely works just was well as things such as sour cream….etc. yum.

  9. happy early birthday beth! mine is less than two weeks away tooo.

    i’m surprised that her blueberry cheesecake sqaures were only 5 points each! thats phenom! i’d still rather go for allllll the veggies and fruit, but hey sometimes a girl needs her cheesecake 🙂

Leave a Reply

