• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Picnic and a Mystery

The weather has been amazing in DC since yesterday, which left me with no excuse to not go running both yesterday and today before work! Not to toot my own horn (ok, maybe a little) but I have been doing a really good job at getting up and working out in the AM which is very unlike me. It feels so good and I hope its a habit I can keep up!

OK rewind to last night… my boyfriend has a daughter, Charlotte, and her and her sister Nora have been staying with us since Monday. Last night I got to hang out with the girls while my boyfriend worked, and we decided to have a picnic! They brought bikes with them, so we went on a quick bikeride (3 miles in total) and I was super impressed with their biking skills, considering they are 6 and 9. Here’s a picture of them with their bikes:

That’s Nora on the left and Charlotte on the right. We brought a sheet with us and I we packed up sandwiches, fruit, and chips to have outside.

I made turkey and cheese on wheat for them, and I had tempeh and cheese for myself. Here’s a picture of my plate:

The sandwich had:

  • 2 slices of wheat bread (2.5 pts)
  • a little more than 1/2 serving tempeh (2.5 pts)
  • 75% RF Cabot Cheddar (1 pt)
  • yellow squash (0 pts)
  • romaine (0 pts)

On the side I also had:

  • raspberries (.5 pt)
  • carrots (0 pts)
  • watermelon (1.5 pts)
  • pretzels (2 pts)

We had such a fun time sitting outside by the water and then climbing on the rocks. Hanging out with kids makes me feel like a kid again, and I love it. πŸ™‚

Fast forward to this morning and I woke up really early (as in 6:45am) to go out for a run. I snoozed a few times and then finally got myself out of bed, into my running clothes, and out the door. I ran 3.0 miles in just under 30 minutes, but I honestly struggled a bit today during my run. I had to really push myself to keep going and felt like stopping after the first half a mile and then for most of the rest of the run. I’m not sure why exactly, but I did feel great after it was over and proud that I got up for the second day in a row to run before work.

Breakfast was true overnight oats (as in I actually made them last night!) with a topping I haven’t had in years.

Fluff! I saw fluff as a topping on Lori’s blog on several occassions and finally bought a jar of it when I remembered. I got around to using it today and it was a nice treat. 2 tablespoons only has 40 calories (1 pt), so the 1 tbsp I put on there only added .5 points to the bowl and was totally worth it.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (1.5 pts)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder (1 pt)
  • 2/3 cup light soy milk (1 pt)
  • 1 tbsp fluff (.5 pts)
  • 1/4 cup fiber one (0 pts)

Mmmmm. I ate breakfast out on my balcony and it was SO nice to be outside. I’m trying to spend as much time as possible outside to soak in this amazing weather! After breakfast, I picked up my CSA for the week, which had a lot of fruit this time!

This week I got:

  • Peaches
  • Apricots
  • Plums
  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • A mystery herb

Do you know what kind of herb this is?? Ever seen it before?

Also, is this not the tiniest beet you’ve ever seen?

πŸ™‚

24 Responses

  1. It looks like you and the girls had a great day!

  2. Beth,

    Love your blog – read it daily!! I am also on WW and eat oatmeal every day! So when deciding what to put in oatmeal, I never think to put the vanilla whey protein in because it utilizes one of my daily points. Do you think it helps you stay fuller for longer?

    • Hi Rachel – Thank you!! πŸ™‚

      I think you should experiment with it – – it does help me stay full for a few hours longer, but that could just be in my head! The 1/2 scoop adds about 8 grams of protein though so scientifically it should be keeping you fuller longer, but I’d say give it a try and keep me posted!

      • Thanks Beth! Will give it a try and will let you know. Love reading about your adventures in DC. I went to American U and my bf still lives there, some day we should meet up for coffee!

  3. A picnic! How fun… I don’t even remember the last time I did that!

  4. Yay tempeh sammich! Love how those girls were given such yummy picnic lunches – it makes me so bummed out to see how kids eat (and have always eaten since I was a wee-one) at school n stuff. Processed, processed, processed. 😦

    Happy Thursday! Now to investigate that mysery herb…!

    • It was actually really fun going to the store with them and letting them pick out their favorite fruits. It feels so good to be healthy with them rather than eating junk!

  5. I love picnics!

    What CSA do you belong to? I’m not a huge fan of mine and looking for different options for next year. They promised us 2-4 servings of 8 different veggies a week, but they do different math than I do! We’re lucky if we get two vegetables! (I guess they consider lettuce and herbs vegetables, but that doesn’t seem like much to me… and still doesn’t equal 8!)

    • I’ve been having the same issues with my CSA every week. It’s about $26 a week, and this week is an exception, but I feel like I could do a LOT better at the Farmer’s Market with the $26. I think it should start being better now that the weather is warmer, but I belong to Great Country Farms in Bluemont, VA. They do a bulk pick up right near my apartment so its convenient.

      • Based on your photos, it looks like you are definitely getting more food from your CSA than we are, and we pay more! It’s so frustrating, because I love the concept of a CSA but I feel like the one I chose just doesn’t work well. I really could do better at the farmers market. I’m hoping it picks up as the summer goes on, but I already feel like they’d have to give a LOT of veggies in order to make up for the four disappointing weeks so far.

  6. Aw. What beautiful girls πŸ™‚

    ooo fluff, i haven’t had fluff in years! what else do you think you will use the fluff in!? cookies perhaps? yum!

    nice job getting up in the am to run. It WILL get easier. sometimes am’s are hard for me because i have nothing in my system and i legit feel like i’m running on empty. a scoop of pb before helps!

  7. Congrats on becoming a (reluctant) morning exerciser! πŸ™‚ I really find that it makes me feel better all day long, plus I can just relax after a long day of work instead of trying to get a workout in! Is your CSA farm really growing all that fruit locally or do they have a co-op with some other place (further south)? I wish ours had fruits.. but we did get a pretty good assortment this week. What are you going to do with your beets? We got some of those too and I’ve never cooked with them and rarely even eat them!

    Pic of my CSA loot: http://picasaweb.google.com/sydneymiller/CSA2010#5488709108132084674 (We bought the blueberries separately, but from the same farm.)

    • Wow you get a lot of veggies in yours!! Ours is a mix, but sometimes its just veggies and one thing of fruit. All the fruit is grown at the farm, which is pretty cool, but sometimes it doesnt look that great. This time though every piece looks pretty awesome so I’m looking forward to the peaches ripening because they’re still a little hard!

      As for the beets – – not sure yet. I like to roast them and do them in salads or in a simple soup. I’ll definitely be posting the recipe!

  8. i love ur child-like spirit! its so fantastic to experience days like this!!! ❀

    in time i think u will warm up more to morning exercise.. and what better time than the summer too πŸ™‚ cool summer mornings are so ideal πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  9. I LOVE picnics!!! Yours looks awesome!

  10. Ahh FLUFF!!!!!!!!! I love Fluff!! I have never heard of anyone putting it in oatmeal before and that is so amazing to learn that it is so low in points.

    Oh my goodness….marshmallow-heaven!

  11. Mmmm, fluff in oatmeal? I must try!

  12. sounds like a good time!

    I hope I didn’t start you on a bad habit with the fluff πŸ˜€

    It is divine on hot oats or cream of wheat because it gets all melty. Yum.

  13. I forgot to mention: Could your mystery herb be sorrel? Have you tasted it yet?

  14. Little baby beet! Glad you had a fun time with the girls. There are no young people anywhere in my family, and no hope for any until I have kids of my own!!

  15. What an awesome activity for kids! The food looks delicious too!

  16. Picnics are so much fun! I’m a little late on this post (just catching up on my blog reading from being out of town this weekend) but did you ever figure out the mystery herb? It looks like it might be sage, but that is just a guess. Love your blog!

  17. […] Mexican Lettuce Wraps Posted on July 9, 2010 by Beth This morning I had no idea what I wanted to have for lunch. While I’m showering, getting ready, or working out, I normally think about what I want to pack for lunch to get me through my workout and just because I like to think about food. The Shred leaves little time for day dreaming about lunch and I just could not think of anything that I wanted! I almost threw the towel in and was going to buy lunch, but then I saw some romaine lettuce in my fridge that I had bought last week for my picnic with the kids. […]

Leave a Reply

