• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Kicking off the Long Weekend!

Good morning and happy Friday/July 4th weekend!!!!!!!! YESSS. I am so excited for the weekend even though I don’t have any grand plans, I am NOT traveling so that is getting me very excited. I literally traveled for every single weekend in June, starting with a work conference, then a bachelorette party, then father’s day, then visiting my boyfriend’s mom. It was all pretty fun (minus the work portion) but I am so ready to relax and just stay put! PLUS, Tuesday is my birthday so lots of celebrating coming up… ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night was so fun. My former boss took me and my old coworkers out for drinks at the Sofitel for my birthday. Here’s a picture of Noelie, Traci, and I.

We had such a nice time catching up, and the weather outside was incredible. I had two martinis that were probably the best cocktails I’ve ever had in my life.

It was called a Westside Smash, “Hand pressed cucumber and mint, Ketel One Vodka”. It was so delicious that I ordered a second one of the same thing even though their whole drink menu looked inviting. We got two appetizers to share, the mini crabcakes:

And the 5 cheese plate:

We ate every last bite of cheese and crabcake, and both were really delicious.

I left still a little hungry though since we had shared those two between the four of us, and when I called my boyfriend to see where he was, he was at Harry’s Tap Room with the girls about to eat dinner. It was on my way home, so I joined them. I ended up ordering the veggie burger, which was kidney beans and corn with some other veggies mixed in, and it came with fries and an aioli sauce.

I ended up eating just half the bun, most of the burger, and none of the aioli. I had a few of the fries but not much… I was kind ofย surprisedย with myself because I can’t normally control myself with french fries, but I was just not that hungry so I kept giving them away so that they wouldn’t be in front of me, and I only ended up eating 1/4 – 1/3 of them.

This morning I made myself a cereal yogurt mess which was delicious and really point friendly considering how much food it was!

In the mix:

It was SO good! The Cinnamon Crunch cereal tastes a lot like Cinnamon Toast Crunch but its only 2 points for a cup and organic, so healthier. The peach was from my CSA yesterday and was juicy and soooo delicious. That bowl was really filling since the greek yogurt is packed with protein, but also completely delicious. I ate it out on my balcony while watching some planes take off since I can see the airport from there. Very nice way to start the day. ๐Ÿ™‚

Today I’m actually leaving work early to use the last of my comp time from Oklahoma City, and the girls are in a fashion show since today is the last day of Fashion Camp! I’m going to go see them and then hopefully hit afternoon Bikram and go see a movie outside later tonight. I can’t wait for 1pm!! ๐Ÿ™‚

What are you looking forward to most about the long weekend? Me? Not traveling and the gorgeous weather coupled with pool time!

10 Responses

  1. I’m with you on the weekend plans- everyone else is traveling and I’m staying put! And looking forward to it nonetheless! Enjoy it!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. FIREWORKS! I am such a sucker for those things!!

  3. Tomorrow going to a friends house to BBQ and swim. Sunday, going to my brother’s house to BBQ and then to the swim club. Monday, maybe see a movie and then the swim club! That’s about it!

    Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh yum! Your appetizers and drink look soooo good! And your dress is super cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t have any grand plans for the weekend, just hoping a margarita or 2 are involved at some point!

    Amanda @ WannaBe Chef
    http://amsterwill83.wordpress.com

  5. What a nice outing! That drinks looks interesting, I never would’ve ordered it. And all the food looks yummy too. Have a great 4th!

  6. It looks like a fun evening out, and that cheese plate looks so good! (I wish I didn’t try and avoid cheese as much as I do, I can’t believe a small piece the size of my thumb tip is 1 serving = 110 calories – thanks WW).

    Have a wonderful birthday and wonderful holiday weekend.

  7. I’m looking forward to my 5k! And hanging out around town. Some plans, but nothing set in stone and I’m so glad!

  8. First of all, you look freakin’ amazing.

    Second, I am on a total mint drink kick. We have mint growing in our garden and we made mojitos at home last weekend. YUM. I think we’ll try juleps next. We also have a boat load of cucumbers from our CSA… this might be in their future. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Third, happy early birthday! (We are getting oooolld!)

  9. Crabcakes look delicious!

  10. i think thats the prettiest dress you’ve ever worn!!! i also think the fact that theres a cute open lounge to hang out with the girls at is awesome!

    btw i think that breakfast is fantastic! i love the jam packed fibre in there ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

