• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Happy 4th of July!

Hello! I hope you’re enjoying the long weekend so far… I know I am! ๐Ÿ™‚

Friday night turned out to be SO fun. I made it to a 4pm Bikram class, and then met my friend Jess for an I Love the 90’s screening of Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead outside in Rosslyn. There were tons of people with blankets and picnics ready to go starting around 7pm.

They had a few games where you could win a free I Love the 90’s t-shirt.

I tried and failed, but Jess won! Here’s a picture of us:

And of our picnic goods:

Cheese, crackers, pita chips, hummus, carrots, grape tomatoes, and Hot Tamales. We also drank some white wine while the moving was playing. It was so funny to watch because I hadn’t seen it in years and years, so I was definitely pre-work world when I saw it. I remember thinking that she was SO cool and so old and having no idea what they were talking about with pension plans and health insurance… so funny to see it from the other side!

Yesterday was a really relaxing day. I spent several hours out by the pool and got a mani/pediย which was so nice. I did Level 1 of the Shred for exercise… it had been months since I’ve done it last and it is HARD. I am so sore today, but sore in a good way. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was really on track with eating yesterday and ended up going out to dinner with the boyfriend while we ran around and hit up Target and TJ Maxx, two of my favorites. I woke up today and could hardly believe it was Sunday, but luckily we have tomorrow off, too!

We went to a dinner to grab breakfast, so I ordered a veggie eggwhite omelette with rye toast.

And I asked for fruit instead of potatoes, which they did no problem.

The fruit was actually really fresh which was sort of surprising… I feel like a lot of times the fruit at dinners can be questionable, but this was delicious!

What are your plans for the 4th? I have two picnics to go to, the second of which will be on a roof to watch the DC fireworks! I’m so excited. I’ll be back with a recap tomorrow!

7 Responses

  1. Yum! The omlette looks to die for.

    Target and TJMaxx are two of my favorites too! I think my paycheck should be sent directly to TJM :/

  2. What a cool event!! Tonight we are having friends over for dinner and to watch the neighborhood fireworks.

  3. Picnics are pretty much the best

  4. i miss having warm enough summers to blankie it up outside with tonnes of peeps. a few years ago we had a huge outdoor canada day festival with live music and everything- it was so fun! ahh this wouldve been pretty fantastic, espeically with the late afternoon yoga thrown in ๐Ÿ˜‰

    HAPPY 4TH OF JULY BETH!! โค

  5. Oh gosh that omelet look so amazing! Love that movie Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead, I remember watching that when I was pretty much a baby (middle school?) and I loooved it. Aw, memories.

    Happy 4th! Hubby + I worked and I’m gonna make him a mini-pizza while I go all Mexican and make molletes de frijol (so good!) then fireworks land… somewhere around here ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I love the 90s game! Ha!

    Good lookin picnic nosh too!

  7. this is so fun!! outdoor 90s movies! great times. what was your fav 90s movie!? mine had to have been home alone…oooooo or the sandlot ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

