• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Last day!

Hello! How was everybody’s 4th of July? Mine was so fun! I had two picnics to go to, the first of which was my boyfriend’s work party. They had it set up really cute outside with patriotic decorations:

And red, white, and blue sangria!

I normally stay away from sangria/other sugary drinks, but it was a holiday, so I had a tiny glass of each flavor, and then a huge cup with a mix of all three. 🙂 We had the little girls with us, Charlotte and Nora.

And we played some Foodie Trivia and just hung out and had a fun time.

After that party, we ended up going over my friends parent’s house for another party and to watch the fireworks. The second party was a lot less well-documented, but there was fried chicken, beans, coleslaw, potato salad, chips, and a veggie tray. I had a bunch of the veggies, some chips and salsa, and a lobster roll which is what we brought to the party. Here’s me with my friend Amber.

Taking pictures of fireworks is HARD. Here’s the best I could do.

I woke up today and decided to get back on the healthy train full force since I was pretty lax this weekend. I set out for a run first thing when I woke up, but it was already SO hot out. I wanted to do 5 miles, but I ended up running 2.5 miles straight, and then walk/running the last 2.0. The final stats were:

Distance 4.53 miles

Duration: 50 min 30 seconds

Calories: 520 calories

I was actually surprised it took as little time as it did considering I was alternating between walking and jogging for the last two miles. That is the first time I’ve done that since I’ve been able to do a run straight through, but it was just SO hot and humid outside that there was really no way around it.

After I got back, I made myself an egg on toast with Garlic Gold. The nice people over at Garlic Gold sent me some samples to try, which included several flavors of their garlic gold nuggets, plus some garlic oil.

This stuff is seriously unreal. The nuggets are a little crunchy and I could seriously eat them by the handful, but I’ll try my best to resist. If you hold yourself to only have a serving size (1 tsp) which provides a lot of flavor and crunch, it has 0 points on WW! The Garlic Gold is also completely organic, and the ingredient list is so short. I am so excited to find out new ways to make my way through the different flavor and hopefully can hold off eating it by the fistful… 🙂

This was one fried egg (2 pts) with 1/4 cup RF shredded mozz (1 pt) on a piece of wheat toast (1 pt) with 1 tsp of the garlic gold italian herb nuggets. SO good. The garlic gold makes it so you don’t have to add any salt and pepper because it adds enough seasoning on its own. Mmmm.

I went to the mall to do a little shopping after, and got a 6″ veggie delite from Subway for lunch.

image

The sandwich had pepper jack cheese, spinach, tomatoes, red onions, pickles, cucumbers, banana peppers, olives, and mustard, for a total of 5 points. The chips had 1 pt and though I don’t normally eat processed stuff like that, once in a while it’s ok!

An afternoon snack was 1/2 cup nonfat cottage cheese (1 pt) with 3/4 cup Puffins (1 pt).

And then dinner was quite an experience. We went to the Silver Diner and had the worst service ever. We had the little girls with us, and Nora ordered two poached eggs with bacon and toast. They brought her out one fried egg with homefries instead, and then we asked for the bacon and toast, and she brought out just the bacon (about 10 minutes later). When I asked about the toast, she said it was still cooking, and it took another 10-15 minutes to get that. Charlotte ordered soup with fries, and the waitress just brought out the fries and took 15 minutes or so to bring out the soup (the main part of her meal). It’s hard to explain how bad everything was, but we complained to the manager, and we NEVER do that. For my meal (which was fine and was brought out on time), I had the Summer Salad with Salmon. It had baby spinach, mangos, strawberries, dried cranberries, pecans, and carrots. I asked for the dressing on the side but didn’t use it because there was enough going on without it, but I didn’t snap a picture because there was too much chaos trying to communicate with the waitress…

Now I’m back home, enjoying my last night as a 25 year old! Crazyyyy when I wake up tomorrow I’m in the second half of my 20’s. Eek.

15 Responses

  1. Happy almost bday! Sorry about the lame restaurant service, at least some managers are nice enough to treat people with bad experiences with a nice coupon or free dessert – I remember that happening almost every time my family and I went to a fish place near my house. The service was usually bad, but the food was SO good, we just kept going + the coupons never stopped. haha, you think they’d fix things? Oh well. Free ice cream for everyone who complains!

  2. Red, white, and blue sangria?!?! How on earth do you make that (clearly the red is simple, but the other two?)? Is it just food coloring???

  3. Wow – it all looks like so much fun! Love that sangria too!

  4. Red, white, and blue sangria sounds FANTASTIC!

  5. The checkered table cloths are so cute and I love the red, white, and blue sangria. So patriotic. Happy Birthday chicky!

  6. Happy Birthday! Taking pictures of fireworks is hard but yours are awesome!

  7. Beth, it looks like you had an AWESOME 4th of July weekend. The red, white, and blue sangria looks delicious. Also, staying on the roof to watch the fireworks sounds much better than walking to the mall with the crowd to watch the fireworks.

    I can imagine your run was pretty difficult, given how hot and humid it’s been these past few days, but props for sticking with it! I actually had a similar experience at my Zumba class on Sat. I was a little hungover and dehydrated so I had to quit 30 minutes into the hour long workout. Ugh…

    Happy Tuesday!

  8. Happy Belated Birthday!

  9. happy birthday! hope you have a great one

  10. I will be 28 this year!!! Don’t sweat 26 girl. It feels exactly the same as 25.

  11. I run/walk WAY faster than if I just try to run the whole time. My running pace is really slow otherwise I burn out and quit.

  12. i hate having to complain too! but soemtimes uve gotta call the manager out- keeps them on their toes hehe!

    i can feel the heat from these photos, looked like such a scorcher! ❤

  13. Happy Birthday!!

    Amanda (WannaBe Chef)

  14. What makes the blue sangria blue!? food coloring or blueberry juice or something!? so fun!

  15. Hey Beth – just wondering how do you end up with samples from food companies? Just ask for them? I would love to review stuff on my blog – but at the same time, I hate to pay for something that might be gross. 😦

Leave a Reply

