• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

It’s Official

I am now 26 years old. 🙂

The heat in DC has been SO bad, as I know its been around a lot of the country. Yesterday it peaked at 104, and today they are saying it’s going to be 102, which wouldn’t be as bad if it wasn’t so humid. The air is so thick when you walk outside that you can literally choke on it…

That said, yesterday was my birthday and it started out just like any other day. We were supposed to go out to lunch as a department, but we ended up delaying it until today, so I went out and bought breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was an egg and cheese on rye:

Which kept me full for hours! I didn’t end up going out to get lunch until after 2pm, which is unheard of for me. I went to Devon and Blakely’s and picked up a salad to go. I like the salad bar there because there are so many options for add ins, but the salads can end up being pretty expensive if you don’t plan carefully and think about what you’re going to put in there. My salad turned out perfect and cost just over $7 so this is definitely a combo I’d do again.

It had a spinach base, and then I added in chickpeas, blue cheese crumbles, roasted red peppers, and artichoke hearts. So delicious!

I’m not blaming the salad, but after eating my lunch I started feeling a little off. My stomach was hurting and I just felt weird. I tried to drink some water because I figured it had to do with the heat, and then I went home after my day wrapped up. I was thinking about maybe working out since dinner wasn’t until 8, but I just felt kind of strange so decided to just take it easy and return a few of the birthday calls I got over the course of the day.

Dinner was at Sushiko, a fancy sushi restaurant in DC. I had been looking forward to it all weekend, so decided to go with it even though I wasn’t feeling that great. I ordered a small bottle of sake to start:

But only ended up having one of those baby glasses full and took the rest of the bottle home. I switched to water, and drank 4 huge glasses of water and then ordered some gingerale and drank two glasses of that. The appetizers we got were edamame:

And salmon ceviche, which was served with ikura and yuzu vinaigrette.

I had a few pieces of edamame, and then one bite of the salmon ceviche but it just wasn’t sitting well with me so I stopped there. For the main course, we ordered a spicy crunchy tuna roll (my favorite)

But I was only able to stomach one piece. We also ordered a 12 piece sushi assortment:

But I only had one piece of the cucumber roll and Wil ate the rest. I started to feel a little better towards the end of the meal so we decided to order dessert and got banana tempura served a la mode (with ice cream) and had chocolate sauce and cinnamon.

I had one piece of the banana with the tiniest bit of ice cream and it was SO good. I think this meal would have been fantastic if I could have eaten! I was so excited about going there because I had heard such great things, and not being able to eat has never been my problem. It was really sad that it kicked in right before my birthday dinner…

I woke up today still feeling a little off, but was craving one thing… pancakes. Chiacakes to be specific. I used the usual mix:

  • 2 tbsp waffle and pancake mix (1 pt)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 2 tbsp egg whites (0 pts)
  • 2 tbsp light soy milk (.5 pts)

I topped them with 1 cup of sliced strawberries, for a total of 4 points.

These really hit the spot and it felt great to have something stabilizing in my stomach.

Lunch was at Teaism with my department, and I ordered the Veggie Bento Box.

It had:

  • Sweet Potatoes with Miso Sauce (3 pts)
  • Grilled Veggies (1 pt)
  • Tofu with Ginger (2 pts)
  • Brown Rice (2 pts) – I only ate one of those scoops
  • Edamame (1 pt)

Those are all guesses on the points, especially the first three items, but its probably pretty accurate. The food was really delicious, and I loooved the bento box since it had so many sections with little things. A lot of my favorites all in one box… yum. Dessert was one mini cupcake (2 pts):

Which was actually way more delicious than I was expecting!

My stomach still feels a little off, so I’m going to take it easy tonight. I was originally thinking of maybe doing Bikram or going for a run, but even thinking about doing either one of those is making me nauseous… maybe a nap instead? 🙂

16 Responses

  1. That bento box looks amazing. Hope your tummy feels better and happy 26!

  2. Happy birthday!!

  3. I always get that bento box from Teaism when I got there. So good. Hope you feel better!

  4. Happy Birthday! Looks like you’ve had some great meals lately. I’m turning 25 this weekend, eek!

  5. Happy Birthday!! Oh to be 26 again 🙂

    Hope your belly’s feeling better soon.

  6. ..•´)
    ¸.•´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´•¸.•*`•- • •´☆ HAPPY BIRTHDAY!¸¸.¸.☆¨¯`Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Thats stinky you were not able to really enjoy your big birthday dinner!! 😦 Next year! Feel better Beth!

  8. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, BETH!!!!

    I’m sorry you weren’t able to enjoy your awesome sushi dinner 😦 I hope that you feel better soon.

  9. I had edamame last night too 🙂

    Happy birthday – we’re almost birthday twins! Mine’s 2 days after yours!

  10. happy birthday beth! how wonderful. it looks like you had some good eats to celebrate-hope your tummy is back to normal soon. wish i could do 26 again for sure-enjoy!

  11. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR BETH!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!

  12. Happy Birthday!!

    Ps – I LOVE edamame 🙂

  13. Happy bday! Aw, hope you’re feeling better by now. Take it easy, girl. Eat ice! Make popsicles for the heat! Pretend you have a leg injury + ice your legs evah-ry day. haha.

    🙂

  14. Happy Birthday! I can’t wait for the heat of summer to ease a bit too!

  15. Happy birthdayyyy! I’m sorry to hear you stomach was feeling off, but it sounds like you still had a great night out!

  16. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

