• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Weigh In and Weekly Goals

One of my June Goals was to go back to Weight Watchers, which I did on June 24th for the first time since early April. I had gained 3 pounds in the 3 months that I’d taken a hiatus from going, which is not too bad considering that I didn’t count points and did a lot of drinking and having fun. I have been on WW since March 2009, and have basically been the same weight since January, so it’s really time to just push forward and get to my goal weight already. With my weigh in at the end of June, I had 9 pounds to go to get to my goal weight.

I skipped weigh in (WI) last week because I had a really busy day at work and had meetings over lunch, but I went back today. During those two weeks, I lost 2.6 pounds!! I was so happy to see a pretty significant move on the scale since I haven’t seen one of those in ages, and this means I only have 6.4 pounds until I’m at my goal weight! I’d like to put out there that my personal goal weight is 4-14 pounds lower than my WW goal weight, but I’m not really in a rush to get there, I just think my body will naturally get there once it’s ready. I am in a rush to get to my WW goal though, so that I can become a lifetime member and stop paying! I’d also love the opportunity to be a Leader and run the meetings, and you have to be Lifetime in order to do that.

So, I am setting some goals for myself for this week to keep myself on the losing train:

  1. Workout 5 times – Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday. I’m flexible with what I do, but I’d like to do the Shred at least once, Bikram at least once, and run 2x.
  2. Finalize My Half-Marathon Training Plan – The half marathon is somehow only 11 weeks from this weekend!! I will share my plan once it’s developed fully, but this week is the week I have to do it!
  3. Limit Alcohol – Saturday night I’m celebrating my birthday with my friends, first with a birthday dinner and then going out on the town, so that night there will be plenty of booze (and it will also be my “free” day). Besides that day, I’d like to keep drinking to a minimum. My eating habits and drinking tend to go hand in hand (as in eat bad and way too much when I drink) and I don’t have any other special stuff going on so it should be doable.
  4. Lots of Water – I’ve been OK about this most of the time, but in this intense heat its even more important to get a lot of water in, and I think getting sick on my birthday night had a lot to do with not drinking enough water. 8 cups a day minimum, and more when exercising.
  5. Daily Multivitamin – I stopped taking multivitamins for some reason and need to get back into the habit of taking one daily, even though I eat a pretty balanced diet and get in most of my nutrients naturally. I just took one for today, so check! πŸ™‚

Lunch today was a loaded salad that was deeeeelicious.

It had:

  • Kale (0 pts)
  • 1 tsp garlic gold oil (1 pt)
  • carrots (0 pts)
  • broccoli (0 pts)
  • 2 tbsp garlic hummus (1 pt)
  • 1 oz RF feta cheese (1 pt)
  • 1/2 serving tempeh (2 pts)

This salad was really big and satisfying since there was so much going on. I rubbed the oil onto the kale and it was the first time I tried the Garlic Gold Oil and it is AWESOME. There is garlic at the bottom so the whole jar is really flavorful and added a nice kick to the salad.

Do you set daily, weekly, or monthly goals for yourself? What are you currently working on? Do you find they help you stay on track or just get you overwhelmed? I’ve just recently started setting shorter term goals and I like it because they are easier to stick with than my big goals like “get to goal weight” and help me make mindful decisions.

20 Responses

  1. I’m dying to try some of this garlic gold oil that I keep hearing so much about – I know you got a sample from the mail but do you know what stores you can purchase it at?

    • I think you have to order it online, unfortunately. But it is SO worth it. It adds so much flavor and is organic and all natural. amazon.com has it cheaper, and then of course you can order it on the garlicgold.com website.

  2. 3 pounds is not bad! Your goals sound good too. Limiting alcohol will be the challenge I’m sure. Summer time and drinking seem to go hand in hand for me…

    • i know summer heat and cold drinks are a match made in heaven. I know I can have them in my life and maintain, but its hard for me to lose when i’m drinking frequently. Plus being hungover is no fun. πŸ™‚

  3. my goal is to run a half marathon – but after than i will be goal-free! i actually like not having a specific goal when it comes to working out (other than to just DO IT & maintain a healthy fitness level) – b/c i like doing whatever exercise i feel like doing that day!

    • I agree with you on not setting specific goals, though I do like to have races on my calendar to keep me motivated to have my mileage up.

  4. Great idea to write down the goals! Especially the water. I often THINK that I’m doing great with that one, but when I actually pay attention to it I really do great meeting my water needs!

    • Especially in the heat & humidity lately its sooo important. I like putting my goals out there because it makes me feel more accountable.

  5. I need to work on the limit alcohol goal. Not only do I eat more when I drink, but if I’m hungover I munch all day.
    p.s. you would be a great WW leader!

    • Thanks Liz! i had a lot of trouble finding a fun, young leader when I was looking for a meeting, so i’d love to be able to show that you can lose a lot of weight and still have fun and be young while you’re doing it!

  6. I have very similar goals. My alcohol consumption always leads to eating bad things, and so I want to at least cut down on week night drinking. I’ve also started taking vitamins in the areas I’m lacking like D and B. Congrats on your 2. 6 lbs!

    • Thanks!! It’s just so tough because all the get togethers with friends and coworkers always involve alcohol – so not drinking frequently gets HARD – especially in the summer!

  7. I love your goals! I think I need to get back to setting some for myself. Also, I recently used the Hal Higdon novice half marathon training plan and loved it.

    • I love Hal Higdon plans. I’m using that largely to make my own training plan, but I want my longest run to be longer than 10 miles because I’ve heard that you can hit a wall around the 10 mile mark if you only run that far before the half. I know I can do 10 because I ran a 10 miler in April, so I’d like to do 11 or 12 before the big day!

  8. 2.6 pounds is AWESOME, particularly after a holiday weekend. Way to go, Beth! I’m with you on the goals–limit alcohol, drink more water, and exercise more frequently (for me 4X per week).

    I’m a bit worried about my evening weigh in since my weight tends to fluctuate from morning to night. But whatever happens happens.

    • Thanks!! I was really happy to see that loss on the scale. Keep in mind though that it was 2 weeks, not one! I’ll be interested to hear how your weigh in goes tonight! Good luck!

  9. Beth,

    I used to set goals for myself all the time and found that I ended up being waaaaay to hard on myself. My weight has stayed fairly consistent since I’ve loosened up a bit, but I do stick to a couple πŸ™‚

    -No drinking during the week (try to refrain any and all alcohol if possible!)
    -Workout every day (at least 30 minutes of something, I feel so much better)
    -Everything in moderation πŸ™‚

    Good luck with yours!

    ~Alyssa

  10. I think the fact that you lost it so quick was definitely a sign that your body is ready to go with you to that new weight!

    Glad you are feeling back on track. I know that making new small goals monthly helps me to, thanks for the reminder to pay more attention to them

  11. Congrats on the weightloss!!

    My short term goals right now are:
    1. drink 3 liters of water daily
    2. exercise at least 3 days a week
    3.stay within a certain caloric range
    4. eat at least 2 servings of fruit and 3 servings of veggies a day
    5. get at least 7 hours of sleep

    I am doing well with most of these goals except for the sleep! I am such a night owl, which gets me in trouble when I have to wake up early the next morning!!!

  12. wow ur close to ur goal weight!! and you totally made major progress πŸ™‚

    i had a mini multi vitamin departure for awhile there too, i find it such a hard habit sometimes!

    mmmm i love tempeh in my salads! i wouldnt mind getting some feta to toss in next time with it!! ❀

    i try to be really honest with my self as to the goals i set. if i set them with a short time to complete them i almost always fail.. or if its too far away = major fail. its hard to find the right time in between, but there is a happy medium somewhere in there for me that seems to work πŸ™‚

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

