• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Fridayyyy

Good morning and happy Friday!!! It came so fast this week… partly due to the short week and partly just from being busy!

Yesterday afternoon I ended up wandering around the Farmer’s Market and picking up a few things. I love how beautiful the produce is lately now that we’re getting into peak season.

Sweet Onions, Eggplant, and Garlic.

Tomatoes.

Cherries, Yellow and Red Plums, and Peaches!

Apricots and more plums!

Emily, Okra, Yellow Squash, Zucchini, and Hybrid Squash.

I ended up getting some okra, cheese curds, and cucumbers to supplement my CSA for the week.

And then, I went with my boyfriend.. and he got a brand new car!!! A 2010 Honda Accord in Silver with a black interior. It is soooo nice and I love it. We took a few on test drives and the new one drove so much better than the year or two old ones, so that’s the one he went with. Though its his car, there will be a lot of shared use, so I’m almost as excited as he is. 😉

We didn’t get out of the dealership until almost 10pm and neither of us had eaten dinner.. big mistake! I should have packed a snack so I wasn’t so ravenous, but we ended up spotting a little Thai place right by the dealership and went in. It was actually Thai/Chinese fusion, so they started us out with chinese noodles and a thai cabbage dish.

The thai cabbage dish was really light and just had vinegar on it (and maybe a little sugar because it was sort of sweet). I ate a bunch of the cabbage, and then wayyy too many fried noodles. Those things are so easy to eat when they are in front of you and you are hungry! I ate more than 1/2 the bowl… Then I got Veggie Tom Yum, which is a hot and sour broth loaded with veggies.

For my main course I got two appetizers, the steamed veggie dumplings:

And a Squid Salad.

I ate the dumplings first and they were really doughy and didn’t have many veggies inside, but I basically inhaled them. After eating those, I moved onto the salad when my fullness set in. I only ended up eating the squid off the salad and a few bites of the veggies, which was delicious. I should have started with the salad and then moved to the dumplings, so I’ll keep that in mind for next time.

This morning I woke up feeling kind of gross and bloated from the late food last night. I decided to do the Shred Level Two to get the day started off right. Even though it’s only 20 minutes, it is HARD. I hate the 30 seconds straight of push-ups (x2) in Level One, so I figured this one would be totally do-able because it wouldn’t have the push ups, but instead there were walkout push ups where you start from standing, touch the floor, walk your hands out into push up position, do a push up, walk your hands back, and then stand up – even harder! I was sweating so hard but it felt really good in a weird way.

I threw together a nice yogurt bowl for breakfast after the Shred:

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup nonfat greek yogurt (1 pt)
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (1 pt)
  • ~1/4 cup fiber one (0 pts)
  • 1 peach sliced up

This was awesome. The peach was from my CSA share yesterday and it was one of the sweetest, juiciest, and most delicious peaches I’ve ever had! I seriously wish I brought another one with me into work so I could have it later today.

What are you up to this weekend? Any exciting plans? One of my best friends, Lianne, has a birthday today (HAPPY BIRTHDAY LIANNE!!!!) and mine was on Tuesday, so we’re doing a joint celebration tomorrow night, starting with a nice dinner with some close friends and then going out in DC. I cannot wait!!

9 Responses

  1. Happy Friday Beth,

    Wow, that produce looks delicious. Note to self–must find a farmer’s market in Richmond. And your thai dinner looks good too. I actually went out for Pho soup last night, which was delicious too 🙂 I had no idea how to count the points though–so I just gave it 8.5…hmm…

    Hope you have a great weekend and an awesome birthday celebration!

    • Hey Katie! Check out LocalHarvest.org and you can find farmer’s markets and CSA’s in your area because it lets you search by zipcode!

  2. how adorable is the organized bowl uve concocted!! haha so fabulous ❤

    MMMM would love to pick up a few pints of cherries! so happy ur getting lots of local produce coming in!

  3. i have got to get to a farmers market this weekend! look at all the great food 🙂 hope you have a great weekend. nothing too exciting planned for me.

  4. All your farmers market pictures are beautiful! I have to work all weekend, but I have today off!

  5. I know everyone’s different, but I think Level 2 by far has the hardest strength circuits… they’re killer!

    Congrats to the bf’s new toy! 🙂 Sounds like you’ll be riding in style!

  6. Oh I just love the Farmer’s Market!
    Sometimes I get a bit overwhelmed!
    I need to take a LIST to the market!
    And I’m in search for the perfect market basket!
    Those Chinese noodles look so good! Yum!
    I don’t know HOW you got up and did THE SHRED after those noodles! ;o)
    Good for you Beth!
    That Shred is a KILLER!
    I’m sweating like 30 seconds into it!!!!
    I would love for Jillian to come spend a week with me!
    Your breakfast looks fab!
    Might have that same thing this morning!
    xo
    Happy Weekend! Enjoy that car!

  7. Good looking fruit! I love Farmer’s Markets too. It just tastes better to me.
    Have a good weekend!

  8. Congrats on the new car!
    Also, those veggie dumplings look awesome.
    In the grocery store the other day I asked the seafood guy…worker… 🙂 My mom was getting shrimp and we saw the squid and started asking him questions. He started bashing the taste and look of squid. I’ve never tried it before, but why not!? Walking away he was like, just don’t do it! haha

Leave a Reply

