• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Brunch for One

Happy Saturday!! I love weekends where no travel is involved… so relaxing. Unfortunately, I woke up to this:

Which put a major damper on my plans to lounge by the pool all day… Better things are in store though!

Last night I got home and had a package from Amazon.com, which had my gift from my birthday gift from my sisters!

A Camelbak!! I’ve been wanting one of these for a while now because I hate holding a water bottle when I run, and my water belt can be a little much for shorter runs. But in the intense heat, water is necessary on any length run for me, so I couldn’t wait to get out and use it! I decided to go for a run even though it was SO hot last night, so I did a walk/run instead which seems to be my new thing. I ran for 4.25 miles, and walked just over 1 mile. I took .25 mile walking breaks 4 times during the run, so the longest stretch of running straight was 1.5 miles. I LOVED having my Camelbak because I didn’t have to worry about conserving water as I do when I carry a bottle, and it felt so light on my back I could barely tell it was there. My Garmin says I burned 575 calories.. woohoo!

I should have planned better with my post run eats, becuase I had a peach and then just couldn’t think of what else I wanted, so I ended up grazing and just eating a bunch of stuff instead of a good, solid meal. I had an almond butter sandwich on wheat, lots of Dr. Krackers, and a bowl of Special K with soy milk. It doesn’t sound like much, but it was actually a lot and basically all carbs rather than having a balanced meal. Mental note to plan better for meals post workouts because I always end up grazing and eat too much when I don’t plan well.

After seeing the gloom today, I decided to make myself brunch for one. I wanted eggs and pancakes, so I figured why not have both!? I made two mini protein pancakes, which were 2 points combined, with 1 tbsp pancake mix, 1/2 scoop protein powder, and 1 tbsp each of light soy milk and egg whites.

Then I sauteed a green onion with kale over nonstick spray (0 pts) and put a fried egg (2 pts) on top of it.

Then, for good measure, I had a small peach and an apricot (1 pt) from my farm share.

This whole plate of goodness for only 5 points!

It really hit the spot!

What are you plans for today? Is it rainy/gloomy where you are? I’m going to get my nails done with two of my girls, Lianne and Rachel, and then going to a 4pm Bikram class with them. It will be Rachel’s first Bikram class ever so I am so excited for her. After that, we have the celebration for Lianne and my birthdays tonight, where we’re going out to a fancy dinner and then out to a few bars. I’ll be back tomorrow with a recap!

12 Responses

  1. Love the idea of a few mini pancakes AND eggs! We always have eggs on Sat, but every once in a while I really crave some oaty cakes – so I may just borrow your fab idea! Have a great weekend, enjoy the mini break from the heat!

  2. Your sisters are so great for getting you that gift! I have to ask for running stuff- because people generally don’t “get” my obsession… oh well!

    It was actually sunny all day here… I may have gotten a weeeee bit burned! ssshhh…

  3. that is definitely not fair bad pool weather!!! URGH!

    eggs add sunshine to shitty days! i always have eggs when i wake up and it looks like that outside! well i lied.. sometimes i have muffins instead lol

    xoxo ❤

  4. So you love it?! How much did it weigh? I’m up in the air about it. What kind of garmin do you have? You’ve inspired me to give Kale a try.

    • Hey Julia! I love love LOVE it! Its so awesome because you can barely even feel that its there and it holds so much water. I hate carrying a water bottle, and the water belt was driving me a little nuts, so this is the perfect solution. I have the Garmin 305. Kale is one of my favorites! It’s so versatile and if you’ve never had it before, you HAVE to have kale chips. So good!

  5. You love your eggs haha. I’ve never tried a Camelpak but I can imagine once you get used to it , it’s so convenient. I also have the Garmin 305 but have never looked to see the calories I’ve burned. I must’ve missed that feature hah.

  6. Question about the Camelbak- did you wear it with a tanktop? If yes, did it chafe you? I don’t know if it’s the particular Camelbak I have, or if it’s just me, but when I do wear it with a tanktop my arms and shoulders get rubbed raw! I just stick to shortsleeves!

  7. What a great meal combo! YUM!

  8. Hi there Beth – I just found your blog and I love it. You go girl. I too live around DC – perhaps we could run together sometime:) And I love your breakfast – I am allergic to eggs – so that is hard – but it looks so yummy. xoxo

  9. Whenever it is rainy and nasty outside on a weekend I declare it a PJ day and I get cozy and read. Love it! 🙂

  10. What a great gift. I take it you are doing Weight Watchers with all the talk of ‘points’? I hope it’s working well for you. Your breakfast does look good!

  11. Back to the Monday grind for me! Just finished work, now need to grocery shop, work out, and unpack after being gone for the weekend!

Leave a Reply

