• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Birthday Celebration Recap

Hi! I ended up running around like a crazy woman yesterday so didn’t have time to write about my birthday celebration and dinner, but it was fabulous! One of my best friends birthdays happens to be 3 days after mine, so we had a joint celebration. We started with a small dinner with just five of us at Brasserie Beck, which is a European style brasserie with Belgian style food. Our reservation was at 8pm and they were ready for us as soon as we got there. We started with some Prosecco and toasted to the birthday girls.

They served us plenty of bread with butter (x2):

And they were running a special that night for Gazpacho, which is one of my favorites. When they said it was topped with avocado, I knew I had to have it. 4 of the 5 of us at the table ordered it, and they brought out the bowl with the avocado and some vegetable garnish:

Then they poured the soup over the bowl tableside, which I love.

And the finished bowl:

Oh my gosh was that good! It was served cold and had an awesome flavor. The crunch of the veggies with the creaminess of the avocado worked perfectly with the soup, and it was just delicious. I had heard rave reviews about the mussels at this restaurant, so I decided to give the Curry and Apple Mussels a try.

They were served with a side of fries with a trio of dipping sauces:

And this was unreal. There were big chunks of soft apples mixed in with the mussels and the creamy broth was so delicious. While not the lightest thing on the menu, it sure was delicious. I ate every single mussel and every fry! Totally worth it though. Here’s the 5 of us after dinner:

Rachel, Jess, me, Lianne, and Amber.

I was really glad I wasn’t wearing a tight dress after that meal! 🙂

We ended up going back to Lianne’s place where more of our friends came and met us.

Andrew and Rachel – getting hitched in a few weeks!!

Steph, Kat, and Lianne

We ended up going out to Churchkey after spending some time at Lianne’s and had a blast. The bar was really cool and had over 40 beers on draft! I’m not much of a beer drinker so I just had a vodka soda at the bar, and had had enough already at that point where one drink was enough! Wil met us out at the bar:

And the two birthday girls towards the end of the night!

Such a fun night!!

11 Responses

  1. I’m glad you had a great night (and weekend!). Sometimes nothing beats dressing up and having a fun night out with the girls! 🙂

  2. I love mussels!! Sounds like you had such a fun night.

  3. You look gorgeous and the food looks delicious! Happy Birthday!!

  4. You look so cute in your blue dress!

  5. You are looking so great!!! Keep up the good work 🙂

  6. Glad you had a great celebration! You look so happy.

    And that food, man oh man that looks good.

  7. Oh gosh, that soup looks so delicious + fresh! Seriously, we all eat with our eyes – colorful foods on a plate are always fantastic. Glad you had an awesome bday bash! You’re so pretty!!

  8. That dress is fantastic! Its a great color on you!

  9. I agree with the other posters–your blue dress looks beautiful on you! I’m glad that you had an awesome birthday celebration–the food looks delicious!

  10. […] Birthday Celebration Recap […]

  11. How fun! It looks like you had a great night!!

Leave a Reply

