• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Whirlwind

My life has felt like sort of a whirlwind lately because I’ve been so busy! I definitely ate much more than I wanted to this weekend, and didn’t end up working out either day. Saturday I was supposed to go to Bikram with my girlfriends, but we got stuck at the nail place for much longer than planned so ran out of time to go. My goal for this week was to work out 5x, so since I did a double workout on Friday, I nailed two out right there. Last night I went on a run after work because the humidity wasn’t too bad, and I have finally almost finalized my training plan for the half marathon, which I will share once its done. That said, I really need to start stepping up the mileage. I have been doing a lot of walk/runs lately which I know works for a lot of people, but I really want to run for the whole half marathon. I put 5 miles on my schedule for yesterday, so even when the going got tough I kept saying “You can do this” over and over in my head, and I pushed through. The final stats:

Distance: 5.01 miles

Durating: 50:40

Calories: 587

Avg. Pace: 10:05

So apparently I’ve gotten a lot slower. I used to average under 10:00 miles without trying that hard, but yesterday when I was running I felt like I was pushing hard and I’d look down and be going at a pace above a 10:00 mile. I’m not really that focused on speed, but I want to get back under 10 minute miles. I think upping my mileage will help a lot with that so my body doesn’t have to work so hard and go so far out of my comfort zone for 5 miles.

Eats were pretty repetitive yesterday and today because we were planning for guests who cancelled last minute on Sunday night, so we ended up having twice as much food as we needed. This meant we had an extremely similar dinner last night to the one on Sunday:

I barely even ate the snapper because I’d had some leftover yesterday on top of the soba noodle salad for lunch, and snapper 3x in 24 hours is a bit much. The shrimp were awesome, and this time Wil grilled them rather than boiled them. I’m not sure which one I liked better because both were so good. We had this dinner with brown rice and swiss chard from the farm share, and also this delicious sauce that Wil made with nonfat greek yogurt, sweet chili sauce, and some olive oil mayo. It was sooo good I dipped as much as I could in there.

Breakfast today was whipped banana oats:

I made 1/2 cup rolled oats (2 pts) with 1 cup water, and then blended them in a food processor with 1/2 a large banana (1 pt). I topped the bowl with 2 tbsp carob chips (1 pt) which are just OK. I go back and forth on them. I originally bought them because 2 tbsp is 1 point, whereas 1 tbsp of most dark chocolate chips is 1 pt, and I like volume. They definitely do not taste like chocolate, but they are kind of good in a weird way. They really worked in this banana oatmeal though, and I love the consistency of blending it all together because it gets fluffy and the sweetness from the banana spread throughout the bowl.

Lunch was a small portion of leftover soba noodle salad:

Which has soba noodles, edamame, red peppers, mushrooms, scallions, peanuts, and black garlic vinaigrette. I’m guessing 4 points for this portion. I also had a massaged kale salad to bulk up the lunch:

I massaged 1 tsp garlic gold oil (1 pt) into the kale (0 pts), and added 1/4 a serving of raw tempeh (1 pt), some chopped baby carrots (0 pts) and 1 oz RF feta cheese (1 pt).

Lunch was a little pointy for me, 7 in total, but it sure was delicious. 🙂

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this yet on here, but I’m actually going to Minneapolis tomorrow for work through Saturday! I’m kind of excited about it because I’m staying right near the Mall of America and I’ve never been, but I still have a lot of work to do for my desk job so its adding another thing to my plate. This trip should be easier to stay on track because I’m the only one from my office going. I tend to do well on business travel when I’m by myself, but then once my coworkers/friends arrive, I go off track. This time, my goal is to try to work out twice while I’m there between Wednesday and Friday and stay totally on track with eating.

What is your approach to healthy living while traveling? What about your best tips for staying on track?

11 Responses

  1. Ooohhh… the Mall of America! I think I would either love that place more than anything or get seriously stressed out… lol

    I have no tips for healthy traveling. 😦 I kinda suck at it actually. Hopefully people can inform me!

  2. Hey Beth,

    All the food pictured looks delicious–especially that Soba Noodle Salad, yum! Thanks for the enouragement on my blog–I really appreciate the feedback 🙂 It’s tough admitting that you relapsed in public, but I’m so relieved that I was able to get back on track. Thank goodness for exercise 🙂

    As for your trip, my biggest suggestion would be to fit in some exercise. Exercise is the only thing that keeps me on track with my eating and helps me to stay focused. Good luck and have a great time!

  3. Hey Beth,

    Would you mind putting my blog on your blogroll?? I would really appreciate it…

  4. On vacation I eat whatever I want 🙂 In moderation of course.

  5. when travelling i like to stick to a lot of local things i cant get here. so lets say the place im at is all about squash.. i make a big squash soup.. or if its seafood.. i’ll make a nice healthy fish dish. that way i fill up and then its more of picking and sampeling all the other foods. makes it really fun that way.

    ive been much slower lately with exercise. but for me its the humidity.. even if it doesnt fel hot, the humidity bogs me down and im so lethargic!

    xoxo

  6. So… I’m pretty stinkin’ excited for your half marathon training schedule! I want to run one in 2011 haha, so I’m trying to plan ahead a bit 😀 But man, all of my runs recently have been slower, too. Even in an air conditioned gym – lame! So, it’s okay, it happens to the best of us!

    And tips for healthy traveling – go grocery shopping asap and stock the fridge with fresh fruit + veggies + a nice cereal, that way you can start the day of with a nice balanced bfast. And find a gym! Or look up a routine that you can do without equipment, go for a run in the AM, it’s another way to start each business trip day off in a great way.

    Take care!!

  7. Beth,

    Your food looks so yummy and healthy! Be happy about that!! If I am traveling for vacation, pointedly working out doesn’t happen much, but I will usually have pretty active vacations. If I am traveling for work, I make it a point to get up early and do my workout in the morning…I’m a morning person, so this usually works!

    ~Alyssa

  8. When I travel I try to sneak in as many workouts as possible. If the hotel has a gym I definitely try to use it, if not, I love exploring new places by going for a run. If I plan on running I usually ask the people at the front desk where they recommend me going so I know I’m running in a safe area.

  9. Everything looks so tasty.

    When travelling I m eating mainly fruits, nuts and salads. I mean you can’t be safe with anything else, since they put a lot of salt, sugar and artificial chemicals in most of the foods.

  10. A 10 minute mile is SUPER fast for me. It is all relative I guess!

    My idea about traveling is to stay as active as you can (and its usually not too difficult because you are walking around sightseeing or doing other activities like that). And then, enjoy some of the local best foods you can, and watch your portions same as you would at home!

  11. Yummmmmmy! I want those whipped oats! I’ve never had them before – time to whip out the food processor (:

Leave a Reply

