• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Time to Take My Own Advice…

Wow. Thank you all so much for your supportive and encouraging comments on yesterday’s post. I was blown away by all the comments and emails I received encouraging me and helping me to reshape my thinking and focus on the positives instead of the slip ups. I think it’s really important for me to pat myself on the back for realizing I was falling off the wagon and instead of staying off, working my butt off in the gym and getting back on track. To think I used to eat like that daily and not even think twice about it helps me realize why I used to be 250 pounds.

Also, I wanted to share an email I got from a reader, Corinne. She had emailed me initially back in May and said, “Hi Beth! I just found your blog and I believe you have given me the final “push” I needed to join weight watchers.  I have been on the fence for a while, and have been trying to decide if financially I can, but I think it will be worth it.  I’m moving to Pittsburgh in a week and plan on joining once I get settled in. Any/all advice you can share I would GREATLY appreciate it.  My mom has done it for a few years and she likes it, just warns me that it will be difficult…so I’m sorta…scared!”

My response to her explained how much I love Weight Watchers and think its the best program out there, plus gave her some tips that were key to my success, including planning ahead and making sure to change it up to keep things interesting. There was one thing that I read over in my response to her that really struck me. “And, give yourself a little wiggle room. You will inevitably mess up and have a bad day or bad week or bad meal, and the sooner you can get back on track, the better. Don’t beat yourself up if you slip up, because it will happen, just forgive yourself, move and, and get back on track as soon as you can.”

It couldn’t have come at a better time when she emailed me again this morning and said, “So I don’t know if you remember I stopped by your blog for the first time a little over a month ago and commented about WW.  Well, I’m finally settled in Pittsburgh and I FINALLY signed up last night.  Paid my dues and all 😉  I’m completely ready for the lifestyle change, just nervous about the first meeting. Thank you for all your inspiration, your suggestions and your passion for WW…after re-reading your email I got a while back I KNEW it was time.  Thank you so much!!  I know I’m not the only one who you have helped, but I’m SO ready to begin!”

That seriously made me SO happy, and forced me to re-read my own advice and realize that this journey will always have times when it feels easy coupled with times where I have to fight against myself to stay on track. So thank you Corinne, and good luck on your journey!!

So last night ended up being really fun. One of the things i enjoy the most about traveling for the conferences is getting to spend a little time on my own and just do whatever I feel like doing. After my workout and shower, I was pretty hungry but it was only 4pm so I decided to have a snack to hold off for a few hours until dinner. Luckily I had packed a few Luna bars with me, and dug into a Smores flavored one:

After making sure everything was good to go for the course today, I took the shuttle over to the Mall of America!

This mall is HUGE, as I’m sure you could venture to guess. There is a full sized indoor amusement park in the mall, in addition to an underwater aquarium, a mirrored maze, mini golf, tons of restaurants and even more stores.

I decided to just do a low key dinner in the food court and found a gyro place that had falafel, one of my favorites.

I got the falafel platter, which had rice, greek salad, falafel, pita, and tzatziki sauce.

It was delicious and really hit the spot. I ate everything on the plate minus a little bit of rice so that I was properly fueled for more shopping. 😉 I ended up getting 2 shirts that were originally $40, on sale for 19.95, and then 75% off, so only 4.99 each!! I love me a good deal, and the shirts are really cute, too! Before heading back to the hotel, I found a frozen yogurt place so got some plain tart nonfat yogurt with blueberries, strawberries, and mango on top.

This morning I had breakfast at the hotel with the local host for the course, Scott. They actually had some healthy options on the menu, so I got to get a healthy breakfast in to start the day off right.

I had an omelet made with eggbeaters that was stuffed with peppers and onions (no cheese), with wheat toast on the side. I also got a fruit cup instead of the homefries which they subbed out no problem.

I was hungry a few hours later, so I just had this huge banana and am now drinking the bottle of water for a snack:

It feels GOOD to be back on track!

Whats your favorite ride at an amusement park? I like spinny rides the most which I know is opposite of some people. My favorite one is where its in a circle and you stand against the wall and it starts spinning, and then the floor drops and you’re kind of stuck to the wall. I forget what its called!

9 Responses

  1. You have got to love hotels with decent breakfasts or restaurants. Sometimes they’re hard to find.

    I love rollercoasters that take you through a few decent loops… but I always say no to wooden rollercoasters… they’re too shaky!

  2. i have alwasy wanted to visit the mall of america. my best friend in high school was from florida and she moved to canada cuz her parents had to move here for work. she told me all about this mall and to actually see whats inside the theme park is crazy! i love roller costers.. wooden ones being my favorite!

    Beth, i love that you are strong enough in ur life to realize that falling off something doesnt mean ur doomed to fail or just give up! that is awesome to hear!! ❤ ❤

  3. btw i think the ride u love is called the “gravitron!” thats what we call it here hehe. makes me sick 😛

  4. How awesome to get an inspiring email and be able to pay it forward! You’re helping others but it also reminds you why you began your own journey as well.

  5. Wow Beth!
    That Mall of America looks unbelievable!
    I’m not much of a MALL person!
    Why do MALLS overwhelm me? ;o)
    I feel bad that I didn’t comment after reading your confessing post yesterday!
    Guess I was having one of those “don’t have time to comment…but can’t resist reading” kind of days!
    Just wanted to let you know how relieved I was to read that YOU have these kind of days too!
    It really did inspire me to JUST LIVE the HEALTHY life and move on when I slip up!
    What was MOST inspiring was that you capped off the slip-up with that FAB workout!!!!! Do you KNOW how few people would have NOT worked out after indulging on some comfort/fast foods!?
    Good for you!
    I’m SURE the workout balanced it all out!
    And isn’t that what it’s all about…BALANCE!!!!
    I can’t tell you what a great resource YOU are!
    ANd I thank you!
    Counting my points big time!
    In 7 weeks I fly to Alabama to see my family and I am pressed to lose what I need to lose to feel really GREAT in all my clothes!
    Headed to run/walk now!
    Thanks again Beth!
    You are a DAILY read for me!
    xo

  6. I’m glad you are feeling better today!

  7. Aww – I´m so proud of you, Beth!
    I knew you could do it 🙂
    Delicious and healthy eats, as always!
    CONGRATULATIONS, love!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  8. That falafel plate looks so good! I”ve never been to the Mall of America, but it sure looks fun!!

    Remember: It’s all about the balance, not about one day or week. Feel better!

    Jenn

  9. Congrats on the bargain shirts 🙂 I always love a good deal!

    Nothing like getting back to balance eats after a not so great day. I think you’re awesome for sharing your struggles and advice with all your readers. Quite inspirational!!

Leave a Reply

