• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Cornhole

Hello and Happy Friday though it doesn’t really feel like it for me. Whenever I travel midweek it always puts my mind in a haze and I can’t figure out what day it is or when the weekend really starts. I fly home tomorrow, and I have to say, I’m getting sad to go! It’s been really fun here.

Yesterday’s lunch was at the restaurant in the hotel and I had a really hard time finding something I could eat. There were literally no veggie options on the menu and one fish dish, but I was a little skeptical of ordering fish here, so I ordered a Turkey Wrap with no turkey and no bacon. It basically just had lettuce, corn, ranch, and cheese in it, and came with fries on the side.

The wrap was not that good to be honest – – it was greasy and just doused in way too much ranch. If I had had more time to think about it I might have asked them to make me a custom wrap with all the veggies they had and no dressing, but we were pressed for time, so I just went with it. I ended up eating the whole thing, and the fries were actually really delicious. You know with french fries, sometimes they can be good and sometimes they are just soggy and not the best, but these ones were crispy and delicious. While this definitely was not even close to healthy, I really had my hands tied with healthy options so I didn’t feel bad about it.

After the class was over, I went for a run outside with one of the instructors, and it was awesome! The stats:

Distance: 4.15 miles

Duration: 41:00 minutes

Pace: 9:52 min/mile

Calories: 490

It felt especially good to get a run in with someone else – I can’t tell you the last time I ran outside and had someone to come with me! It also felt great after that lunch to do something good for my body. 🙂

After the run, I headed back to the Mall of America with the course instructors and had an awesome meal at Twin City Grill. I was actually surprised how great everything was, seeing as the restaurant is in the mall, but it was awesome and I highly recommend dining there if you’re ever at MOA. I started with a mixed green salad:

I got oil and vinegar for dressing and just used the balsamic vinegar. It was delicious and nice to have croutons – I never have those!

For my main course, I ordered the Blacked Ahi Tuna that was served with Mango Salsa

And a baked sweet potato on the side:

It came with maple butter and pecans, but I just ate it as is without the toppings. This meal was delicious!! I was very impressed.

After dinner I got a really bad manicure at the only nail place in MOA (don’t go there) and then headed back to the hotel. I had a Captain and Diet out at the Backyard, the outdoor bar behind the hotel. I ran into a few people from the course and played cornhole for the first time ever!

It was SOOOOOOO fun. I can’t believe I’ve lived so long without cornhole!

I’m about to head to breakfast, and then tonight I have dinner plans with Jen from priorfatgirl.com and Lisa, The Broad Broad. I’m so excited to meet them both, and we’re going to this restaurant with local and sustainable food that Jen picked out. I cannot wait!

12 Responses

  1. Another thing we missed out on by having no football team: Cornhole. A classic at tailgating! I love how they have it at the bar!

  2. I still think cornhole sounds naughty… or maybe that’s just me? 😉

    I prefer the simple name “bags”. But yes, it is fun! Even if I’m horrible at it…

    • When I saw cornhole in the title I thought it was referencing Arrested Development (which would have been awesome!) But I forget bags is called ‘cornhole’ in other parts of the country. Either way, I freaking love that game!!

  3. I always have so much trouble with wraps. They look so tasty but they rarely taste worth it!

  4. i love that game! i always cringe before i call it cornhole even though that is the only name i know the game by. actually, i once heard it called bags….simple but perhaps better suited. ha. glad you were able to play!

    whenever i dine out and order a wrap or salad or anything w/ dressing i always get it on the side. i HATE anything soaked with dressing and 9 times out of 10 thats how its served. blech.

  5. hahaha yep i heard it referred to as “bags” by amy (above) hilarious!

  6. Cornhole does sound a bit naughty, but thats also what I’ve called it.

    We have a game called washers, which is is similar. The board has three holes and you try to get… well… washers into them for points.

    I love backyard games like these!

  7. Cornhole is fun! We used to play all the time in college!!

  8. We also play cornhole around here…must be a Midwest thing!

  9. amen, traveling always leaves me confused!

    i love cornhole! we haven’t played in miami, but did in KC all summer

  10. I have never seen this “cornhole” game in Canada…. but it does look fun. I guess we’re missing out!

  11. […] you’ve been following my blog for a while, you might remember the first time I ever played cornhole when I was traveling to Minneapolis for work. I wrote about the game and how amazingly fun it was, […]

Leave a Reply

