• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Minneapolis to DC

Hello and happy (or not) Sunday evening! The rest of my time in Minneapolis was so fun. Jen from Prior Fat Girl picked me up at my hotel once the course wrapped up and we headed to meet Lisa, The Broad Broad, for dinner at Good Earth. I was so happy when Jen emailed me the name of the place and I checked out the website – all local, sustainable food with tons of fish and veggie options – right up my alley!

This was my first blogger meet up out to dinner in a different city, so I was a little nervous as to how it would play out, but after the first 30 seconds on our car ride to the restaurant it felt like I had known Jen forever. I’ve been reading her blog for a while so it’s funny when you know whats going on in their life even though you don’t know know them. We had an awesome time with great conversation the whole time, and dinner was delicious! We split a bottle of Reisling and I ended up having about 2 glasses because the other two were driving, so I decided to take one for the team ;).

Then they brought out some house made bread and flatbread with hummus, which was a nice change from butter that normally comes with bread at restaurants.

The menu had SO many things on it that sounded incredible. Most of the time I’m drawn to a few things and my decision isn’t too hard, but this time, almost everything on the menu looked so good.

I ended up going with the Tilapia Tacos, and they were awesome.

Corn tortillas with sauteed tilapia, napa slaw, tomato, and avocado. Garnished with fresh lime, chipotle sour cream, cilantro, and queso fresco. Very very tasty. The queso fresco was soft and so fresh and was the highlight accoutrement to the tilapia, besides of course the avocado. Here we are outside the restaurant

Lisa, Me, and Jen.

So after that, we decided to venture out in search of dessert, and found a Chinese restaurant that has frozen yogurt. Neither Jen nor Lisa had ever had fro yo before (!!!) so when I spotted the sign on the way there I pointed it out to Jen and ever since she heard fro yo she knew she had to have it. Because it was in a restaurant, it was a small selection of toppings:

And raspberry or lemon frozen yogurt. I got a swirl of the two, topped with raspberries, strawberries, and chocolate chips. Jen wasted no time to enjoy hers:

Ha! We had sooo much fun it was sad when it came to an end but I had a very early wakeup call (5:45am) since my flight left early on Saturday…

I did much better with eating on the trip home than on the way there. I got an awesome bowl of oatmeal from a little shop in the Minneapolis airport:

It had bananas, apples, almonds, and golden raisins on top. Those were awesome toppings and such a nice combo of crunch, fruit, and sweetness.

I had two layovers again on the way home (ugh) but managed to not get anything at the second airport, and found a delicious veggie wrap right before the last leg of my trip.

The wrap itself was pretty huge, but had no cheese or anything, just veggies and hummus inside, so it was really tasty and healthy. It came with a mini poppyseed muffin as well as a tiny thing of pasta salad, both of which I ate.

It had lettuce, carrots, onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, and hummus, in a spinach wrap. It was actually really good, and the veggies tasted very fresh and crunchy. I did have the peanuts and cookies that they gave me on the Delta flight (no picture) but overall I felt much more in control than my trip there.

My boyfriend picked me up at the airport and after coming home for a bit, we went out for a quick Mexican meal at a local restaurant. They gave us some chips and salsa to start:

And then I got the veggie fajitas, which were AWESOME.

There was tomatoes, zucchini, yellow squash, onions, poblano peppers, spinach and corn on the platter, and it came with rice and beans. I always ask for no sour cream or cheese and extra pico de gallo if I get fajitas, so I had two flour tortillas loaded up with the veggies, some guacamole and lots of pico de gallo. They were soooo good and definitely my go-to dish at this place.

Today has just been a lazy back-to-reality day. We had brunch at a hotel and I got a veggie omelet with wheat toast and fruit instead of potatoes:

The omelet was actually loaded with tons of veggies, which always makes me happy because some diners don’t give you much to work with.

I cleaned my plate! 🙂

Before breakfast I did the Shred Level 2 – MAN is that hard. It’s so much harder than Level 1, and I’ve heard a lot of people say its even harder than Level 3, but I’ve yet to try Level 3. We ran around and did a bunch of errands (grocery shop, Target, pick up random things we need, the bike shop, etc) and are now about to sit down for dinner. I’ll be back tomorrow with a Sunday Night recap but it should be a good one.

How was your weekend?

21 Responses

  1. I love your dress! It looks fantastic. 🙂

  2. haha…love the picture of me devouring the frozen yogurt…who needs a spoon?

    I had so much fun on Friday night—can’t wait to do it again!

  3. Wow – what a weekend, huh?
    😀
    Looks like you´ve had a blast, girl!
    Loved all the eats and pics!
    That veggie sandwich did look amazing – and that bowl of oatmeal, delicious!
    Wish you an amazing week.
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela
    (P.S.: YAY for Fro-Yo!Hahahaha.)

  4. i love how a little shop served such an amazing bowl!! i mean seriously girl, thats some delicious oatmeal right there!

    but those tacos, my god, that looks tasty! everything here is extra tasty today!! the FROYO ❤ AHH YUM YUM YUM

    and who could resist omelets like that! love that theres a good amount of veggies stuffed in too, and a nice fruit bowl for good measure 😉

    A+ for yumminess!!

    xoxo ❤

  5. I actually prefer level 3 of the Shred myself:). I only did level 2 once so I don’t remember exactly why I didn’t like it as much… Also, at least for me, I burned more calories on level 3 than level 2, and since I liked level 3 better, it was an easy decision for which workout do more frequently!

  6. Awww… gotta love the blogger meetups! That’s why I couldn’t’ be more exicted about HLS… 🙂

  7. All those veggie dishes look so yummy! After seeing so much hummus in blog land , I’m so ready to add some homemade for sandwiches + salads. Yay hummus making!

  8. I think level 2 is the hardest of the 3!

    • I’ve heard that and though I haven’t tried Level 3 yet I’m sort of glad to hear it because it can’t get much harder!

  9. That is one GINORMOUS veggie wrap! My weekend was pretty packed with running, cooking, errands, baking – It felt more like work!

  10. EEEK I’m moving to Level 2 on “the shred” this Wednesday… I’m scared! My legs no longer feel like they’re going to fall off though, so I know I’m ready to move up. I have to say I was really skeptical of how much a DVD could do, but I’ve been religiously doing it for 7 days and my shorts are falling off!

    • I was actually excited for Level 2 because I hate the push-ups for 30 seconds straight in the first circuit of Level 1, so I figured Level 2 would be better since it wouldn’t have that. Instead, it has you do walk out pushups where you start from standing, walk your hands out, do a pushup, and then walk your hands back and stand back up. Eek!

  11. It was so much fun to meet you, fab lady! If I ever end up in D.C. – froyo date? Lol!

  12. The desert looked so good on a summer day!

  13. aw love the pics! the tilapia tacos look unbelievable and you are right just about everything (that i can see) on the menu looks delish!

Leave a Reply

