• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Battery Low

Hi! Today has been such a good day, especially for a Monday. Work flew by because I’m so busy from being out of the office for a few days, and I bought new tires for my bike yesterday so I couldn’t wait to be done with work so I could go for a long ride. I had an apple for a snack in the afternoon:

I made a smoothie when I got home and then put it in the freezer when I went on my ride so I was looking forward to it the whole time. As soon as I got outside, I turned my Garmin on and it said “Battery Low” and ended up shutting down not even 2 miles into the ride. Originally I thought I would go for a long ride but then when my Garmin was out of juice I wasn’t sure what to do but luckily there are mile markers on the trail, so I knew roughly how far I was going. I was pretty hungry towards the beginning of the ride, so I dove into these:

Which I do NOT like! During my 10 mile race in April, they had these on special at the Race Expo, so I bought 5 packs of them without trying them. They are too chewy and have a really weird aftertaste, so I am looking forward to being done with them so I can go back to my beloved Sports Beans.

I ended up pushing through and doing between 17 to 18 miles, and it took me 1 hour 28 minutes with one stop. I looked at the time on my Garmin when I left and it was 6:06, so as soon as I got in my front door I asked what time it was and it was 7:34, which is how I knew the time. I have no clue how many calories, but it was HARD. I hadn’t been on a long ride in ages, and for the first few miles I was having trouble adjusting to being back on the bike, but once I got the hang of it I remembered why I like biking so much. I bet I’m going to be sore tomorrow!

As soon as I got home, I sprinkled some granola on top of my frozen smoothie and dove right in:

In the mix:

  • 1 cup light soy milk (1 pt)
  • 2 handfuls spinach (0 pts)
  • 1 medium banana (1.5 pts)
  • 1/2 cup frozen cherries (.5 pts)
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries (1 pt)
  • 1/4 cup Hemp Granola from the Bulk Bins (1 pt)

It was SOOO good. If you’ve never tried freezing a smoothie before, DO IT. It tastes so good and almost like ice cream!

After my smoothie I made a piece of toast (1 pt) with some melted cheese curds (2 pts) from the Farmer’s Market and some Italian Herb Garlic Gold:

So delicious. I might have another snack before settling in to watch Last Comic Standing – my current favorite.

What are you watching lately that you love?

6 Responses

  1. Bummer about your Garmin dying – I hate when that happens! Good for you for staying out there though – 18 miles is nothing to sneeze at!

    I’m totally into Deadliest Catch right now – I somehow got hooked on this show a few seasons ago. This season is ultra sad (Captain Phil died) but I can’t take my eyes off of the TV – it reminds me of when my Dad passed away so it’s interesting to see how Phil’s son’s are dealing with it.

    I haven’t seen Last Comic Standing since it’s FIRST season!

  2. I ALWAYS freeze my smoothies! It makes them 3000x better!

  3. omg last comic standing has been my saving grace. i wait til tomorrow to watch in on the computer cuz i like to laugh while i enjoy my breakfast 😛

    helps me start my day off right! xoxo

  4. My friend has me hooked on true blood – don’t tell anyone!!

  5. Hey Beth,

    That bike ride sounds awesome! I’m a bit jealous because I didn’t get to work out at all yesterday ;(

    But I did go on my first run in years with my sister Sara when I was in DC!! We ran 1 mile and I was able to do it without stopping. I’m thinking about incorporating running into my exercise routine, but it’s soooo hot in Richmond these days.

  6. I’ve been watching “Rescue Me” and “In Plain Sight” on my Netflix. Good shows!

Leave a Reply

