• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Two for One

Sunday night dinner ended up being just as fabulous as I predicted. 🙂 We started off with a nice spread for appetizers because we didn’t eat anything since breakfast! Our platter had two types of hummus, scallion and roasted red pepper, plus goat cheese, cucumbers (fresh from our farm share!) and flatbreads:

We polished everything except a little bit of the goat cheese and some of the hummus. We had gone to Whole Foods during the day and I did some shopping for lunch and other random things I needed and Wil went in search of dinner. I love that he loves to cook because it makes my Sunday nights a lot easier and more delicious.

He found sockeye salmon, which is wild salmon that actually swims upstream, so its less fatty than Atlantic Salmon and really flavorful. He did a dry rub on the salmon with some different spices, which is a great way to get tons of flavor into anything you cook without having to think ahead and marinate it. Basically, you mix together the spices that you want to use, and you literally rub them onto your fish, chicken, steak, etc, and then when you cook it, the spices form a crust on the protein and lock in all the flavor. I requested no oil in the meal since I had been eating heavier than normal during my time in Minneapolis, so he just baked the fish, and it turned out incredible.

He served the salmon over a succotash with potatoes, yellow tomatoes, red onions, okra, and corn which he cooked in veggie stock. He also made a little peach chutney at the last minute because the spice mix was.. pretty spicy, so he wanted something sweet to help offset it. He just used a fresh peach from our farm share and some vinegar and sauteed it together until the peaches were soft.

It was incredible! I guess just because the veggies were all fresh and organic, but this succotash was to die for. He only used veggie stock to cook it, so it was super healthy, but very flavorful. And the salmon was also very flavorful and perfectly cooked so that it felt apart while I was eating it and basically melted in my mouth. So, so good.

Breakfast today was simple and quick.

A Siggi’s Blueberry (2 pts), a small banana (1.5 pts), and a small peach (.5 pts). I ended up mixing some Fiber One (0 pts) into the yogurt while I was eating it, but unfortunately the Siggi’s blueberry is just not my favorite. It’s a little tart and maybe just not sweet enough for me. I’ve heard good things about their Vanilla flavor, but have yet to try it/find it in the stores. I think I’ll be sticking with Greek yogurt going forward because that’s much more up my alley. The good thing about Siggi’s is it packs a ton of protein – 16g in that little container! This breakfast, though simple, kept me full for hours.

I only ate about 1/2 the salmon on my plate from last night because I had filled up on the hummus and goat cheese, and the piece of salmon was pretty huge.  It worked out great though because I just flaked the leftover salmon and mixed it into leftover succotash for lunch today. I ate it cold so it was sort of like a pasta salad and it was SO good.

There was about 1 cup of succotash (2 pts) and 3.5 oz of salmon (5 pts). I had a side of organic grapes (1pt) which were on sale at Whole Foods.

I love using leftovers to make lunch the next day so you get two meals out of one evening of cooking. There is still a ton of succotash leftover so I have to figure out some other ways to use it up – I’m thinking mixed into eggs, or just straight up because the flavors are so delicious.

In other news, my farm share this week had 4 heads of cabbage!!! I haven’t even begun to use it but I need to think of some different ways to use it so I don’t let it go bad. What is your favorite way to enjoy cabbage? Do you have any recipes I should try? Feel free to link to your recipe in the comments section!!

13 Responses

  1. Sauteed cabbage with olive oil, garlic, red pepper flakes, and Italian bread crumbs is awesome! I know you love Panko, so substitute that instead! 🙂

  2. i do a mexican style slaw with scallions, cilantro, tomato, lime juice, a little olive oil, cumin & cayenne. you could also try stuffed cabbage and stuff it with a veggie/rice mixture.

  3. Yikes, thats a lot of cabbage!

    I usually use cabbage in fish tacos, or any sort of mexican street taco.

    Or galumpkis, stuffed cabbage rolls. They are typically stuffed with beef, but you can easily make them vegetarian with brown rice, lentils etc. I don’t have a recipe offhand, but I’m sure you can google around.

    Thats about all I got for cabbage 🙂

  4. Four heads of cabbage?!?! What is that about? Is it humanly possible to consume that much before it starts to go bad? I’m a fan of it just lightly oiled and seasoned… but that’s me. Maybe add it to wraps for some texture? That could be good… Maybe I need to acquire some of my own… :p

  5. Im a huge hummus fan too!

    That’s a lot of cabbage! I’m making stuffed purple cabbage leaves for dinner tonight that I’ll be writing about later. I also make coleslaw, but that’s pretty traditional.

  6. cabbage will stay good in the fridge for a few weeks, I think, so don’t worry about using it all at once. I love sweet and sour red cabbage. It’s tangy and sweet and crunchy all at once. If you have leftovers, stuff them into mini puff pastry cups and sprinkle with bleu cheese for a great appetizer to feed a crowd!

  7. I made a nice Thai peanut slaw with my CSA cabbage a couple of weeks ago. The only change I’d make next time is to add a bit of spice, either hot sauce or chili flake would be good I think.

    Here’s the recipe: http://healthycooking.suite101.com/article.cfm/cabbage-and-cilantro-slaw-with-peanut-sauce

  8. Love goat cheese and hummus! I didn’t know succotash was a real food. lol

  9. I just had a giant wonderful piece of salmon for lunch. So healthy, so good. Amazing, basically. It’s a pretty bad ass fish! 🙂

    So jealous of your farm share, girlie. Have fun with all that cabbage — I have no clue what to use it for. Cole slaw? Soup?

  10. Doesn’t this look good? It makes me wish I had some cabbage!

    http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/07/mango-slaw-with-cashews-and-mint/

  11. So jealous of your eats! That salmon looks incredible. And goat cheese is my fave kind of cheese, yummmm. Especially with beets.

Leave a Reply

