• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Cabbage: Take One

How is it only Tuesday!? I woke up today and could barely believe we’re only into day two of the week… I have so much to do that it wouldn’t be possible to get it all done if it was Thursday, but still.

To help console myself, I made pancakes for breakfast. Not just any pancakes, but Chocolate Frosted Banana Pancakes.

I realize that frosting looks like it leaves something to be desired, but it was delicious, I promise. I had made these once before, but this time I put banana in the pancakes as well as in the frosting.

I love how the bananas caramelize in the pan and get all brown and gooey.

In the mix:

  • 2 tbsp pancake and waffle mix (1 pt)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 2 tbsp egg whites (0 pts)
  • 1 medium banana (1.5 pts), divided (1/2 in the pancakes, 1/2 in the frosting)
  • 1/2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder (0 pts)
  • 1/4 cup light soy milk (2 tbsp in the pancakes, 2 tbsp in the frosting)

These were awesome and the perfect thing to get me motivated to start my day.

Lunch was my first use of the 4 heads of cabbage (1/2 down, 3.5 heads to go) and it was quite a success!

I made a chopped cabbage salad which coincidentally is vegan as well.

The mix had:

  • 1.5 cups raw cabbage (0 pts)
  • 1/2 cucumber, deseeded and chopped (0 pts)
  • 1/2 small red onion, chopped (0 pts)
  • 1/2 mango, chopped (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup black beans (1 pt)
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar (0 pts)
  • 1 tsp olive oil (1 pt)
  • salt and pepper to taste (0 pts)

It was AWESOME. I honestly wasn’t too sure how it was going to turn out because I just kept randomly throwing things in there, but it worked perfectly. The textures and colors went so well together, and the vinegar was the perfect background flavor. I probably would have added cilantro if I had some, but overall, take one on the cabbage was a big success! With the salad, I also had some organic red grapes (1 pt).

So the whole lunch was only 4 points and super satisfying.

Whats your favorite produce right now? I have been loving peaches lately since I’ve been getting them in my farmshare for a few weeks, but grapes are always a favorite. I’m lucky I love fruit and veggies so its very easy for me to get lots of servings of them in every day.

6 Responses

  1. YUM! This loks fab…I may have to try this out. I have a cabbage to use up and had NO idea what to do with it!

  2. I am in love with peaches too. Peaches and bananas taste really good together!

  3. OH MY CHOCOLATE WONDERFUL ❤ ❤ ❤

    haha last night i ate 2 bags of grapes.. insane amount of sugar i know.. but i was addicted! lol

  4. I’m obsessed with cherries right now. They are just so good!

  5. what a great way to start a tuesday-pancakes and chocolate-YUM!

  6. You make me want to try cabbage! I can imagine it being super crunchy and fantastic in a huge salad, one juustt like yours actually! Beans in salad = perfect. My favorite right now are plums and nectarines. I get ’em at the local grocery store, so who knows if they’re farm fresh, but they’re organic and AMAZING so I’m sold 🙂 and your pancakes look so good! Aw I remember when I first saw your banana chocolate frosting for pancakes + gave it a try, it was incredible. Gracias!

Leave a Reply

