• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Ginormous

Happy Hump Day! We are over half way through.. keep on truckin’.

Today’s eats have been simple, but very on track (woohoo!).

Breakfast was a delicious bowl of hot oats, which I made with soy milk for the first time… ever?

In the mix:

– 1 cup light soy milk (1 pt)

– 1/2 cup rolled oats (2 pts)

On top:

– 1/4 cup HempPlus Granola <bulk bins at WF> (1 pt)

– 5 baby apricots, sliced (1 pt)

Vanilla Extract (0 pts)

This bowl was goood, but I honestly couldn’t tell very much of a difference in taste/creaminess from using the milk instead of water like Iย usuallyย do. I’ll probably stick with water just to save myself the points since it doesn’t sacrifice taste or fullness. I have another farm share coming tomorrow morning so trying to use up all the apricots – still have 5 teeny ones left! This granola is AWESOME. I need to go back and get more because I’m all out. For 1/2 cup, there are 130 calories, 4.5 grams of fat, and 3 grams of fiber, so 2 points. I’ve been using just 1/4 of a cup as a topping and it adds a really nice crunch/flavor and is really tasty.

I had the last of the organic grapes (1pt) from Whole Foods for a snack around 11:30

And lunch was a ginormous salad (I know that’s not a word, but it should be.)

On this plate:

– 2-3 cups baby spinach (0 pts)

roasted red peppers (0 pts)

– diced red onion (0 pts)

cucumber (0 pts)

– 1/2 cup chickpeas (1 pt)

– 1 oz RF Feta Cheese (1 pt)

With the salad, I had a serving (15!!!) of those crackers I got last night at Costco (2 pts)

These crackers are seriously amazing. Go to Costco and buy them. I tend to have trouble with bulk buying because I tend to eat more when I’m eating from a large bag. The huge package of crackers from Costco came separated into two bags inside the box, so I divided up one of the bags into single serving ziplock bags. That way I can just grab a bag and not be tempted to go back for more. I did however eat all of the broken crackers (those don’t count, right?) while I was separating them into servings.

On a completely unrelated note, I love looking at the stats page for my blog in the “Search Engine Terms” box because some of the things that people search for that lead them to my blog crack me up. Yesterday someone searched, “feel great without coffee” and today “yoga skinny before after”. My all time favorite one so far though is “hungover bikram.” DON’T DO IT! ha.

Anyways, later today we have a work party for someone who is leaving and there will be booze and food. I actually ran into them last night at Costco, so I know there will be some healthy options including shrimp cocktail and a veggie tray. My goal is to go to a 7:30pm Bikram class tonight, so I’m going to do my best to have no drinks and just stick with water while I’m at the party… we shall see how it goes.

What are you best tricks for staying healthy while at parties/gatherings with lots of food and drinks?

16 Responses

  1. My go-to strategy is to have a glass of water after each drink. That way I’m not downing them one after another & save some calories.

    I have NO strategy for avoiding the food though…I always end up eating too much!

  2. I can’t believe your Costco still carries Crunchmaster!! Ours stopped ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I just did a product review for them and have all the varieties on my blog :0) They also make a product called Mr. Krispers you might like! 35 crackers for 140 calories! Not sure how that converts to weight watchers points, but you would probably like them ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Alyssa

    • That was the first time I saw them and they are AMAZING. Thanks for sharing about the Mr. Krispers – I’ll have to check them out!

  3. eat before you leave and have a plan on eating lot’s of vegetables at the party.

    • The party is actually in my office, so I don’t have to go anywhere! But I think I’ll be able to stay on track if I don’t have any drinks… I’ll just keep repeating “Bikram” to myself. lol

  4. I always try to go to a party full even if it means snacking on something healthy on the way over. If I go to a party on an empty stomach I am prone to eat anything and everything. Sipping alcoholic drinks slowly also keeps from drinking too much too quickly. And as weird as it sounds… Talking to people! Conversing with people allows you less time for stuffing your face in the corner. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Drinking a lot of water! It keeps my mouth busy. Drinking alcohol slowly, substituting diet soda for alcohol if I’m starting to feel tipsy…finally, don’t stand at the buffet/snack table the entire party!

  6. I’ve switched from soda mixers to club soda. It’s helped cut out some of the sugar, if anything… Also, it slows me down (because I could always chug sprite and vodkas like crazy!). Then I do suggest a glass of water/straight club soda between alcoholic drinks…

    And yeah… stand away from the buffet! I prefer to be in the opposite corner of the room if possible. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I try to eat something before I go that way I not tempted. If you go hungry…disaster!

  8. i am surprised to hear that you didn’t think the soy milk made your oats creamier! i can no longer have oats with water for that reason alone, it totally lacks thickness, texture and flavor for me!

    i do EXACTLY what you are doing to help with work outings…i schedule something for afterwards to keep me in check ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, water, water, water, especially when drinking alch! good luck!

  9. i have a really hard time staying healthy at a party….i tend to over eat so i will get a bigger workout in before and eat less the next day. i know bad me!

  10. Like a lot of others have said – going in on an empty stomach = disaster, so I usually try to have a snack before the event. Once there, I do a lot of talking – and my best benefit? I’m a photographer. So the time spent behind my camera = time NOT spent chewing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I usually load up on veggies or offer to bring something healthy, so I know there is at least one thing I feel good about eating!

  12. If it’s not too late at night, you can promise yourself some awesome homemade ice cream or something after the party – that way you’ll have to hold yourself back from eating too much ’cause you won’t have room for your special treat one you get home! I did that last weekend at a baby shower. At a nice bfast before, then ate loads of the only good stuff there (watermelon) and a little of their food (homemade pasta) but kept reminding myself of the awesome meal that awaited me at home (veggie spring rolls + homemade peanut sauce!)

    Fabulous. haha ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. i really need to make a ginormous salad soon! Beth you always make them so scrumptious!!!!

    liking that uve been buying ur granola in the bulk section. ive seen the nature’s path ones at mine so i think im going to take advantage of that tip- since i hate having a whole box anyways, and i love the option of variety!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

