• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Office Party Recap

Hey! Happy Thursday slash almost Friday to ya. I am so happy we’re in the latter part of this week because I have NO PLANS for this weekend. Well, that’s not true. I have a 5k at 8pm on Saturday night that I’m looking forward to, but no plans to travel – – just staying put! I love weekends like that. πŸ™‚

Yesterday the party was fuuun. We held it in our conference room yesterday afternoon and had a nice little spread of appetizers:

Chips and 6 Layer Dip, Shrimp Cocktail, and a Veggie Tray. In case you didn’t see the last two well:

4 whole pounds of Shrimp Cocktail

A veggie tray (from Costco!) with ranch dip. After the party I looked and realized it was Low-Fat Peppercorn Ranch dip which made me feel better about having eaten a lot of it.

We also had an ice cream cake:

Here’s a picture of a few of my coworkers:

Jeremy, Ryan, and Jackie.

Kara, me and Emily.

In terms of staying on track, I did OK at the party with eating/drinking. I didn’t have any beer or wine, and stuck with this:

(It helps when you appoint yourself to be the one to pick up the non alcoholic beverages!)

I also ate mostly veggies and the shrimp, but I ate wayyyyyy too much. I did have some chips and dip as well, but I just kept piling on more veggies and more shrimp, and I left feeling really really full and bloated. The pros were that I didn’t have any alcohol or birthday cake, and focused on eating more shrimp/veggies than chips and dip, but if I had just had a few less shrimp, I would have left the party with an A. Instead I got a B. πŸ˜‰

I made it to a 7:30pm Bikram class last night with my friend Amber, and it felt really good to sweat! I am definitely feeling a bit sore today, but I really enjoyed the class last night and am finding going once a week is working well for now. I made myself a smoothie before going to Bikram and left it in the freezer for 3 hours. Having a smoothie in the freezer to look forward to post workout is new for me, but seriously amazing. It gives me motivation to get through my workout and its the perfect post workout treat!

This smoothie had 1 cup light soy milk (1 pt) + 1 medium frozen banana (1.5 pts) + 4 frozen strawberries (.5 pts) + 2 big handfuls of spinach (0 pts). I ate it up after Bikram and it was perfect. Normally I would have had something else to eat but I had so much food at the party that I wasn’t even hungry after the smoothie and slept like a baby afterwards.

Breakfast this morning was quick and delicious. I took 1 cup of leftover succotash from Sunday night (last day to eat it!) and heated it up in a pan, and then added 1/2 cup egg whites and made a scramble. I put a few slices of basil on top for garnish/fresh flavor, plus a piece of whole wheat toast.

Succotash (2 pts) + Egg Whites (1 pt) + Whole Wheat Toast (1 pt) = 4 pts total.

What did you have for breakfast today?

9 Responses

  1. I had oatmeal! Surprised? Nope… :p

    Holy shrimp! That’s so much food! I really like shrimp actually, but I”m picky in how it’s prepared. Of course I would prefer it to be battered or something… ha ha

  2. I had Barbara’s Puffins cereal with ff milk, blueberries and blackberries.

    That shrimp looks delicious!! I have to stay away from dips as I have a tendency to eat the whole thing!

  3. I wouldn’t worry too much about shrimp and veggies – it could be way worse. Maybe a B+ instead of a B? πŸ˜‰
    I know what you mean about travel. I’ve been gone so much this summer and this weekend is the first time in ages I have no plans, and I cannot friggin’ wait.
    I had overnight oats with blueberries and granola for breakfast.

  4. the cake looks great!

  5. and now i have a craving for shrimp. def. keep your focus on the fact you ate shrimp and veggies and not alch. and bday cake!

    breakfast was oatmeal with blackberries, almond milk and roasted flax seeds! i even had it hot, NO more humid heatwave πŸ™‚

  6. I love shrimp, man that looks good! Pretty good spread for an office party.

  7. I LOVE veggie trays at parties. I could eat an entire veggie tray on my own. πŸ™‚

  8. I have worked from home for the last couple years and the one thing I miss the most are those office parties. Argh! What I’d give for a potluck lunch!

  9. You did great the office party!! I’m proud of you, I would taken a dive straight for the cake!

    Also, was it icecream cake from Costco too? I didn’t know they made icecream cake!

Leave a Reply

