• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Roasted Red Pepper and Chickpea Burgers

Oh man do I have a good recipe to share! My salad from yesterday’s lunch was so tasty, so I wanted to make something to go along with those ingredients. I got to thinking and realized I hadn’t made veggie burgers in ages, so I decided to whip some up and these turned out incredible. You can see my recipes for Easy Homemade Veggie Burgers and Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers, but these may be the best ones yet.

Ingredients (for 2 burgers – 2 WW Points each)

  • 1/2 cup canned chickpeas, drained and dried off (1 pt)
  • 1 roasted red pepper, pressed in a paper towel or cheesecloth to remove moisture
  • Handful of spinach
  • 4 basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (2 pts)
  • 1 tbsp grated parmesan cheese (1 pt)

Directions:

1.) Combine chickpeas, roasted red pepper, spinach, and basil in a food processor:

2.) Pulse until well mixed and tranfer to a bowl.

3.) Add oats and parmesan to the bowl and combine all ingredients by hand

4.) Form into patties

5.) Cook as desired. If I was home I would have cooked them in a pan to get the outside crispy, but since I’m at my office I baked them in the toasted until heated through and they were awesome! You could also microwave them or bake them but pan searing is probably the best.

I ate both of the burgers for lunch (4 pts) open faced on a toasted light english muffin (1 pt). I also had cucumber on the side (0 pts) but it was on its way out and parts of it were soft. ick!

This is a recipe I will definitely be making again, and you can totally switch up the ingredients based on what you have. I was thinking about mixing feta into the burgers too which could be awesome… play with the recipe and let me know what you come up with!

Today was also CSA day. I went before work to pick it up and here’s the loot:

In today’s box:

  • 5 peaches
  • 6 donut peaches (!!!)
  • apricots
  • 2 zucchini
  • 3 yellow squash
  • 5 ears of corn
  • Lemon Basil plant

I was so excited to see donut peaches in the box this week! Remember when I went to the Asian mart two weeks ago and took a picture of these because I’d never seen them before? Well now I have some to try! So excited.

That’s the donut peach on the left and a regular peach on the right. The donut peach is basically a smushed regular peach but I’m not sure if they taste any different or are any different texturally than regular peaches.. I will let you know!

Have you tried any new-to-you produce recently?

29 Responses

  1. Beth, those burgers look delicious. Note to self: must buy a food processor. Speaking of appliances, did you pick up a new blender yet?

    On other news, I lost 1.8 today, bringing me to my goal of getting into Onederland!! I’m so excited!

  2. Hey – this is my first time visiting your site, gotta say those burgers look delish! I love a good veggie burger. 🙂

  3. Done and done. I will be making this recipe.

  4. Hey,
    yep those burgers do look good and I was just thinking about trying to make my own veggie burgers some time soon.
    new produce I’ve tried since reading all y’alls blogs I’ve started trying lots of new stuff. Like the donut peaches (which I had seen in the store before you mentioned them and stole one from a friend 😉 they are actually called “mountain peaches” in Germany (if you translate them). i’ve also tried sugar snap peas today and I’ve bought a sweet potatoe but so far don’t know what to do with it.

    • Sweet potatoes are one of my favorites! They are really good just baked plain, or roasted, or sliced up into oven baked sweet potato fries!

  5. Those donut peaches look so adorable! And the burgers look great, I’ll have to give them a try!

    How long have you had your CSA membership? I’ve thought about getting one.

  6. Donut peach! How cute! I’m dying to join a CSA. They are EXPENSIVE around these parts.

  7. Hi,

    I have tried the donut peaches before. They are sooooo delicious!!! I think they’re better than a lot of regular peaches. Enjoy.

  8. Oh I love veggie burgers and those look delicious! Thanks!

    I have never had donut peaches before so let us know what you think.

    I have a few peaches at home that are at the perfect ripeness and I forgot to grab one and bring it today for my snack. There better be one left when I get home! I’ve been thinking about it since lunch time and am seriously craving one right now.

  9. Those are great looking veggie burgers! I haven’t ever made them but you made it look so easy. I’m bookmarking your site for future use.

  10. That looks delicious! Did it stay together well? Sometimes those patties fall apart…

    • They actually stayed together perfectly. I think you have to assess the level of moisture to make sure they don’t fall apart and draining out the peppers with a paper towel was essential for that. You can add a little bit more oats if it feels too wet but the 1/2 cup worked perfect on these!

  11. Those look like the most beautiful veggie burgers I have ever seen! So much color! They beat my brown-looking buddies 100% on the looks. Thanks for the recipe, I’m definitely printing that one out. 🙂

  12. these are absolutely fabulous!! omg and i have a whoel can of chickpeas and a bunch of oats. i think i know what burger im gonna be making! thank you so much for posting the recipe!

    xoxo ❤

  13. I’ve been mooching off of my coworkers CSAs all spring and summer…

  14. I am a part of a CSA, and the thing that was new to me recently was Kohlrabi (spelling?). It was interesting. I looked up recipes and found one for a curry, but i ended up just eating it raw in salads.

    Love the blog by the way! Long time reader, first time to comment.

  15. What a great Idea! I made a vegan version and I used Sun-dried tomatoes instead of roasted red pepper. I love how this simple recipe can be made into many differrent flavors!

  16. […] an extremely busy day at work and it got away from me! For lunch yesterday I had brought another Roasted Red Pepper and Chickpea Burger, but in my hustle out the door in the morning I forgot a bun or bread of any sort. I realized there […]

  17. […] going to get good!  I made roasted red pepper and chickpea burgers (what?! yes!!)  I saw these burgers posted a while back on Beth’s Journey to Thin and knew it would only be a short time until I […]

  18. Hi Beth,

    What kind of food processor do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

