• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Sporty Spice

Hi! Happy Friday. I’m so glad you guys liked yesterday’s Roasted Red Pepper and Chickpea Burgers – they are SO good. Let me know if you try them and what you think!

Last night I decided it would be a good idea to run home from work. I snacked on a banana before leaving:

And then got geared up in my running clothes, Garmin, and Camelbak. As I was walking back to my desk, one of coworkers said “Hey there, Sporty Spice!” and it cracked me up. I guess it’s not normal to walk around your office with a CamelBak on… 🙂

I ended up setting out for the run but it was SOOOO hot. I was basically choking on the air during the run and was very happy with my decision to put ice in the CamelBak. I ended up going 4.8 miles total, but walked .4 of them. I took 4 tenth-of a mile walking breaks, first after 2.5 miles, then after .5 and .5, and then the walking intervals got a bit more frequent. I was just happy when I made it home! Stats:

Distance: 4.79 miles

Duration: 51:22

Pace: 10:43 mi/mile (walking breaks included)

Calories Burned: 542

Whew I need this heat wave to pass! Tomorrow is going to have a heat index of 110º (!!!) and i am supposed to run a 5k tomorrow night. Even at 8pm, it says it will still feel like 101º so I’m going to play that one by ear…

After my run and much needed shower, I wanted to make a quick little something to replenish myself, so I made a fried egg (2 pts) with a babybell light cheese (1 pt) on a light english muffin (1 pt) with some garlic gold (0 pts).

After eating the egg, I put together a platter of stuff to munch on because we had some friends coming over.

  • Pickles
  • Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
  • Scallion Hummus
  • Two types of crackers
  • Sliced Yellow Squash

Amber and Mike brought over some spiced shrimp cocktail, and then some cheese, but I didn’t take pictures. Sometimes it’s nice to just put the camera away and enjoy yourself! I ended up having 1.5 glasses of wine and munching on some shrimp and hummus and crackers. I felt really good because I didn’t overeat at all which is a pretty regular thing for me when there’s a platter out in front. It’s nice when you’re the host though because you can control what goes out and make sure there are healthy options available.

This morning I had a quick breakfast since I didn’t have time to throw anything together last night:

Two small peaches (1 pt), a toasted light english muffin (1 pt), and a Stonyfield Organic Low-Fat Blueberry Yogurt (2 pts). Simple but delicious and filling!

I’ve been craving a tuna pasta salad for a while now, so today was finally the day. I cut up an entire yellow squash from my CSA and microwaved it for 1 minute with a little water in the bottom of the container.

Then I added in a handful of spinach and threw it back in the microwave for 30 seconds.

Then I added 1 cup of cooked whole wheat pasta (1 pt), 1 can of chunk light tuna in water (2 pts), and 1 tbsp of olive oil mayo (1 pt).

Mixed it all together and it was AWESOME. I chilled it in the fridge for a few hours and it ended up making this:

x2. 6 points in total and really filling. I love making healthier versions of things I’m craving because pasta/tuna salad can be very unhealthy if it’s loaded with mayo, albeit delicious. 🙂

Best news of the day? It’s FRIDAY!! Only a few hours left until the weekend. What do you have planned? I’m just staying put but couldn’t be more excited about it. The heat index is supposed to be through the roof today and tomorrow so I might try to stay indoors as much as possible though my pasty legs could definitely use a little sun…

13 Responses

  1. It seems like a lot of area bloggers are doing that race…I was thinking about it but it’s going to be SO hot! Good luck if you decide to brave the heat!
    p.s. Can’t wait for Chicago! 😀

    • Oh really! Who else is doing it?? I think I’m going to do it either way but I may walk/run it if its too hot so I don’t risk death. 😛

  2. Ugh – running in the heat is the pits! But I look at it as making me stronger for when the weather cools down. After all, if we can breath in soupy hot air, the cool dry air will be a breeze!

    Hope you have a great run (or walk) tomorrow!

  3. sporty spice! aww thats cute.

    good luck tomorrow, make SURE to wear your camelbak!!!

    that tuna pasta salad looks SO easy and so yummy! dinner next week for me for SURE. i always forget about tuna! ha.

  4. great run considering it is so hot out! love the sporty spice 🙂 gonna do a bootcamp this weekend and have some wine!

  5. I just went back and saw those chickpea burgers from yesterday…holy yum! Those look and sound fantastic! Gotta try…asap! Thanks!!

  6. Beautiful tuna salad! You actually made me want to eat some again 🙂 And I hope the heat calms down a bit so you can have a nice run + actually enjoy it. I’d send you some Seattle rain but it hasn’t come out for a while, we gots mucho sun, but it’s bearable.

    PS: bought Stonyfield yogurt today and I happily blame all you bloggers!!

    Happy Friday!

  7. geez that tuna looks incredible. sometimes i dont crave it and then sometimes it just HITS!! im pretty sure im going to try those burgers, i’ll let u know if it do!

    xoxo ❤
    enjoy ur weekend love!!

  8. Sporty spice is so funny! I’m making those burgers this week. I’ll let you know when I do. 🙂

  9. Where do you get scallion hummus from?! That sounds delightful!

Leave a Reply

