• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Crystal City Twilighter 5k Recap

Hiya and happy Saturday!! I am so relieved to be sitting on my couch right now, but let’s rewind a little…

Yesterday afternoon was so hot (but not as hot as today!) so I went to Starbucks and got myself a little treat.

A caramel frappe light. It tasted so perfect in the heat and was the perfect Friday afternoon treat. After work I ended up going to Gazuza with my friend Lianne to get some drinks and some food. We ended up eating pretty light, and got a combo veggie roll and a seaweed salad to share:

The combo veggie roll was AWESOME. It had cucumber, avocado, and mango in it! And then seaweed salad is one of my favorites and this was delish. We also got an order of edamame to munch on:

Two glasses of wine and one mojito later, it was time to go home and to bed! This morning I woke up and could not believe how hot it already was outside at 9am! There were tons of people at the pool but I honestly didn’t want to even go outside because the heat was intense… plus I had a 5k tonight and wanted to run in it if possible, so I knew staying out of the heat during the day was in my best interest.

We ran out to the grocery store in the morning to stock up because Wil’s daughter Charlotte and her sister Nora were coming today to spend the weekend with us, so we had to pick up a few things. When we got home from the store I had a little snack while Wil cooked us lunch:

Two small pieces of cheese leftover from Thursday night and 1/2 a serving of those crackers from Costco. Wil ended up whipping up a rustic fish and veggie soup for lunch.

It had some mahi mahi, salmon, and shrimp, all leftovers that we froze from different times making dinner. Plus there was corn, zucchini, and yellow squash from our farmshare, and carrots, onions, and basil. And a piece of wheat toast sliced up for dipping. The soup was delicious, especially after I added some sriracha, but maybe wasn’t the best idea for a hot day like today (don’t tell him I said that ;)).

A few hours later I had a bowl of cereal with a sliced banana:

This was Barbara’s Puffins, Cascadian Farms Cinamon Crunch, light soy milk, plus a large banana. I didn’t measure the cereal, but figured I was gearing up for a race so I deserved it. πŸ™‚

I kept trying to talk myself into thinking the race was a good idea all day despite the heat. Nora and Charlotte were really excited to come watch, which made me feel a lot more into the idea, so around 7:30 I got dressed and headed down to the race area.

Charlotte, Me, and Nora.

I was shocked with how many people there were running the race! Can you spot me?

They did and came down to get a closer look of me behind the start line.

I was so glad to have my CamelBak (with ice!!) and my ipod. Once I started running I couldn’t even believe how hot it was. I was sweating even before I started running, so I told myself to just keep running no matter what and that I could go however slow I wanted. I wore my Garmin and the final stats were:

Distance: 3.2 miles

Duration: 31:07 miles

Avg. Pace: 9:43 min/mile

Calories: 384

My first mile was a 9:00min pace, then 9:39, then 10:34. I saw Wil, Nora, and Charlotte towards the 3 mile mark which gave me the final pep to sprint the last tenth of a mile, which was at a 9:27 minute pace. I’ll update my final time once I get the official race time, but it was tough. I could not tell you how happy I was to cross the finish line!!

9 Responses

  1. Woo Hoo! Great job running in the heat!

  2. Congrats on the race! The heat makes everything 5000 times harder!

  3. Way to go Beth! Glad to hear the race was fun – it always makes it much easier when you have a cheering squad there with you!

  4. Wow I’m so impressed, first of all for being in the race in the first place, and second of all for doing it in that heat! I know how hideous it is to run in the heat – I would do it in 45 degree weather when I lived in Saudi Arabia and I nearly died every time πŸ˜‰

  5. Congratulations on that 5k, girl! You’re amazing for being able to run it in all that heat, and I totally agree that cereal shouldn’t be measured when gearing up for a race, you so deserve a hefty amount of them whole grains πŸ™‚

  6. I can’t even imagine running in this heat. Nicely done, and very smart to have the camelbak. I love sushi and edamame!!

Leave a Reply

