• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Savory Oats

Morning and happy Monday! It is a lovely day in DC – – sooo much milder than it was this weekend.  I woke up early this morning to go for a run because the weather prediction said it was going to be mid 70s and sunny this morning, aka perfect for a run. As much as I loved running a 5k Saturday in the hottest day of the year, I prefer the weather from this morning…

Stats:

Distance: 3.0 miles

Duration: 28:25 min

Avg. Pace: 9:28 min/mile

Avg. Speed: 6.3 mph

Total Calories: 348

If you notice, this run was a lot faster than I’ve been running lately, which made me so happy! I honestly think the heat has been slowing me down majorly, and while intuitively that makes sense, I was starting to lose a little faith in that when time after time I was getting over 10:00 min/miles. Now, don’t get me wrong – 10:00 min/miles is not a bad thing at all for me or for many people. But when I first started running I was going faster than that, so it was just putting me off a bit to be slower than when I first started a year and half ago.

Rewind a bit – – yesterday was a nice, relaxing day. Charlotte and Nora were with us all day, so we went bowling as our big outing for the day. It was another scorcher out, so we wanted to avoid spending too much time outdoors but did want to get out of the house. Bowling was the perfect medium. I ended up doing really poorly at bowling – aka 59 the first time and 76 the second time, but still had a good time. We went out to Mexican and I got veggie fajitas after bowling:

While the meal that I ordered was healthy, I ended up totally overdoing it to the point of feeling sick to my stomach. I had way too many chips and salsa, plus queso that the girls ordered. Then I ended up having.. 4 flour tortillas!! I never have that many – I don’t know what got into me. But when we walked out, my stomach was hurting so bad. I ended up just having a green smoothie for dinner while everyone else had Caesar salad with chicken because my stomach was feeling so off still.

Both yesterday and today, I had savory oats for breakfast. I always think of oats on the sweeter side and usually have them with fruit, cereal, nut butter, or other sweet/dessert-y toppings. But yesterday, I got a hankering for Savory Oats, so I made oats with green onions and salt, then put a fried egg on top and a veggie sausage. This morning after my run, I was craving something very similar, so I just went with it. I sauteed an onion in a pan while cooking the rolled oats in water.

Once the onions were soft I added them into the cooking oats

While those were finishing up, I poached an egg in a pan of boiling water and vinegar, and put it on top of the finished oats.

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know by now that I looooove poached eggs. Cracking the runny yolk onto whatever I’m eating with the egg is therapeutic in some way for me.

So delicious. The whole bowl was 1/2 cup rolled oats (2 pts) cooked in 1 cup water, with 1/2 cup onions (0 pts), salt, and 1 egg (2 pts) for 4 points total. This hit the spot big time and has left me very full and satisfied.

Have you ever had savory oats before or do you keep them fruity/sweet like I normally do? What are you favorite toppings for either savory or fruity? I love getting new ideas for things like this!

14 Responses

  1. I love poached eggs too and your breakfast looks delicious! Congrats on running the 5K yesterday–that takes a heck of a lot of strength to run in 100 degree heat. Glad that you had a great run this morning. Yeah, it’s a bit cooler in Richmond this morning as well. Happy Monday!

  2. Congrats on your faster run this morning and what a nice, satisfying breakfast you had afterwards!

    Where did you go to Mexican yesterday? Your fajitas looked delicious!

    • I went to Don Pablo’s in Alexandria in the Target plaza. They have THE BEST veggie fajitas! I was kind of shocked to be honest when i first ordered them because there were tons of veggies, and they taste so fresh.

  3. I’ve never thought to make Oats with things other than fruits/sweet things. I know my mom used to LOVE oatmeal with bacon and butter. Blech.

    Oh and BTW, I totally forgot to tell you I got the KIND bars in the mail and they were so good. I loved the almond and coconut one. Delish!

    • Oh great I’m so glad you got them/loved them!!

      I always forget about savory oats but oats are a great palette for whatever you’re craving.

  4. I haven’t had savory oats, but that looks pretty delicious to me! I usually have PB and banana in mine.

    I also ran the Twilighter on Saturday. I was really impressed by all the water stations (the first year they only had one and it was at mile 1… I was dying!), although it wasn’t as refreshing as I thought it would be when they threw very warm water on me! It was too humid for any of it to evaporate, so I just ended up with a heavy shirt and soaking wet!

    • I couldn’t believe how many people came out for it – I think almost 2,000. I was on the verge of not running it but it was right in my backyard so I couldn’t justify not doing it when I had already paid!

  5. I have NEVER even began to think of doing oats that way!!! Im going to try it in the am!! Great idea!

  6. I have never done oats THAT savory before… I think the onion may intimidate me? It’s a great idea, though! The most “savory” I got was by using sunflower seed butter and adding sunflower seeds… not quite up to your speed!

    • Yesterday I used green onions which is a bit more timid but I had none left today so I just went all out! It was actually totally delicious though I can see where it’s a bit intimidating for some.

  7. great run girl! those savory oats look fab i will try the idea of the egg on top for sure-yummy!

  8. I love savory oats. I’ve made them several times and always add a dash of nutritional yeast in there. Mmm…

Leave a Reply

