• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Serial Snacker

Another gorgeous day… this is incredible after the over-the-top heat from last week/the weekend.

Yesterday was a really snacky day after lunch. It’s funny because having the blog and documenting my food helps me notice trends in my eating bigtime. And then trend from yesterday was snacks.

“Dessert” was frozen grapes.

Ever tried these? You just rinse and freeze the grapes overnight and they are one of the best snacks ever because they taste likeย sherbet, take a while to eat, and are only 1 point for a cup and very nutritious! ๐Ÿ™‚ Later I had an unpictured banana, and then when I got home from work I had two Wasa Crackers (1 pt) with a babybell cheese (1 pt).

I ended up going out for a nice bike ride after my snack. It was such a beautiful day out and though I had run in the morning, it was just a quick run (3 miles), plus I had nothing else to do! Stats:

Distance: 10.23 miles

Duration: 46:14 min

Avg. Speed: 13.3 mph

Avg. Pace: 4:31 min/mile

Calories: 535

Amazing ride in the perfect weather, plus I had thrown together a smoothie before the ride so was fantasizing about it the whole way and dove into it immediately when I got home.

In the mix:

  • 1 cup light soy milk (1 pt)
  • 1 medium frozen banana (1.5 pts)
  • two handfuls of spinach (0 pts)
  • 1/2 tsp cocoa powder (0 pts)
  • vanilla extract (0 pts)
  • few ice cubes (0 pts)

I topped it with a packet of barney butter (90 calories – 2 pts) and it was soooooo good. I ate it out on my balcony to enjoy the beautiful night a bit more.

A few hours later I made a small quesadilla with 2 corn tortillas (2 pts), RF shredded mozzarella cheese (1 pt) and garlic gold (0 pts).

And then a baby bowl of cereal with 1/2 cub fiber one (0 pts), 3/4 cup Puffins (1 pt) and ~1 cup of light soy milk (1 pt).

And then I felt satisfied so I went to bed.

Lesson learned? Eat a bigger snack in the afternoon and a meal at night. Should be intuitive, but everyone works at their own pace, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

This morning breakfast was simple because I was feeling lazy in the cooking department.

Stonyfield Organic Blueberry Yogurt (2 pts) with 1/4 cup rolled oats (1 pt) ย and a pink lady apple (1 pt).

Are you a snacker or more into eating larger meals? What are some of your favorite snacks?

14 Responses

  1. It depends on the day. I love to snack, but every now and then I forget to eat those snacks and love a nice big meal. My fave snack is definitely string cheese. So yummy!

    Frozen grapes…the most perfect dessert!

  2. Hey Beth,

    Wow, I like all your snacks. But the difference between you and me is that I would have wanted a meal AFTER all the snacks, haha. I typically like to structure my eating around meals because I have a tendency of overdoing it on processed/ junk food when I snack. Prior to WW, I used to spend whole evenings just munching on snacks and I would consume whole boxes of crackers/ cookies/ chips in a single sitting! So, focusing on meals helps me to stay on track.

  3. I prefer eating in larger meals. I think it’s the mentality I grew up with, so snacking through the entire day never makes me feel mentally satisfied…

  4. I definitely snack more in the summer. I just want light, easy meals. Fruit is definitely my favorite snacky snack.

  5. You just reminded me that I have a ton of frozen grapes in the freezer right now- will make for an excellent snack.

    I am such a snacker!! In fact, I recently decided to just eat really small meals/snacks pretty much all day. I am the worst in the afternoon so now I’ll have a small-ish lunch and usually 2-3 snacks in the afternoon so that I am not eating candy all afternoon.

  6. Frozen grapes are a great summertime snack!

  7. I love to snack, but am working hard to get better at not only counting and tracking all of my snacks (even those unplanned ones), but picking more substantial ones that keep me feeling full.

    My favorite snack is probably toast with peanut or almond butter on it!

  8. glad the weather has become more comfortable. love your bike ride ๐Ÿ™‚ i have to try that trick with the grapes-sounds refreshing! i tend to snack if i am not careful. like you i am trying to lose a few pounds and i have to occupy myself so i don’t eat all the time!

  9. I’d rather snack all day and eat large meals…but that doesn’t work to well haha.

  10. I would like to eat 3 big meals AND snacks, can’t I have both? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I do eat 3 decent sized meals and 2 smaller snacks, just enough to keep satisfied for a few more hours. I like nuts/fruit or a small bowl of oatmeal/fruit for snacks. I also really like larabars or luna bars for snacks.

    I love frozen grapes though, and frozen cherries are also delicious!

  11. i love serial snackage!! of course i do ๐Ÿ˜‰ i should right? .. sometimes im a 3 meal girl but grazing feels more comfortable, easy and fun!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xoxo โค

  12. Aww I love snacky days! Seems like the best foods are the ones that fall into the snack category. I froze grapes once, tasted good but I just love the crisp, cold pop that you get from the fresh guys ๐Ÿ™‚ And that green fella in a bowl looks SO good! Love snacking on pretty much anything: bananas n almond butter, homemade slices of bread with almond butter and chia seeds, cereals w. milk n cinnamon, more chias, mini green monsters. Ah, heaven.

  13. I’m a total snacker and a half! It’s mostly when I am in the house because I don’t need to fuel for long hours away. I like too much and want a taste of everything ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. I am not really a “snacker” because they totalllly screw up my portion control and never leaves me feeling sastisfied. When I do snack it is on fruit or yogurt. Frozen grapes are AMAZING! ๐Ÿ™‚ perfect summer treat.

Leave a Reply

