• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Whole Foods and OIAJ!

Happy Hump Day! Sorry I didn’t come back yesterday… I had an extremely busy day at work and it got away from me! For lunch yesterday I had brought another Roasted Red Pepper and Chickpea Burger, but in my hustle out the door in the morning I forgot a bun or bread of any sort. I realized there was an italian bakery at Potenza right near my office, so I ventured over there around lunch time in search of some bread.

I was a little taken aback by all the food there! I forgot my camera because I was just planning on picking up a roll of some sort, but it was the cutest little Italian Bakery ever. They had tons of fresh made sandwiches, soups, breads, foccacia, quiches, frittatas, etc, so when I saw the Ribollita Toscana on the menu, described as “Tuscan vegetable soup, black leaf kale, leeks, bartolotti beans, and croutons” I changed gears and ordered the soup instead. It came with a ciabatta roll and was deeeeeelicious.

5 points for the ciabatta roll, and 1 for the soup. I also picked up a humongous grapefruit for 75 cents which I ate as a snack later.

I also ate the burger, which I made with feta instead of parmesan for a snack in the afternoon (sans bread).

This one had just 1.5 points, with 1/4 cup chickpeas, 1/2 a roasted red pepper, handful of spinach, 3 basil leaves, and 1 oz of RF Feta. It was a little loose so next time I would use some parmesan too because that gave it the perfect consistency, but this worked well to eat with a fork.

I ventured to Whole Foods after work because I was out of a lot of staples (bananas, bread, milk, eggs) and obviously ended up getting much more than what I needed, but everything together was $40.

  • Silk Light Soy Milk (my preferred kind at the moment)
  • Spring Mix Salad
  • Organic Frozen Fruit – Strawberries, Peaches, Mango
  • Frozen edamame – both in the pods and shelled
  • Semisweet Chocolate Chips
  • HempPlus Pumpkin Granola (Bulk Bins)
  • Roasted Unsalted Sunflower Seeds (Bulk Bins)
  • Eggs
  • 2 Bora Bora Bars (never tried ’em and they were on sale!)
  • Whole Wheat Bread
  • Organic Grapes
  • Organic Bananas (same price as the non-organic!)
  • Nonfat plain yogurt
  • Chunky Medium Salsa
  • Organic Refried Beans
  • Crofter’s Superfruit Spread – South America

I did pretty well! I think if you shop the sales and a lot of the 365 brand items, you can get a good amount of stuff without it costing you an arm and a leg, even at Whole Foods. I am such a bargain shopper, so I find Whole Foods to almost be a challenge and I love it. 🙂

I ended up making some veggie soup last night which I’ll show you at lunch, but I barely ate any of it because the snacker in me came out again! I tried not to have a snack before Whole Foods so I could whip up a quick dinner after I got back, but as the soup was cooking, I had these staring me in the face:

These were a sample from the same company that made those awesome crackers that I got at Costco last week. These things are sooo good, almost too good. You get 35 in a serving (!!!) which has 2 points.

4 servings in the bag, about 3 of which I ended up eating because they were that good… dangerous. I have 3 more flavors of these to try and I think I’m going to break them up into servings when I’m not hungry so that doesn’t happen again. I also had 2 tablespoons of peanut butter and a very small bowl of soup since I was snacked out by the time it was ready.

This morning was a new day, so I decided to go out for a run this morning before work. Here’s the stats:

Distance: 3.00 miles

Duration: 29:02

Avg Pace: 9:41 min/mile

Avg Speed: 6.2mph

Calories: 354

The first part of the run was really, really good, but towards the end I started getting really hungry/famished. I knew that it was because I hadn’t had a good, solid meal last night, so I just kept telling myself it would take longer to get home if I stopped and walked and that got me through the 3 miles.

Luckily, breakfast was something to really look forward to…

Oats in a Jar! Check this baby out:

SO good. I haven’t had oats in a jar in agggessss. too long.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (1.5 pts)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 1/3 cup light soy milk (.5)
  • 1/3 cup nonfat yogurt (.5)
  • almond butter from the jar (2 pts)

The worst part of this was when it was over. I’m still mourning a bit.

Do you buy organic or non organic produce mostly or how do you tackle that issue? In an ideal world I would love to buy all organic but my wallet just doesn’t go for it. I try to shop the sales a lot, and going to places like Trader Joe’s for apples where they charge by the apple, not by weight, makes it easier to buy organic. I try to buy organic for things where you eat the skin/whole fruit (grapes, apples) and don’t mind as much with things that you remove the skin (bananas). But, if I want apples and no organic apples are on sale and its 2$ more per pound, I’ll usually buy the non-organic ones.

20 Responses

  1. That lunch looks amazing–I love eating freshly baked bread with soup. Yum 🙂 Yeah, I can definitely relate to over-doing it on snacks, especially when you have just gotten back from the grocery store and everything looks so enticing 🙂

  2. I love those rice crisps! Trader Joe’s sells some salt and pepper ones too and we dip them in cottage cheese to add a nutritional factor to them.

    I try to go organic for some things, but focus more on the ingredient list than anything else.

  3. Lets get this out of the way first: When I saw “OIAJ” in your post name my mind saw “Ouija” like a Ouija board…and I thought “What on EARTH is this post going to be about?!” Then I saw the pictures and figured it out. 🙂

    As for produce – I’m trying to get more into buying local stuff from farmers markets, but we’re just learning where the good ones are in our town. And if I’m in a storeI usually just buy what’s on sale. We’re working on changing that though!

  4. Hey,
    living in Germany i usually buy the regular stuff since I know our government does a lot of testing on the products so they shouldn’t be too harmful (at least that’s what I hope). But I do go for organic if it is about the same price. Like Bananas…my grocery store has 3 varieties. The cheap one that comes at €1,69 a kg and comes in the colors brown and green. Or the Chiquita Bananas which are €1,99 per kg and the organic also €1,99 per kg and those are yellow. So there I usually go with the organic bananas. Because my momma taught me bananas are yellow and if I have to pay more to get them that way I might as well get organic.

  5. i agree if you buy 365 products you won’t spend a million dollars! i try to buy as much sensibly as i can organic but somethings i do not…..hope you have a great day today beth!

  6. I love 365 brand foods — they are decent price wise and taste great!

    I wish I bought all organic fruits/veggies because I do think there are benefits, but at the same time my budget voice speaks pretty loudly and usually wins. I try to hit farmers markets and all that, but not every week.

  7. OIAJ! I had some today, too! I found a practically empty pb jar that I apparently had been storing in my refrigerator for quite some time… it was a wonderful surprise. 🙂

    • I was in danger of finishing the whole jar last night as I ate it with a spoon.. and then I realized there was just enough for OIAJ so it allowed me to stop!

  8. I try to buy organic but sometimes I just want a cheaper deal so that’s what I do. I love ribolita but have never gotten it here in the states, only in Italy 🙂 I’m impressed how you know the points for everything!

    • I’m still a paying WW member so I look them up if I don’t know them. I’ve been doing it so long though that I can usually figure it out by the ingredients and make a good guess even if it’s not exact.

  9. Whole Foods does have great sales a lot. I keep an eye on their add and plan my shopping around it. How is the Crofter’s South America? I can’t get enough of the North America right now.

    • I actually haven’t tasted it yet but will let you know for sure. I tried the Asia and North America before this one are they were both incredible!

  10. you did great at whole foods! we dont have one here yet but should within the next year and I can not wait.

    I try to buy organic the with dirty dozen, but sometimes cant even do that

  11. I’m a bargain shopper too. I go to Whole Foods for just a few specialty items.

  12. Those bean burgers look great- especially for a filling snack.

    I get confused about organics… like is everything at whole foods organic? I don’t think so but that’s what some people say. I shop at whole foods quite often and I can’t figure out the difference between a lot of fruits and veggies except for their prices and I will always buy whatever is cheaper. I try my best w/ the organic thing and also try to stick to my budget.

  13. I try to buy certain foods that are on the dirty dozen list or that we eat really often as organic. Otherwise budget wins out.

    And that is an amazing haul from WF for only $40!!!

  14. Yum! The burger sounds good. I’m a fan of all sorts of cheese, so I’d probably put both feta AND parm into it haha.

    Those chips look pretty tasty. Might have to get some myself. I’m going to have to venture into Whole Foods (I prefer TJoe’s or Henry’s) to get some Hemp Milk so I’ll stalk those chips too.

  15. I’m interested to hear what you think about the Bora Bora bars. I like them, but they are so expensive, I rarely buy them. Glad you found them on sale!!
    I have recently started buying more organic fruits/veggies. I usually only buy organic if they are on the dirty dozen list such as apples and strawberries, which I tend to eat my weight in…LOL! I also recently started buying organic milk and will possibly buy organic chicken in the future. Buying organic where I live can be slightly inconvenient since I have to go to multiple stores to find the organic produce I want. I wish more stores would carry organic options where I live! Maybe in the future….
    Are those chips you bought similar to pop chips? They kind of looked similar, I was wondering if they tasted the same?
    I made your burger last night for my husband and myself and added feta. Thanks for the recipe!!

  16. Your oats in a jar look so good! I love how chia seeds get when they soak in liquid, so yummy! I but organic when it’s not a $5 bell pepper 🙂 Sometimes stores go way over board with their organic goods’ price. I found that Farmer’s Markets are my new best friends!! Their produce tastes amaaaazingg!

  17. […] dreaming about you since I first learned of your existence on Tina‘s and Kath‘s and Beth‘s blogs. For some reason though, the stars just never aligned… until this weekend. […]

Leave a Reply

