• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Labor Day Challenge

I have more good news about that delicious Open Faced Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Sammie from this morning.. it kept me full for HOURS. I was kind of surprised since I only used one slice of bread but after 1pm I hadn’t eaten yet and I wasn’t even feeling very hungry until I thought about it which was 4.5 hours after breakfast. Score!

Lunch was also a hit and took no time to throw together to bring for work. Into my lunch bag went:

  • 3 corn tortillas (2 pts)
  • 1/2 cup black beans (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup corn kernels (1 pt)
  • 1 cup mixed greens (0 pts)
  • 1 babybel cheese, cut up (1 pt)
  • salsa (in a ziplock) (0 pts)
  • 1/2 cup refried beans (1 pt)

When it was time to eat, I toasted the corn tortillas to get them warm and a little crispy, while microwaving the black beans and corn. Once the tortillas were done, I split the mixed greens between the three tortillas, then topped them with the black bean and corn mix, and then added the babybel cheese on top. I nuked the whole thing for about 20-30 seconds to get the cheese a little more melty.

I split the salsa between the three tortillas

And then served the refried beans on the side

This was such an awesome lunch for only 6 points! It seriously took less than 5 minutes to throw together this morning too, which is always a plus in my book. I feel like if I got something similar to this in a restaurant it would be just as good but at least double the points/calories. The only thing I might have changed is added some avocado to the tortillas, but I didn’t have any and these were delicious without.

And now, for some exciting news…

I went to Weight Watchers today for the first time since July 8th. I missed the 15th because I was in Minneapolis and was too busy to make it last week, so this was my first time back in 3 weeks. The results?

I lost 2.4 pounds!!!

I went back for the first time since April on June 24th and I have lost 5 pounds since then! (2.6 pounds on July 8th, and 2.4 pounds today. This is a lot for me since the scale hasn’t budged in so long, and I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I worked out 6 times this week! I’ve also been trying to plan my meals a little better, eat out less and eat a lot more fruit and veggies. I am sooooo happy because now I only have 4 pounds to go!! I set my official weight goal with my leader today, and while my personal goal is a bit lower, I’m much more concerned with getting to my WW goal so that I can make lifetime and stop paying. I’ve been going since March 2009 (minus a few months here and there) and am finally getting so close to my goal that I can taste it. Originally I wanted to be at my goal by my best friend’s wedding next Saturday, but I realize that’s not reasonable and just want to be able to stick with it and hopefully be to my goal weight by Labor Day.

Is anyone up for a Labor Day Challenge??? There are 5 more Thursdays before Labor Day, so if you are interested, leave a comment saying what your goal is, and it doesn’t have to be weight related at all. It can involve working out a certain number of times a week, getting in a certain number of fruit and veggies, appreciating your body every day.. anything!! I’ll do a Labor Day Goal check-in every Thursday for the next 5 weeks so we can all update each other on our progress.

My goal is to get to my goal weight by Labor Day. That means losing an average of .8 pounds every week from now until then. While I won’t CRY if I don’t reach it, I hope this challenge can keep me on track to at least make heavy progress towards this goal!!

28 Responses

  1. I’m game! My goal is to successfully run the Hood to Coast Relay (and not die lol). πŸ™‚

  2. Ohhh I am in! My goal is to lose 5 pounds by Labor day! And to celebrate with a five mile run (it’s been a while!).

    Go Beth!

  3. Congrats on the 2 lbs! It’s always so encouraging to see all of your hard work pay off, isn’t it?!

    I’m always afraid to put my goals in writing – but I’m going to pledge to not miss any workouts between now and then. I’m notorious for making excuses and missing several days of workouts, and then having a less than thrilling performance at whatever event I’m training for. So there it is – no missed workouts til Labor Day.

    p.s. – I think I’ll be making these little tortilla gems for dinner tonight!

    • I know it can be SO hard to put your goals in writing, but “they” say when you do, you’re much more likely to achieve them, so thank you for sharing!!

      Oh good so glad you’re going to try those tortilla-whatever-they-ares! They were delish.

  4. My goal is to lose 5 lbs by labor day as well–I started working towards it last Friday!

    P.S. I love how you are always layering a whole bunch of stuff together but it always looks so tasty!

  5. Hey Beth,

    Congrats on the awesome weigh in! You are an exercise machine!

    I’m definitely game. Let’s see, 5 weeks…In 5 weeks I’d like to break into the 180s. That’s my goal. To be honest, I haven’t been in the 180s since I was 18 years old. So that will be a very big step for me.

    • Getting into a new decade is always VERY exciting, but it also means losing a point which is the only sad part. That happened to me today so I went from 24 a day to 23… luckily I’ll still get 27 for maintenance though. πŸ™‚

      I haven’t been at the weight I am now since middle school so I totally hear ya.

  6. Awesome! GOOD JOB for sticking with weight watchers! And definitely keep at it so you can get the lifetime πŸ™‚

    My goal by labor day? Run a 15-miler once. I need to get with this full marathon training. So…uninspired lately.

  7. Congrats on the weight loss, that is awesome:)

    Your lunch looks right up my alley too!! Love corn tortillas and refried beans!!

  8. Congratulations! 2.4 pounds is amazing when you are so close to goal πŸ˜€

  9. I would like to lose 5 pounds by labor day which would put me at my goal weight as well. I think I can do it! Especially because I have recently sworn off alcohol.

  10. Beth, congrats on the loss!! Yo go girl πŸ™‚

    My goal is to lose a little over 5 pounds to get past my 15 pound weight loss with WW. Also, to work out more often. With the weather lately, its been really, really hard to get motivated!

  11. Congrats Beth!! You will be at your goal weight in no time! I am going to join in on the Labor Day Challenge…my goal is to work out at least four times a week. I’m moving so I’ll be a little further from my gym and I’m worried I won’t make it there as much…so I think the Labor Day Challenge will be a great way to stay in check!

  12. I’d like to lose 5 lbs. I’ve been stuck in the same place for months even though I’ve cranked up the exercise. This will force me to really, honestly look at my food intake.

    Great job on the 2.4lbs!!

  13. Congrats on the losses!!! That is so exciting!

    I love tacos/fajitas/anything in tortillas — what a great looing, healthy lunch!

  14. WAY TO GO!!!!

  15. Congratulations on the loss!

  16. Congrats on your latest weight loss! That is awesome and you can for sure meet your Labor Day goal with all that great hard work you are doing.

    Nicely done!

  17. I would love to be in the 140’s by labor day, but I don’t think that it is going to happen. (I am at 157 now, and I have been struggling with every pound) Perhaps hitting 153, or having consisten loses.

  18. I’m in! My friends are getting married september 11 and I want to lose a minimum of 5 pounds by then.

Leave a Reply

