• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Open Face Peanut Butter, Banana, and Chocolate Chip Sammie

Hello Thursday! Thank you all for your comments on the post about Fat Girl Mentality. If you haven’t chimed in on it yet, I’d love to hear from you because I’m very curious to continue to hear others’ opinions on the matter. A friend of mine, Amber, just left a comment that really struck a cord.

She said, “I think whether your fat or thin, women in our culture are constantly self-conscious about SOMETHING as we strive for perfection. Overcoming “fat girl mentality” is an example of how you transcended from judging yourself, set some goals (impressive ones at that) and strived to achieve them, which gave you the confidence to accept yourself. A healthy woman is a beautiful woman – and we should all remember to embrace ourselves (and stop judging, ourselves and others) and maybe the paranoia about others judging us will subside too!”

I think it’s so true that women are so quick to judge themselves, its no wonder they feel that they are judged by others. Whether you’ve ever been the fat girl or not, I think its a sentiment that all of us can relate to on some level.

Anywho, last night I ended up going to Bikram after work… my second double workout of the week! That means I got 6 workouts in the past week, which is more than I’ve gotten in for a while. Not gonna lie, Bikram was pretty brutal last night with the humidity. For a second there I thought I might have to leave the room, but I just sat down through a few of the postures. More people left the room than any class I’ve ever been in because of the humidity, but somehow I made it through.

I had a frozen smoothie waiting for me at home which really is the best post-workout snack/meal there is.

In the mix:

  • 1 medium banana, frozen (1.5 pts)
  • 1 cup light soy milk (1 pt)
  • 1 cup frozen peaches (1 pt)
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (2 pts)
  • 2 tbsp HempPlus Granola (.5 pts)

I also had another banana (can’t get enough lately!) and then this Bora Bora bar:

That pictures cracks me up. It looks like an infomercial or something. But the bar itself was delicious (3 points)! It’s a raw bar and basically has dates, nuts, brown sugar and just a handful of other ingredients. It was really tasty, and definitely a bar I’d buy again if I find them on sale (they were $1 each at Whole Foods!).

This morning I got to pick up my CSA and it was a very fruity week!

\

  • Green Beans
  • Tomato
  • Summer Squash
  • Huge bag of peaches (9)
  • Huge bag of donut peaches
  • Melon

I love getting so much fruit in the baskets!! Makes me very happy. After I brought that home, I made a breakfast that was realllly delicious and felt so indulgent, but really wasn’t!

I’ve seen Grilled Banana PB Sandwiches all over the blog world or some variation thereof. They normally have a few too many points/calories for me while I’m still trying to lose a few more pounds, so I made a low point version today that was AMAZING. I was drooling a little while looking over the pictures.

Open Face Peanut Butter, Banana, and Chocolate Chip Sammie

Ingredients

  • Slice Whole Wheat Bread (1 pt)
  • 1/2 large banana (1 pt)
  • 1 tbsp dark chocolate chips (1 pt)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (2 pts)

Directions:

  • Toast slice of bread, and while that is happening…
  • Slice Banana and brown it in a pan

  • Add banana to the bread and top with peanut butter and chocolate chips
  • Put in microwave for 20 seconds to melt the chocolate chips a bit

Oh.my.gosh. This seriously felt SO indulgent and was amazing to eat. It would make such a great dessert, breakfast, or snack any time you want something filling and sweet. If you wanted to make it even lower points/calories, you could use light bread, and better n peanut butter or just 1 tsp of peanut butter, but this was just perfect for me. Try it!!

Do you eat energy/protein bars often? I really only eat them when I’m on the go, and bring them with me to have after Bikram or after a bike ride or run if I won’t have time to prepare a whole meal, though they never really fill me up. I try to use them only as a snack or to hold me over until I can have a full meal because for me they are not enough!

7 Responses

  1. Beth,

    That looks so fantastic. I must try it! I usually don’t eat energy bars because they’re typically pretty point-y(except for the Fiber 1 bars), and they don’t tend to fill me up. Plus, they’re expensive and I have a bad habit of eating them like candy bars.

    Looking forward to your weigh in today? I’m dreading mine…

  2. That sandwich. looks. AMAZING.

  3. Wow that looks amazing. So jealous of your CSA. That’s 1 big tomato, or at least looks like it in the pic. I’ve never been a fan of protein bars, but I haven’t tried a lot of the newer more “real” ones that sounds good.

    • i am not big into them either, but the PURE Bars and these Bora Bora bars are the best I’ve tried. I don’t eat them a lot, but they’re good in a pinch.

  4. Oh I love fresh green beans! They were the one thing that was really hard to grow in our garden when I was growing up, but the couple meals we’d get out of them were fantastic!

    And I like energy bars. I’m a big fan of Clif for if I’ve got a hard workout coming up….

  5. I want to take part in a CSA next year after reading all of the goodies that you keep getting. I would LOVE all of that fresh fruit and veg.

    I used to eat luna bars as a pre workout snack but I got sick of them. I don’t really buy any type of bar anymore but I do agree with you that they are good to have on hand for when you need a snack.

  6. Oh my goodness, that breakfast looks really good!!
    I work for a school district, so during the school year, I usually just grab a bar and eat it in the car on the way to school in the morning. Over the past couple of months, since I’ve been home over the summer, I rarely eat protein bars. I tend to eat bigger breakfasts that keep me fuller longer like oatmeal:). I’m not sure what I’ll do when school starts back up again. I’m debating waking up 15 minutes early so I can eat a better breakfast…we’ll see, I really like my sleep too:)
    I also am one of those people that always has food in her purse….yep, I’ve become my mother! I usually have a couple of protein bars in my purse in case I’m out shopping/errands and get hungry. I would rather eat a bar than end up driving through a fast food place.
    I typically eat clif or larabars currently. IF the Bora Bora bars were cheaper, I would buy more of those!

Leave a Reply

