• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Almost Famous

Morning and TGIF!! I had two fun things happen yesterday after I posted my lunch and I’m not sure which one was more exciting…

First, there is a farmer’s market every Thursday right outside my office, which I go to most Thursdays to browse. Yesterday the Toyota Farm to Table Tour happened to actually be at the market, so my friend Kara and I ventured out in the afternoon to check it out. The whole concept is that they travel around to different farmers markets around the US to show the connection between local chefs and the local food they use. Very reputable chefs from around DC were there, including this guy.

Chef Mike Isabella from Top Chef!! I saw him and almost freaked out, but instead asked if I could get a picture with him. πŸ™‚ One thing off my bucket list…

I also got to eat a Vietnamese Summer Roll with fresh ingredients from the Farmer’s Market.

It was out of this world.

The other exciting thing was that we had work happy hour, where we get money each month to use towards a social event. Yesterday, we went to The Laughing Man (which I’ve constantly been calling Laughing Cow by accident…)

We ordered TONS and tons and tons of food ($4 apps!)

And I was actually pretty thankful that I don’t eat meat because it made it a lot easier to not overdo it. The quesadillas, taquitos, and chicken wings (obv) all had meat in them, so I stuck with some calamari, mussels, and spinach artichoke dip. I also ordered hummus and pita later, but didn’t feel like I overdid it at all (with the food, that is). I did possibly have a few too many drinks but it was fun and I rarely go out drinking.

That’s Kara and me at the bar, her with a blueberry martini ($4!) and me with my go-to vodka soda with a lime. Don’t mind my greasy face – – clearly I needed some face powder!

This morning I woke up feeling surprisingly great and feeling well rested. I was asleep before 11 and until after 7, so I got over 8 solid hours and felt quite refreshed. I wanted the same breakfast that I had yesterday, but I had frozen the other half of the banana. So, I decided to just microwave it and mash it and it worked out great!

Whole Wheat Toast (1 pt) with 1/2 large banana, mashed (1 pt), 1 tbsp chocolate chips (1 pt) and 1 tsp of peanut butter (1 pt), so only 4 points this time. The key is throwing it back into the microwave for 20-30 seconds once its assembled because everything gets gooey and melts together. After snapping that photo I used a fork to mix everything together so the whole thing was chocolate peanut buttery goodness.

Amazing.

Have you ever met anyone famous? Who, where and how?

20 Responses

  1. Hi Beth. The happy hour spread looked amazing!!

    I met the catcher for the Philadelphia Phillies, Carlos Ruiz. His sister lives around the corner from us and word got around that he was going to be at her house for dinner. All the kids were clamoring on the lawn and he came out and signed autographs and took pics. I didn’t get my picture with him but I got both of my kids and he signed my youngest’s baseball glove and Phillies jersey.

    It was nice of him to do since it was his night off and he was enjoying time with his family.

  2. Besides also meeting Chef Mike Isabella yesterday, I met quite a few movie stars when I was catering during graduate school. I catered one of the Inaugural Balls for President Obama at the Building Museum here in D.C.. Besides being in the same room as the President and Vice President, I catered Ben Affleck, Samuel L. Jackson, Tom Hanks, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Larry David. Fun times!

  3. I met Josh Kelly the musician before he and Katherine Heigl started shacking up… he was way cute. πŸ™‚ And I went to a club and stood 20 feet away from Paris Hilton and Benji Madden. I felt super special… ha I get so super nerdy when I hear about celebs…

    And get this- my friend met Paul McCartney last weekend in the hotel that they were staying at. They had no idea he was on the floor and were trying to get ice but the security guy wouldn’t let them pass. So I guess there was a bit of a fuss and then Paul steps out (holy cow, right???) and says “If there girls need ice, man, let them get ice.” ahahahaha… How’s that for legendary?

  4. what an exciting farmers market!!!!!! how fun and unexpected for sure. this is gonna sound lame but i met Nikki Sixx from Motley Crue a long time ago. He was so short!

  5. In college I lived next to Susan Sarandon’s daughter and met her on Parent’s Weekend! I also sat next to Kevin Cosner one year at graduation. There were actually a few more so yay for going to a school with lots of celebrity children!

  6. Mila Kunis (Jackie from that 70’s show)- sitting across from her on a flight to LA- chatted about “the curious incident of the dog in the nighttime”

    Randy Jackson (american idol judge)- shopping at bloomingdales in NYC- chatted about being on Oprah the day prior and his weight loss.

    Brandon Inge and Joel Zumaya (Detriot Baseball Players) Had cocktails with them a couple nights in MD at the Hotel we both were staying at

    The Lawerence brothers-Joey, Matt and Andy (whoa!!) In Maui at Bubba Gumps restaurant- bought them drinks, then we kept bumping into them later that week.

    i saw other celebs but didn’t talk to them- such as JoJo on the streets of NYC, Chris Parnell- Hanging in the lobby of la chateau marmont, Kate winslet on my flight. Montell Williams at the airport.

    that’s all i can think of at the moment.

  7. Mike! I love him! I actually would love to meet any of the Top Chef guys!

    I haven’t really met any celebs but I’ve run into/been in the same joint as several. πŸ™‚

  8. I met Barry Watson (Matt Camden from 7th Heaven) once. I was a total girly nerd about it all. I asked to shake his hand. Yeah, super cool.

  9. Meet? Haha – I wish! I get too chicken and just stare. Since moving to SoCal we actually see a lot of celebrities, here are my top 5 sightings that I was a couple of feet from but couldn’t muster the guts to say anything:

    1. Sat next to Quentin Tarantino at the movies
    2. Was standing next to Julie Andrews
    3. Ordered coffee next to Renee Zellwegger
    4. Walked by James Brolin on his porch
    5. Next to Debra Messing at a farmers market stand both buying some fresh lettuce

    πŸ™‚

  10. seen quite a few…as I live in calif..and lot’s are here,esp LA

  11. I volunteered at the 2000 Inaugural parade and got to see a bunch of celebrities but I remember seeing Daniel Radclif and Charlotte Church. I was excited but confused why two British celebrities were in an American presidential parade…lol.

    I just read your Fat Girl Mentality post and let me say that you hit the nail on the head! I still don’t see the girl I am today. Mentally I’m still the fat girl trying to keep people from seeing my fat rolls which I think has made it difficult for me gain weight…super scary for a former fat girl!

  12. That baby-size veggie roll looks so good!!

    I ran into O’Neil from the past season’s Biggest Loser when I picked up my hubby @ the airport. Best day of my life!! Mainly because my man was back from an 8 day business trip, but also because I hugged O’Neil twice, feeling like he was my happy-go-lucky uncle or something. Such a sweet heart!

  13. oooh how exciting! I met one of my fav. rugby players once and I was so excited!!! Mr BBB couldnt stop laughing!!

  14. It looks like you had such a fun day!!! Sometimes I like going out with meat eaters so I can’t eat all of the junky apps. My hardest to pass up is nachos so I love it when they have meat on them so I can’t eat them! I just have no self control over them so I’d rather not start!

    I have never met anyone famous! Booo. That’s awesome you got a picture with him!!

    Your breakfast pretty much looks like the most delicious thing ever. EVER!

  15. Sounds like a good day. My favorite famous person that I have met was Jon Stewart and his family. I always watch the Daily Show!

  16. I saw Carla from Top Chef at one of the markets last week – took a pic but didn’t say anything. I once saw Kendra from Girls Next Door in Vegas…I yelled “I love you Kendra” and she came over and hugged me so that was exciting.

    Laughing Man is right across from my office so it’s our go to place for happy hours – very good deals (and your face does not look shiny p.s.!)

  17. Hi Beth!

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and had a hankering for some waffles. I’m on a weight loss journey myself, so I take your recipes as inspriations (and I really appreciate how you always put the point value for each food!). I used your basic pancake recipe with chia seeds, and let it set for a few minutes to thicken up — plopped it in the waffle maker and oh my goodness! It came out delicious.

    I used Bob’s Red Mill pancake and waffle mix in your recipe and it was so good. And healthy! That’s the best part. Anyhow, just saying thanks. I topped it with a bit of almond butter (super melty!), a little greek yogurt (to keep it moist) and then some fresh peaches and bananas, with a little bit of granola on top for some crunch! Yum. Thanks again, it was super delicious and I will make it often.

  18. Wow, all of that food looks so AMAZING! I can’t believe you met Top Chef Mike, I am so jealous. I am also jealous that you have a farmers market near your job, I can’t find a good one near me 😦

  19. That is soooo cool! Loved that season of Top Chef. I’ve met Stephen Fry (British actor). I got his autograph too. It was at the opening of the movie “Wilde.”

  20. HA! i looooved mike. what a fun guy to meet! your table is FILLED with food. love that! those taquitos look like egg rolls..mmm!

Leave a Reply

