• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Cutting Back

Hello! This day got away from me but I did get a LOT done today. I have another conference coming up at work in September which is actually the biggest conference of the year, so we’re moving into crunch time now that there’s just 7 weeks left (which used to seem like such a long time…) so things are going to be moving even faster for me than they normally do for the next few months.

I went on a really great bike ride after work today. The weather was actually perfect for a ride because it was slightly breezy, not too hot, and not sunny so I was praying for more shade during the ride. I fueled up with a little more than half of this bag:

This flavor is actually better than the other flavors I’ve tried of these, but they’re just a little chewy/sticky for my taste. This is my last bag of them though and then I’m back to my favorite – Sports Beans! I ate 5 of the 8 in this bag which is about 115 calories (2 pts) before my ride.

Stats:

Distance: 16.25 miles

Duration: 1hr 13min 51sec

Avg Speed: 13.2 mph

Avg Pace: 4:32 min/mile

Calories: 856

This was the farthest/longest run I’ve done in a while and it felt good!

After the workout, Wil and I threw together a quick easy dinner that was delicious and very light.

We first made a dressing with:

  • 1 tbsp honey (1 pt)
  • 2 tsp olive oil (2 pts)
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar (0 pts)
  • 1 tbsp minced white onion (0 pts)
  • ~1 tsp mustard
  • salt and pepper

Then we boiled blanched some green beans (from the farm share!) by boiling them for 3 minutes and then putting them in an ice bath to stop them from cooking. Mean while we boiled some red and white potatoes that my sister gave us from her farm share (she had extra!) and also made 2 hard boiled eggs. Once everything was cooked/cooled, we tossed it in the dressing and there was enough to coat everything.

It was almost like a nicoise salad (without the tuna) and was perfect for a late night meal on the balcony. The dressing was SO good and really low point/calorie (just 3 for the whole recipe, so 1.5 each). We both were tempted to lick our plates since they were left with some dressing (and no bread), but resisted the urge…

S0 I got my bridesmaid dress back today and it is TIGHT. I actually ended up switching up from a 10 to a 12 because my friend had the 12 and the 10 fit her better and vice versa, but when I went to get sized last week I had to get a few inches taken off the chest.  Well, today I go to pick it up and she was closing shop, so I just brought the dress upstairs without trying it on. I got upstairs and could not zip the dress (plus Wil wasn’t home yet so I didn’t have someone to help me) so that’s when I set out on the ride. After getting home (and showering) I tried the dress on again and Wil was able to zip it, but it is quite snug. It fits and actually looks good on because of the cut, but its very tight across the top to the point of being a little uncomfortable.

That said, this week I’m going to try to eat pretty light in order to help me breathe better on Saturday… I’m going to cut back on carbs a bit for the next few days and just try to eat really clean and drink lots of water. It won’t be that different than how I normally eat, there will just be less indulgences, and absolutely no alcohol. I plan to stick to my points every day (not eat less than, and not eat my activity points like I normally do) and try to work out tomorrow, Wednesday, and Thursday. There may also be some Spanx in my future… blah.

I do NOT recommend the place I went to get my dress tailored…

13 Responses

  1. i love using mustard and apple cider vinegar together in dressings, such a great flavor combination!

    i hope the dress situation works out, im really hoping it will fit in time. its not the best situation and it sucks having to try to get into it on a deadline but i know having it tight and uncomfortable isnt too fun either.

    XOXO ❤

  2. Ouch, sorry to hear about the dress. Best of luck this weekend, I look forward to pictures. 🙂

  3. You should call the tailor and let them know the situation — maybe it is something they can fix easily (and it should be at no extra charge, since they apparently measured you wrong) and you can get it back by the weekend.

    Eating naturally diuretic foods can be helpful, too. I know it helps me when I am feeling “puffy.”

  4. Good for you, Beth! I’m getting ready to start a “diet” here soon of clean eating…body building diet. I’m excited for it, but I think the best motivation is SEEING the progress. Hope you can feel yours by breathing easier on Saturday!

    ~Alyssa

  5. I’m sorry the tailor didn’t do a very good job! A week of clean eating will definitely have you breathing easy by the wedding!

  6. I am sorry about the dress….but spanx really are a miracle! 🙂

  7. First off, your dinner looks amazing. I think I may do that tonight for our dinner, in fact!

    Good luck with this week. That’s always an annoying but unfortunately common problem among women. A few years ago, I worked in a bridal shop and weight was ALWAYS an issue. People lost weight, gained weight, brides were all claiming to be size 0’s by the time their wedding date would roll around lol. I’m sure if you just cut out the carbs you should be fine by Saturday. If I’ve been desperate or have an upcoming event, I’ll often mix low point/cal and low carb for a week. Always does the trick. Just make sure you take in some extra fiber supplement and drink more water. It usually makes me constipated (sorry for TMI!)

  8. that salad looks delicious! and sorry about the dress, that sucks.

  9. THat sucks but I am sure everything will work out and you will look fabulous!!! Drink a lot of water too! I’m sure you know it helps with bloat!

  10. Spanx can be a woman’s best friend! That sucks that your dress doesn’t fit right though. I hope it works out!

  11. Beth – I’ve been in four weddings and each time this same thing happens to me! The tailor ALWAYS messes things up for me – plus, I believe I really do fluctuate. Spanx are necessary and I would never think to wear a dress without them, try them and you will understand. Keep on your routine of working out and you will be great the day of the wedding.

  12. oh nooo i’m sorry that they haven’t been that great to you (the tailor place). the dress is going to look and FEEL great come Saturday. I just know it. Your eating clean diet and positive attitude will make it SO!

  13. OMG- I just had this for lunch (added tuna, olives, tomato and onion, so a bit heftier) but this is TO DIE FOR and feels like the most decadent thing ever….when it is really quite healthy! THANK you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

