• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Weekend Update

Hello and Happy Monday! Sorry I disappeared this weekend – it was super fun and super busy, and then yesterday I left my camera at my sister’s in Philly so that squashed my plans for doing a weekend update yesterday. You’ll just have to take my word for it that all these things happened… 🙂

Friday night I ended up going home and taking a nice 10 mile bikeride in about 45 minutes. It felt so good to get outside because it was GORGEOUS. After that I went to Cabanas by the Waterfront in DC with my friends Amber and Lianne. We shared a pitcher of sangria and ordered a few appetizers to share. They had yucca chips with a trio of dipping sauces – mango salsa, guacamole, and pico de gallo. I had never had yucca chips before and they are AWESOME. They’re like regular chips but a lot thinner (almost see through!) and have a different texture but are still very chip-like. We also got fried calamari (2nd time in 2 days!) and then the veggie fajitas.. which are NOT as good as my normal kind at Don Pablos.

Saturday I woke up and went on a 6 mile run! My longest run since my 10 miler back in April, and it actually felt quite good. I left a little later than I should have so it was a little hotter than ideal when I got out, but overall the run was pretty great. I finished just seconds over 1 hour (just over a 10:00min /mile pace) and burned 720 calories according to the Garmin. Before my run I had an english muffin with 1/2 a banana and 1 tsp of peanut butter, and then afterwards I had poached eggs with tomato from my farm share and veggie sausage. I ended up meeting up with another friend, Erika, later in the day and we lounged by the pool, grabbed some more food, and played cornhole! It was so fun.

Yesterday, Wil and I took a road trip to Philadelphia to pick this up:

image

A scooter!! My sister has had this for years but wanted to get rid of it because she used it a lot more when they lived in DC than since they’ve moved to Philly. She is getting a bigger car so there’s no longer room for it in her garage, so we jumped on the opportunity. I only rode it around the garage, not on the street yet, but it is FUN. I cannot wait to take it out for real! It was kind of a long trip there and back since we were driving a 1996 Bronco (nicknamed The China Cabinet by Wil because of all the noise it made) and had to go slow with the scooter in tow. My parents live pretty close to Philly, so they met us for brunch which was super nice. I got Eggs Lester, which is basically Eggs Benedict with salmon instead of ham, and it was out of this world. The salmon was house-cured, which Wil tells me is very easy to do but definitely intimidates me! I ordered it with the hollandaise on the side, and got fruit instead of potatoes, my almost-always go to meal when out for brunch.

We finally got home around 8:30 or so and ordered Chinese food and watched Mad Men and True Blood. Sunday night has turned into a pretty big TV night for us now that all the shows have started… those two plus Entourage, Hung, The Next Food Network Star… maybe I watch too much TV? Don’t answer that. 🙂

This morning I tried SO HARD to get up at 6:40am to go do yoga outside from 7-8a. Crystal City has free yoga classes every Monday morning for July and August, and I have not yet made it to one. Next Monday is screaming my name, fingers crossed I make it at least once before August is all gone. I ended up turning off my alarm and sleeping until almost 8am instead, and I was still so tired that it was hard to wake up!

Breakfast was Overnight Oats in a Melon Bowl! It was SO awesome:

image

I got this canteloupe in my farm share on Thursday, and it was by far the best melon I’ve ever tasted. I cannot WAIT to eat the other half. In the mix:

  • 1/2 medium canteloupe (1.5 pts)
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (1.5 pts)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 2/3 cup light soy milk (1 pt)
  • 1/4 cup HempPlus Granola (1 pt)

Lunch was very simple leftovers:

image

1/2 cup white rice (2 pts) with 3 large shrimp (.5 pts) and steamed veggies (0 pts). Very low point lunch but actually quite filling because there was even more veggies than pictured and I ate them all.

How was your weekend? Any highlights?

12 Responses

  1. You’ve had such a fun weekend! My husband and I just moved to the DC area (Frederick) at the end of last week and are still figuring everything out!

  2. The scooter looks like it’ll be fun! I just wanted to stop by your blog and say hi!

  3. I’ve always wanted a scooter! But can’t justify getting one because I don’t live in a very scooter-friendly city.
    As for fun, I got myself a new bike! (Well, ordered it anyway.) It’ll be here this weekend and I can’t wait!
    p.s. I tried those black bean & corn taco thingys – they were GREAT! (Made the leftovers as a tostada after baking the corn tortilla for a bit=even better!)

  4. so jealous of your scooter. What a great way to get around town!

  5. Scooters look like so much fun! But you’d have a hard time getting me on one. As much as they look like they could be fun, I’d freak out too much to try it… lol

  6. You with that scooter makes me so nervous!! I know how you can be accident prone!! WEAR A HELMET! love you.

    xoxo

  7. Sounds like a great weekend! I agree with you on Cabanas, it’s def. not as good as my other DC-go to Mexican food. But the Waterfront is always nice!

  8. J and I went to the MN Twins games on Saturday and went to a parade yesterday. It was great to spend so much time OUTSIDE!!! I still can’t believe it is August, where has this summer (year!) gone?

    I love good melons — I’ve never had oats with melon though, I’ll have to give that a try!

    I just saw your other post about meeting Mike Isabella from Top Chef! Even though he wasn’t my favorite it would be so cool to meet the contestants!

  9. Overnight oats in a melon…great idea!

    I would love to give a scooter a ride. I’ve been dying to get one!

  10. the scooter will be easy to get around in

  11. Oooooh overnight oats in a melon? You are super clever! I went on a nice long run Sunday morning and enjoyed the cool weather as opposed to the nasty heat that’s been plaguing DC all summer!!

  12. what a hot ride you got there…seriously its so glossy! haven’t gotten into the oats in a ‘lope yet but they sure look delectable!!

Leave a Reply

