• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Training Plan Revealed

I feel totally lost without my camera. Luckily, my sister overnighted it so I’ll be back in business tomorrow (THANKS WENDY!!) 🙂

Today’s eats have been boring but quite nutritious and delicious. I started out the morning after another failed attempt at getting up to exercise with some fruit.

1/2 cup grapes plus one slice of canteloupe (1 pt together). I got an email from my farm today saying we are getting another melon in this week’s box so I cannot wait for that to come since this was the last of it! I also had a Stonyfield organic yogurt (unpictured) for 2 points plus a coffee with just a splash of skim to round out breakfast.

Lunch was leftovers from last night’s delicious salad, reworked. I took the blanched green beans (0 pts) and cut them down the middle lengthwise, and then mixed in a chopped hardboiled egg (2 pts) and 1/2 can of tuna packed in water (1 pt). I mixed in 1 tbsp of Olive Oil Mayo (1 pt) and had it on a bed of mixed greens (0 pts) with Wasa Rye Crackers (1 pt).

It was actually awesome. Before last night, I hadn’t had hardboiled eggs in ages and I almost forgot how good they are! This salad was a great mix of protein and veggies but still felt pretty indulgent because of the mayo. It was only 5 points though and was VERY filling. I snacked on two small peaches for dessert, one regular and one donut (1 pt together).

I also had an unpictured mini biscotti that my sister gave me on Sunday (1 pt) and 5 peanut M&Ms. Clearly not doing that great on the low-carb part…

So two additional things to share:

1.) Thank you for all your advice/concern on the dress. As I mentioned, it actually looks pretty good, its just a bit too snug for comfort. I’m going back to the tailor tonight to see if there’s any way they can let it out a bit, because even a centimeter will make a huge difference. I’m also going to look into a body shaper/Spanx like was recommended, and I actually did a bunch of research today and found plenty of affordable strapless body shapers online. I’m probably going to go check out Macy’s tomorrow to see if I can find one after I talk to the seamstress tonight.

2.) My Half Marathon Training Plan – I realize I never shared this with you guys after I formalized it! I mostly modeled my own plan based off Hal Higdon’s plans, but wanted to combine some things from both the Novice and Intermediate Plans (even though I consider myself a novice since I’ve never run this distance before). My goal was to develop a plan that would have two main things: 1.) running about 3x a week so that I could balance it out with other forms of exercise and 2.) running more than 10 miles for my longest run because I’ve heard others say they hit a wall at the 10 mile mark if they hadn’t gone farther in training.

So, my plan (which I’ve been doing for a few weeks now) involves 2 shorter runs during the week with one longer run on the weekends. The shorter runs will mostly be Tuesday/Thursday (unless my schedule deems otherwise) and started at 3 miles each, but now I am moving them up from 3 to 4 miles, and they will eventually be 5  miles once my overall mileage is up. As for the long run on the weekends, I started at 4 miles, did 5 miles two weeks ago, and did 6 miles this past weekend. I plan to up my long run by 1 mile per week, which allows me to get up to 12 miles as my longest run IF I do a long run every single weekend from now until then. I am giving myself flexibility for one week if I’m too busy (lots of traveling coming up in August!) or if I want to repeat the previous weeks distance so my body can get used to it, which will mean I get up to 11 miles in training, which I am fine with. My goal is simply to be able to run the entire 13.1 miles, not to finish in a certain time. If I come out the other end alive, I may want to do another half and then I can think about beating my time for this one, but for now I’m just focused on finishing!

So, there you have it!

Do you have any races coming up? How do you normally approach training for distances that are farther than you’ve gone before?

16 Responses

  1. Am I a nerd for getting a little excited to make my training plan for the 15k I’m thinking about? Probably…

    Mine was similar to yours- I combined Hal’s plans as well. Because I hate speedwork, yet the beginner plan wasn’t quite challenging enough. And I only ran 3 days a week for the most part- it really worked for me!

    Good luck!!!

  2. I start my Army Ten Miler training today! I am using Hal Higdon’s novice half marathon plan, except replacing the half marathon with the ten miler in the final week. I’ve used that plan twice before — modified it for the ATM last year (my longest run had been 9, this time it’ll be 10), and for a half marathon this past spring. I definitely hit a wall at 10, so for my next half marathon I am going to add in a few extra weeks and run 12 or 13 before the race.

    • Yeah that’s what I’ve heard – that’s why I’m going to try to do 11 or 12 before the big day. I’ve run 10 miles twice before, but it’s been months and I’m not in nearly as good running shape now!

  3. I train for practically every long distance run the same way you are – by adding 1 mile per week to the long run. It’s amazing how “little” one mile is compared to the goal, but how big of an impact one mile has when adding one week after week after week!
    Thanks for sharing your plan!

    • I run out on a trail, so adding 1 mile only means going .5 miles farther before turning around, which somehow makes it feel like less in my head….

  4. wow u narrowed down a GREAT plan that will help get you there! and u fuel your body so well with whole foods that i really really really believe you can do this!! ❤

  5. I love using training plans – and they are a great motivator!!!!

  6. I seriously love your meal ideas. I’ve already got the black bean with corn tortillas and this salad you had today lined up to eat for this week. thanks!

  7. THANK you for telling me what those peaches are called! I bought 2 at the Farmer’s Market last weekend + have been asking everyone I know if they know what they’re called. Aw, peach donut. Donut peach?

    I’m planning on a 10K in the end of August, and another towards the end of September. I’ve run 10K before, but never a race. So my plan for training is to run 10, and add weights. Also, I like running a little more than the actual race distance during training, so when the big day comes I can feel 100% ready, and then some. 🙂

  8. Hey Beth,

    Thanks for the post 😉

    That salad looks amazing and so full of protein! I never thought of combining hard boiled egg with tuna, but it sounds so good and filling.

    Sorry to hear about the dress. Ugh, I hate it when things don’t fit properly (especially when you pay to have it altered!) Can you bring it back to the same place and have the seamstress fix it?

  9. I always think putting together a training plan is so exciting! For long distance races (like the marathon I’m currently training for) I usually build up a couple of weeks and then bump down for a recovery week. Keeps me from going crazy!

  10. Plan looks good. I usually have a peak week where I do max distances for whatever I am working on. For my own personal running I’ll probably be running 14mile runs during my peak week. Then race week run 6 to 8 mile runs and then of course 3 or 4 days before the race I’ll run 4,3 and then 1 mile on the last day just to keep the motion in the ocean.

    I do the same thing with biking and swimming. I alternate my focus every 3 weeks and for triathlons I do 4 weeks where I put them all together.

    Good stuff! Glad to see your goals!

  11. i think i trained for 13 weeks for my half. i joined a training group that met every monday, wed and saturday with saturdays being our long runs. thursday we were to run on our own. mondays and wednesday were always a little more (4,5,6 or 7) with thurs (on our own) usually being just 3-4 miles no matter where we were in the plan. we started tapering with two weeks left i believe. ran the full 13 with 3 wks left i want to say.

    soooooo exciting, GOOD LUCK!

Leave a Reply

