• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Big Weekend Approaching!

Hiya! Sorry I didn’t come back yesterday… things have been buuuusy trying to get ready for the wedding weekend which starts.. tomorrow! I ended up getting my toes and eyebrows done last night and was all packed and ready to go to Bikram afterwards, but I got stuck late at the nail place and missed it. Is it sad that to console myself for missing Bikram I went to Whole Foods and bought a bunch of things I didn’t need? No need to answer that one, but it made me feel better anyhow.

This morning I woke up and went out for a run. It was hot even at 7am but not nearly as bad as Tuesdays run. I even took a walking break successfully for the first time, as in I actually just stopped for a bit and then ran the whole rest of the way. The funny part is that I ended up finishing faster with the same distance this morning even with the walking break… but its not a habit I want to get into.

Distance: 4.00 miles

Duration: 38:46 min

Avg. Pace: 9:41 min/mile

Avg. Speed: 6.2mph

Calories: 465

Before my run, I lightly fueled up rather than going out on an empty stomach like I normally do with morning runs.

A light english muffin (1 pt) with 1 tsp peanut butter (1 pt) between the two halves which was SO little. But, today was weigh in so I wanted to keep my eats light before my midday weigh in, which didn’t matter anyways. I ate an enormous plum (1 pt) plus a banana (1.5 pts) after my run and then went to weigh in.

I was up .4, so now I’m back to needing to lose 4.4 points… I’m not letting the number get me down because I had a pretty good week in terms of eating and working out, and I just don’t want to get caught up in the scale all the time… my goal is still to get to goal by Labor Day… speaking of which, how is everyone doing on their Labor Day goal?? I am clearly moving in the wrong direction, but not by much, and still feel like 4.4 is doable if I really focus.

I had indian food for lunch that I bought at the food court, but I forgot my camera at home this morning. I got the veggie plate which had veggie fried rice, eggplant, chickpeas, and spinach. It also came with a huge piece of naan, and I ate every last bit. We had a going away part for another colleague today and I ate a bit too much sweets there so my stomach has been feeling totally off. I got recruited to help pick up the pastries for the party, and we went to this really cute Italian bakery that has THE BEST pastries, so it was hard to resist. Plus there was chips and dip, cheesy poofs (a work tradition) and red velvet cake… eek.

Since I overindulged I actually haven’t been hungry at all since then, so I just had a tomato from my farm share with a little lemon basil from my herb garden and some sea salt…

A 0 point treat and SO delicious. Speaking of my CSA, I got it this morning and its awesome this week!!

This week:

  • Peaches
  • Donut Peaches
  • Baby Watermelon (!!)
  • Onions
  • Corn
  • Tomatoes

That tomato is sooo delicious. I feel like shopping in regular grocery stores has made me kind of forget what a tomato is supposed to taste like, but my palate easily remembered with that snack. 🙂

My weekend is going to be really crazy because tomorrow starts the wedding festivities. I probably won’t be able to update until Sunday because I’m not planning to bring my computer since the charger is acting so funky, but I promise to come back with tons of pictures! Speaking of the wedding, I got my dress let back out a little bit and now its PERFECT. I’m so glad I went back to the seamstress instead of just trying to restrict myself and possibly still be unable to breathe on the day of the wedding.

Tomorrow we are getting nails done, have a bridemaid luncheon, then the rehearsal, then the rehearsal dinner. Saturday is the wedding itself with lots of getting ready, pictures, and then the wedding and the reception which will be SOOOOO fun. And then Sunday there is a brunch at Rachel’s parents house for the last weekend event. I am sooo excited for it all!

How do you approach special occasions with trying to be healthy/stay on track? For me, I’m definitely going to be a little looser than normal, and I know there will be plenty of drinking involved on the wedding night and the rehearsal. My plan is to try to make as good of decisions as possible, and I am even bringing workout clothes so that I have the option of using the resort gym on Saturday morning before everything starts. I’m not going to stress if I don’t make it, but it would be nice to at least get one healthy thing in over the weekend, so then I won’t feel so bad about cake and alcohol!

11 Responses

  1. I would not stress about .4lbs. That was probably muscle from your run! Congrats on the run 🙂

    Sometimes I relax on special occasions and sometimes they make me stress out even more. Fortunately during my friend’s wedding, I brought the majority of my food since we have a mini kitchen and didn’t really eat my meal at the reception.

    Have fun this weekend!!

  2. Beth,

    Enjoy yourself the next few days. It’s something you’ve been looking forward to for SO long. always bring workout clothes with you and you might surprise yourself, on Saturday morning, I have a feeling you might be craving a run…

    I know that I always feel better after I work out on vacation, knowing that I can indulge a little more and then that workout will def. help with my dress fitting (my bridesmaids dresses never fit until the day of!!)

    Have a wonderful time, can’t wait to hear about it!

  3. Your tomato looks fantastic! Fresh food from the garden is perfect for making ya feel a little refreshed after indulging.
    Enjoy the wedding fun!

  4. Whenever I’m on vacation or going to a wedding or something like that I try to pick a few meals or items that i know I’m going to splurge on and then try and eat healthy the rest of the time. If I know I’m going to want cake and a few glasses of champagne, that’s great, I’ll just go a little easier on all the appetizers or something.

  5. what a great run!!!! you will have so much fun this weekend……i try to eat well/healthy all days except one. i allow myself that cheat meal when i really want it.

  6. I think a wedding is a special occasion and it’s okay to splurge a little!

  7. sometimes a little fuel before a run can make a big difference. it’s so interesting to see how people react when they eat before a run or they go on an empty tummy.

    have a fabulous weekend at the wedding Beth!! ❤

  8. I would just enjoy the weekend and not even think about anything else. You’re going to drink and eat unhealthy stuff but who cares b/c you’re celebrating a wonderful occasion. I’ve never seen a baby watermelon!

  9. Enjoy the weekend. Splurging is ok, just don’t let it turn into a week od splurging.

    I do try to keep drinks to a minimum — drink water or club soda in between.

    Have fun!

  10. I think your food combinations and meals are absolutely brilliant. I’m assuming you are making them up as you go along..you must have a gift. I’m completely marking this site for my own reference. I teach courses in health eating and will be suggesting people refer to your page.
    Although I understand a wedding is a great motivator to start eating better (and loosing weight) I hope you are thinking life long vs. just for the wedding. All the best in that and thanks for sharing your ideas!
    K

Leave a Reply

