• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Being Healthy at Special Events

After having such an amazing weekend celebrating one of my best friends’ weddings, it was slightly traumatic for it to all be over and to have to return to normal life (slash work). If you noticed in the recap, I didn’t mention much about eating or healthy living because I really tried to focus on the celebration and not get caught up in how much or what I was eating. I wanted to enjoy the weekend and not let it pass too quickly, while still trying to be moderate and not gain more than a little weight.

Some of the things I did that were positive:

1.) Saturday morning I woke up early and worked out for 45 minutes on the elliptical!

2.) I tried to eat a lot of fruits and veggies (as much as I could) and drink tons of water to stay hydrated.

3.) I ordered my dressing on the side at the rehearsal dinner and didn’t even use it.

4.) I started Friday off right by having a delicious and filling breakfast before my friends picked me up.

5.) I didn’t eat any cake at the wedding, but this was not something I tried to do. I thought we’d be served the cake, but you actually had to go to the table outside the reception to get it, and it was too late by the time I realized it. Cake isn’t one of my favorite desserts anyways, so I wasn’t too upset about it.

6.) I brought some snacks with me so that I didn’t let myself get too hungry. After working out on Saturday morning, I had a huge plum before I showered and was so happy to have brought it because I usually need to eat pretty soon after I work out so I don’t feel faint.

7.) I had FUN. I was very moderate about being healthy and didn’t obsess or let it take over the weekend.

I only took a few food pics (which felt almost weird!), but here was my breakfast on Friday that I made before my friends picked me up:

A fried egg (2 pts) over tomato slices (0 pts) from my farm share, served with a toasted light english muffin (1 pt) and 1 cup of blueberries (1 pt). That 4 point breakfast kept me satisfied all the way through getting nails done so that I wasn’t too ravenous for the bridesmaid luncheon. There were some good looking veggie options on the menu at the luncheon, and here’s what I went with:

This was their veggie burger, which was a portabello mushroom with zucchini, squash, tomato, lettuce, goat cheese, roasted red peppers, and red onions, and came with a pickle and broccoli. We ordered some fries to share so I had some of those too, plus 2 rolls with real butter (which I probably didn’t need but they were awesome). Dinner that night for the rehearsal was a ceasar salad (no dressing), salmon with more broccoli and a delicious butter sauce on top, and then tiramisu.

Saturday I worked out first thing, then had a large plum right afterwards. Breakfast was wheaties and special k with fruit and nut mix on top with 1% milk. I didn’t measure anything and putting dried fruit and nuts on the cereal was awesome! Lunch was an eggplant wrap which had eggplant, mozzarella, roasted red peppers, and was in a sundried tomato wrap. It came with pasta salad but I only had a bite or two of it. I snacked on more nuts and fruit (it was a mix from costco that they had out in the hospitality suite) and a mimosa during the afternoon. By the time dinner came, I was hungry! We had salads to start with dressing on the side (I didn’t use any) and I had a roll with it. The salad had mandarin oranges, sunflower seeds, and some other veggies over mixed greens. I got the vegetarian option for dinner which was veggie lasagna with more veggies on the side, and I skipped the cake but not the booze. ­čśë

Sunday morning we had a brunch at Rachel’s parents house, and I had a bagel with cream cheese and tomato, some of her famous broccoli salad (which I need to get the recipe for!), and some fruit. It was a good meal to help my stomach feel better because I wasn’t feeling so hot when I woke up after the wedding.

Wil made us a really nice and healthy dinner last night, which I had for lunch today too.

Corn and black bean salad with steamed shrimp. The salad had fresh corn on the cob (boiled and then taken off the cob), black beans, tomato (from our farm share), avocado, cilantro, and this delicious creamy dressing. He used a little avocado and mixed in lime juice and vinegar for the dressing, and it was out of this world and so healthy too! The flavors in the salad were amazing. And the water he steamed the shrimp in had a bunch of spices so they were very flavorful.

I woke up today feeling like a quick and easy breakfast to start the week off right, and I ended up throwing┬átogether┬ásomething I hadn’t had in a while.

A breakfast parfait! This had 1 point worth of Kay’s Naturals protein cereal plus 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt (1 pt) and 1 cup of blueberries (1 pt). It was super filling and so quick to throw together. Lunch was the same as dinner last night…

Hard to guess the points on this, but probably 2 for the shrimp, 1 for the corn, 1 for the black beans, 2 for the avocado, and 1 for the dressing, so a total of 7.

Since I had all the celebrating going on this weekend, I didn’t get my 7 mile run in. I am going to try to fit it in one day this week, since I’ll be traveling again this weekend for the Healthy Living Summit in Chicago and won’t be doing a long run while I’m there. I was very happy with myself this weekend for not getting too obsessive/restrictive or just completely giving up on being healthy and throwing in the towel. I think i did a good job of being balanced and making good decisions when I could, but going with the flow at other times. I know it might seem intuitive to behave that way, but for me I’m usually all or nothing, so it’s hard for me to be moderate at times. I’m so happy I was able to be balanced this weekend and still do some healthy stuff but also have tons of fun. After all, its not every day that one of your best friends gets married!

What is your favorite way to get back on track after a splurge of a weekend?

7 Responses

  1. Beth, it sounds like you struck a nice balance between enjoying your friend’s wedding and focusing on staying healthy. Way to go!

    By the way, I got your e-mail and I’d love to talk. To be honest, all I can think about right now is going home for a nap, but I could talk later tonight (around 8) or tomorrow. Whatever works best for you.

  2. Those are great tips! Eating before going out definitely helps me avoid eating too much with friends.

    I can’t wait to see everyone’s posts from HLS…. sounds like so much fun!

  3. Great job on not driving yourself crazy over the weekend! I think that’s all part of maintaining your weight!!

    BTW-What do you use to cook your eggs? Do you just use something like Pam?

  4. What a great post! I too try and fit in morning workouts when I know there will be a day of indulgence ­čÖé

  5. I told you I had a feeling that you’d be working out during the weekend!! It feels great to work out, knowing that you’re on vacation and you DONT HAVE TO! so proud of you!

    also, your eating habits were great this weekend. although it was a special weekend, it really seems that you were able to enjoy yourself and not over-eat too much (like i think i did last night lol..).

    great job, it seems like a fantastic weekend!!

  6. Special events are hard. It’s always a fun time, lots of people hanging out…it’s easy to give in to temptation and overeat AND over drink! Good for you staying strong.

  7. eating healthy when out is not always easy, but almost always possible! great ideas and tips

Leave a Reply

