• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

7.0!!

Hello! I honestly can’t believe it’s only Tuesday, but I guess that’s a good thing because I have a LOT to do to get ready before the Healthy Living Summit this weekend! I am so excited for it and finally just purchased my plane ticket so I am in fact going. 🙂

Yesterday was a co-workers birthday, so we went out for frozen yogurt in the afternoon which made a great snack since I forgot one!

Our normal frozen yogurt place was closed, so we ventured into Hershey’s instead. They had a soft serve fro yo machine wit 8 flavors that swirled into the outside of the fro yo, so I went with butterscotch. It was delish! The fro yo was nonfat but I have no idea the nutritional info, but I’m guessing 3 points for this small cup. I also had a peach (1 pt) before leaving work and calling it a day.

I got outside and was a little surprised at how warm/humid it still was, but decided to go for a run anyways. I had the missed 7 miler hanging over my head, and when I checked out the weather report it said the rest of the week was going to be even hotter than yesterday, so I wanted to get the run out of the way. Surprisingly, I felt pretty great during the run! The wind was blowing pretty frequently which broke up the heat, and I tried to go pretty slow from the beginning. My first mile is usually around 9:00min which is too fast for me, but yesterday’s first mile was 9:54, then 9:58, then a little over 10:00 which I was fine with. I took one walking break for .1 miles during the last mile, but I was able to start running again and complete the rest of the mile running rather than walk/running.

Distance: 7.0 miles

Duration: 1:12:35

Avg. Pace: 10:21 min/mile

Avg. Speed: 5.8 mph

Calories: 826

I was SO proud of myself when I saw 7.0 on my Garmin and sat down in the grass to stretch for a while. Such a great feeling when you finish a long run. I know some don’t consider 7 a long run, but it’s the longest I’ve gone since my 10 miler in April 4 months ago and I wasn’t sure I’d be able to finish it. So happy!

The other happy part was that I had a frozen smoothie waiting for me at home, which I swear is the best motivator to finish the run and get back home.

I used 1 cup of light soy milk (1 pt), 1/2 large frozen banana (1 pt), and 1 cup frozen strawberries (1 pt). It wasn’t too sweet so I ended up adding a packet of Truvia, and then threw it in the freezer for 2 hours. I sprinkled 1/4 cup of granola on it (1 pt) which gave it a nice crunch while I ate it with the spoon. Just 4 points and totally delicious.

A little while later, I made myself an egg sandwich with a fried egg cooked with nonstick spray (2 pts), babybell cheese (1 pt), garlic gold (0 pts), and tomato slices (0 pts). I put it all on a toasted light english muffin (1 pt)  for another 4 point snack, and it was delicious.

I watched the finale of Last Comic Standing (which was SO disappointing if you ask me! I can’t believe that guy won!) and then called it a night.

This morning I woke up craving something sweet (and fast!) so I made another openfaced banana, chocolate chip, and peanut butter sammie.

This was also 4 points (a trend perhaps?) with 1 pt each for a slice of whole wheat bread, 1/2 large banana, 1 tsp chocolate chips, and 1 tsp of peanut butter. I microwaved the banana for 30 seconds before spreading it on the toasted bread and sprinkling it with the PB + chocolate chips, and then put the whole thing back in the microwave for another 30 seconds to melt it all together.

What’s your favorite breakfast lately?

20 Responses

  1. whew—your 7 mile run put my Saturday’s 6 mile run to shame! Awesome job lady, I can’t wait until I can run 7 miles.

    Your breakfast looks yum! I am a regular w/ oatmeal but sometimes switch it up and eat hard boiled eggs.

  2. Such a nice 7 mile run! Your’e so blessed to be able to go for a long run without any pain, I miss it so much, but know that cross training with bring me back to the good ol’ pavement soon enough.

    Your open faced sammie looks so yummy! Smashed banana and chocolate… oh my gosh. My favorite has been the classic overnight oats (tried quinoa, but it just isn’t the same) with a million toppings. Keeps me full for like 4 hours 😀

    Have a happy day!

    • i’m not totally pain free – knee hurting a bit and whole body a little sore today, but nothing a little advil and some yoga/stretching can’t help! 🙂

  3. 7 miles is no small feat! Way to go.

  4. My latest breakfast craving is v. similar to your choc chip open sandwich. I take a sandwich thin, spread one half with pb and one half with nutella and top with sliced banana. Close up and put in your sandwich maker/panini maker. Heaven On Earth. For reals! 😉

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

    • Ohhh I don’t have a panini maker but that sounds awesome!!! I’ve heard that you can use two pans if you don’t have a press to make a panini but I’ve never tried it.

  5. Congrats on the awesome run! I am training for a 5 miler at the end of September and that will be my longest distance yet.

    I had a delicious breakfast this morning. Oatmeal, brown sugar, 1 single serving half and half,1 banana sliced over the top, and cashews!
    Yummy 🙂

    • Thanks! Good luck with your 5 miler! One of my New Years Resolutions was to run a half marathon this year, so I am really excited to check it off my list!

  6. I just love reading your blog. Seeing what you are doing daily to make a positive healthy impact is just such a motivation for me!! Congrats on the fab run! I can’t wait until I can run again!

    • Comments like this make me smile. Thank you so much!! Little things add up to big changes over time, so I try to focus on one meal/one run/one temptation at a time.

  7. Oh! My sandwich maker was just a cheapy one from Walmart…I think it was like $8-9. I urge you to try this!!! The ooey-gooey choc-pb-nana mix is TDF! (to die for!) Lol

    Congrats on the 7 miles…i forgot to add to my last msg!! 😦 xx

  8. ha ha… I still consider anything over 5 miles a long run… :p Good work!

    I’m starting to realize how close HLS is… and all the things I need to take care of before another weekend away from home! aaahhh!

  9. I am loving my oatmeal. I just can’t seemed to want anything else. I have been combining it with some silken tofu with cinnamon and vanilla. So good it make the oatmeal nice and creamy and adds some protein too!
    Wish I was attending the summit. I live in Illinois and am SO disappointed that I won’t be able to meet some of the wonderful bloggers.

  10. Way to go Beth! That’s a great run. I love that you prepare the frozen smoothies for yourself to enjoy for after the run. I never think to do that!

    I still love my oatmeal and crave it every day. 2 pts!

  11. Nicely done! Have fun at HLS, I wish I was going!!

  12. Oh my gosh you’re making me hungry…grrrr

Leave a Reply

