• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Favor

Can you do me a huge favor and join my facebook page for Beth’s Journey to Thin? I just started it today and would be so appreciative!! Feel free to add me as a friend, too and I’ll gladly accept. πŸ™‚

I whipped up a quick lunch this morning that was easy and delicious, my favorite combo. I spotted Orzo at the store the other day and haven’t had it or purchased it in AGES, so I decided to get a box. I love orzo with pesto and figure it can make a good base for a lot of pasta salads, and also a great side dish. A serving size is 1/3 cup (dry) which is 4 WW points, so I made 1/4 cup of it which is just 3 pts. It cooks in 7 minutes, too, which is always nice since 7 minutes gives you a great amount of time to throw the rest of your ingredients together.

Into my bowl went:

  • cooked orzo (1/4 cup dry) (3 pts)
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (1 pt)
  • diced tomato (0 pts)
  • lemon basil from my herb garden (0 pts)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil mayo (1 pt)

I mixed it all together and added a bit of salt and pepper, and it made a delicious and filling pasta salad.

This whole bowl was 5 points and totally worth every.Β In order to vegan-ize this, you could easily use olive oil in place of the mayo, or to un-veganize it even more, you could add some feta, mozzarella, or goat cheese, and it would be divine. You could also spruce it up with any veggies you have in your fridge/kitchen, or change up the beans if you prefer another kind. I loove chickpeas, so this was perfect for me.

I had some plans tonight but they got cancelled so now I’m totally open. It’s really sunny/hot out so running/biking is probably not going to happen, but maybe I’ll go for a swim?

What’s your favorite workout when it’s too hot to run/bike?

9 Responses

  1. You make that lunch look so easy! Add some chicken and I’d be in business!

  2. I am a fan!

    and chickpeas–yum!

  3. Just discovered your blog! πŸ˜€

    When it’s too hot outside for a workout, I usually do one of my at-home DVD’s, or go to my gym for a group aerobic class!

  4. Yum, I love orzo. And I joined your Facebook page πŸ™‚

  5. ooooh love this little dish – talk about a bowl of ‘tasty’!!!

    I go swimming!!!

  6. That looks amazing! And I liked your facebook page. πŸ™‚ I love supporting other bloggers. And I followed you on Twitter.

    Can you tell I just found your blog and like it? πŸ˜€

  7. LOVE that orzo salad idea. I need to get some olive oil mayo- I did not realize that it is only 1 point per T! That is great. And the print ads for it somehow make it look divine. πŸ™‚

  8. I joined your page on facebook! And that salad looks super tasty πŸ™‚

  9. Swim! I spend a lot of time in the pool. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

