• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Shrimp and Peach Summer Rolls

Tonight’s dinner came together sort of randomly, but it was DELICIOUS and a different combination that I’ve ever tried before! But first…

Afternoon snacks included unpictured popcorn (1 pt) and 2 wasa crackers (1 pt) with a babybel cheese (1 pt). I also had a Quaker Chocolate Peanut Butter Chewy Granola Bar (2 pts) that was leftover in my goodie bag from the wedding right before going on an awesome bike ride.

I’ve started waiting a little bit before working out to let the night cool off a bit since the days have been too hot. It’s nice because I don’t rush home and take my time having a snack and relaxing a bit before heading out. It was wayyy too hot for a run, so I was contemplating going swimming or going for a bike ride, and I just decided to go with a ride because it takes less prep. I am still a bit sore from yesterday’s run (my left knee is hurting a bit) so I didn’t want to push it, but wanted to get in some more exercise to balance out the indulgences from the weekend. Stats:

Duration: 46:38

Distance: 10.17 miles

Avg. Speed: 13.1 mph

Avg. Pace: 4:35 min/mile

Calories: 572

It was a great ride and my knee didn’t hurt one bit. It was a little breezy too, which made for a nice break from the heat. As soon as I got back, I was hungry and didn’t have a smoothie waiting for me like yesterday – sad story.

Dinner ended up coming together kind of by accident, but turned out AWESOME. I have two heads of cabbage left so I wanted to use some of that, and for some reason I was craving summer rolls, so my plan was to make rolls using the cabbage. But then I was thinking about it and didn’t want to use the cabbage raw in the rolls, so I cut it up and then cooked it in a pan with some veggie stock, a little water, and a splash of apple cider vinegar.

Since I was so hungry, I didn’t want to wait for the cabbage to cook and then cool, so I tried to figure out what else I could put in the summer rolls. I had some cilantro from the other night as well as cooked shrimp, but that wasn’t enough. I looked around and realized peaches might work in the rolls, so I went with it.

I put a handful of cilantro, 4 little shrimp, and 1/3 of a sliced peach in each of three rice wrappers. You have to soak the wrappers in warm water for 20 seconds so they become pliable, and then you put everything in there and wrap it up. You have to move way too quickly to take pictures of the process, and it’s definitely a little difficult, but each one gets easier. I ended up making 3 and they turned out pretty good though a little looser than ideal.

I served them with this Sweet Chili Sauce that I had in my house, which is an awesome condiment to have on hand.

2 tablespoons has 70 calories (1 pt), so I put a serving in a ramekin and served it with the three summer rolls.

And also had a bowl of the cooked cabbage for an extra veggie kick.

The cabbage was 0 points, and the summer rolls broke down to 2 points for the shrimp, 1 for the sauce, 1 for the peach, and 2 for the rice paper rolls, so 6 total for the meal. It was AWESOME. The peach, shrimp, and cilantro combo worked so well even though it came together pretty unexpectedly!

I’m off to play some Scrabble with Wil! What’s your favorite board game??

13 Responses

  1. I bet peaches are so good in this. What a great idea! I’ve recently developed a love for rice paper too! My favorite board game would have to be Monopoly. I think it’s because I have so many great memories playing with my brother.

  2. Beth, that looks awesome, but is it enough points after your bike ride?

    I meant to call you last night, but I fell asleep right after I got home from work. Does sometime this evening work for you? I get off work at 5. Let me know!

    • To be honest it probably wasn’t enough fuel because I woke up really hungry this morning, but I did eat all my points yesterday and plenty extra over the weekend. I ate before my run this morning though and am refueling a lot today. 🙂

  3. When I first glanced at your workout stats I thought you were running and that you were officially the fastest person ever!

  4. Wow that looks tasty!!!

    My favorite board game would probably be Sorry!

  5. I’m impressed! Those rolls look so fancy, and tasty.

  6. Wow those look great! I love spring rolls.

    My favorite board game? Scrabble for sure!

  7. What a yummy looking invention! I love eating shrimp in the summertime.

  8. hahaha! I first thing I did was glance down at those number stats, and I thought that was for your run. hehe. Nevertheless, it is awesome. And I shall call you Supah Woman anyways.

  9. Those rolls look awesome! Now I wanna try and make some

  10. I loved loved loovveeedd Clue when I was younger! All board games make me smile though. The rolls look awesome, what great fillers! Are the wrappers good? tasteless? They sort of look like plastic wrap HA!

    Who won scrabble? I have been obsessed with the words with friends ap for the iPad, very similar to scrabble and oh so fun.

Leave a Reply

