• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Grumbling

I woke up this morning a little hungry since last night’s dinner was pretty light. I think next time I’d add some noodles in those rolls or some carbs on the side if I have it for a meal after a workout just to replenish myself fully. I normally am not hungry when I first wake up and my stomach was grumbling from the second I opened my eyes!

What’s better than peanut butter on toast first thing in the morning?

This was one slice of whole wheat bread (1 pt) with 1 tbsp crunchy peanut butter (2 pts). I ate it quickly and waited just a few minutes before heading out.

Distance: 3.5 miles

Duration: 33:39 min

Avg Pace: 9:36 min/mile

Avg Speed: 6.2 mph

Calories: 409

This was pretty fast for me! I’m usually averaging closer to 10:00 minute miles, but to be honest the run was not that easy. I started out feeling great but then around the turnaround point was really struggling to keep myself from walking. I think because I’ve learned to take successful walking breaks where I just walk a little and then run the rest of the way, it makes me feel like it’s OK to take walking breaks. To clarify, I think it is OK for some people, but for me, it’s not that I NEED a walking break, its just that I want one since I’ve recently gotten into the habit. I think I need to just power through and not stop, especially on shorter runs between 3 and 4 miles when it’s not even that hot.

After my run, I took a quick shower and threw together my lunch. I was already running a little behind and wasn’t that hungry since I’d had the PB Toast right before my run, so I just whipped up a smoothie and brought it to work to drink here. It was my first time ever transporting a smoothie from home, and I just used a bell jar and it worked perfectly!

In the mix:

  • 1 cup light soy milk (1 pt)
  • 1/2 large frozen banana (1 pt)
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries (1 pt)

Simple, but delicious.

I probably should have added some protein powder or peanut butter/almond butter to the mix to make it more filling because by 11:30 my stomach was grumbling and screaming for lunch!

I manged to hold off until a few minutes after 12 because if I eat before noon that can be dangerous for later in the day. Lunch was a new-to-me slash strange combination based on what I had in my fridge. Sweet Potatoes and Black Beans is one of my favorite combos of all times, but unfortunately I am out of black beans at the moment. Instead, I had some chickpeas (1 pt) in the fridge, so I brought those to give the sweet potato (3 pts) a protein boost, plus a laughing cow babybel cheese (1 pt).

Totally weird combo, but it worked! It was a little dry because I microwaved the chickpeas to get them hot which dried them out a bit, but I had brought some salsa along (0 pts) so I poured that on top after a few bites.

It was actually really good! I think sweet potatoes and black beans are a better combo, but if I’m all out of black beans I wouldn’t hesitate to try this again. When a friend asked me what was for lunch today and I said a sweet potato, chickpeas, babybel cheese, and salsa, it definitely sounded weird coming out of my mouth, but tasted quite good going into it. 🙂

On the side I also had some leftover cabbage from last night (0 pts)

Sad but true – I ate an entire head of cabbage between last night and tonight. I’m pretty sure vegetables are going to start coming out of my ears pretty soon…

Two questions today…

Have you tried any weird combos of food lately that you wouldn’t expect to go together? Did the combination work or not so much?

Do you eat before you run/workout if you’re an AM exerciser? If so, how long do you usually wait after eating before getting started?

20 Responses

  1. I don’t usually eat before a really early AM workout. However, on race days I’ll usually try to choke down at least half of a banana.

  2. I wait about 10 min after eating if I’m swimming, running or anything “intense” like spinning. Usually have something like toast w/ PB or a banana in a wrap. Would have to wait longer if anything heavier like oatmeal or yogurt. If I’m just doing a regular old bike ride though I can eat and hit the road right after – I guess the warmup time on the bike is like the equivalent of waiting.

  3. If I wake up early to workout in the morning, I try to hold off on breakfast if I’m not doing anything over 3 or 4 miles. I think anything more than that would require a little pb toast or granola bar of some sort… I’m usually thinking about breakfast as soon as i wake up, so maybe that’s why I feel that way?

  4. I don’t think anything is better than toast and peanut butter. It’s the best.

    It depends. Some mornings I do when I am feeling hungry, and when I’m not, I don’t.

    Usually eating doesnt affect my workouts in a negative way though, so either wya works!

  5. I am normally a night person when it comes to my workouts or my Couch to 5k runs. However, on the occasion I do go in the morning I don’t usually eat before I go.

    Love me some whole wheat toast & peanut butter or almond butter though after my workout.

  6. My new combo is sweet potato and baked beans. A lovely little duo! I like the idea of a little babybel across the top!

  7. well i can answer your first question with authority: NOTHING IS BETTER THAN PEANUT BUTTER TOAST FIRST THING IN THE MORNING! or ever. it’s my favorite food 🙂

    sometimes i eat a lil somethin before running (1 piece pb toast or a banana) and often i am a-ok, whereas other times i get a monster cramp. ugh. still haven’t figured all that stuff out.

  8. I randomly tried oatmeal with a small sweet potato and cut up turkey loin – all mixed together. I was craving oatmeal, but needed some more nutrients after an 80 minutes spin class. It was ok tasting, but probably won’t make it again. 🙂

    I don’t eat before my workouts because I am up so darn early for them that I am just not yet hungry.

  9. I usually drink half an Atkins shake in the morning right before I run (weekends). When I run at lunch during the week, I eat a banana before I run and then my regular lunch after I run.

  10. Since I work out at 5:00 am I do not eat anything before I go.

    I don’t if it is a weird combination but I put together roasted veggies and had some left over cannellini beans and topped it with feta cheese, It was quite delicious lunch.

  11. I adore cabbage. I could probably eat a whole head of it in less than 24 hours too.

    Weird combos. Hm. Well, today, I had a butternut squash lean cuisine and mixed in a hardboiled egg. That might be weird, I don’t know. :p

  12. I eat pre-workout if the workout will be more than an hour or if I had a light dinner the night before. Usually I just have something small (piece of toast) so I don’t have to wait to digest.

  13. I normally have a banana with PB or a smoothie before I hit the gym in the morning – then sit down to a good breajfast afterwards!

  14. Unless I’m on a really long run, I don’t eat before I workout!

  15. thats what i always say, peanut butter and bread always starts the day out fabulously! i love the idea of stuffing the sweet potato with some chickpeas instead of the usual black beans which are yummy too. mmm and cheese melted in there would be so delicious!!

  16. usually a banana or a protein bar before a workout works well for my tummy. ive had peanut butter on bread which sat well too, and even oats in a jar which was suprising since i thought it would leave me weighed down.

    xoxo

  17. I NEVER used to eat before runs, no matter how long, but someone who I really respect as an athlete told me that if I going longer than an hour, I am not doing myself any favors. So I am now trying to do essentially what most are suggesting- protein bar, etc.

  18. If I’m running more than 3-4 miles, I’ll have 1/2 banana w/PB or 1 slice toast/PB before heading out. If it is a longer run (6+ miles) I’ll have some oatmeal/banana and then I wait 20-30 minutes before heading out.

    Great run! And I agree that black beans are great on sw. potatoes, I’ve never thought about using chickpeas or anything else!

  19. Too funny – I eat baked potatoes with TJ salsa! I just love it and it is def. my favorite combination these days…

  20. Hey,
    I don’t work out in the mornings because that makes me get dizzy (I have a low blood pressure and are dizzy just from getting out of a chair most mornings). But I couldn’t never do anything before breakfast. It’s the second thing on my agenda every morning (first thing is my trip to the bathroom)
    The weirdest combination I ever had is a typical combination for all americans: PB and J. For us Germans Peanuts are usually roasted and salted. PB also usually has salt added to it. And for Germans having salty and sweet together is really weird..so that’s probably the weirdest thing for me as a German and the way I was raised to eat. The second is another combo like this: I had pretzels covered with chocolate and the pretzels actually had salt on them.
    But this just goes with showing that different countries define different things as “weird”!

Leave a Reply

