• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Lettuce-Less Salad

Hi! Happy end of the work day on Thursday! I am getting so, SO excited for leaving tomorrow for the Healthy Living Summit! Are you going? If not, is there anything specific you want me to try to find out while I’m there? I promise to take lots and lots of pictures, but won’t blog until Sunday evening when I’m back.

But first, a quickie lunch/snack post. Today’s lunch was SO delicious, and so easy to throw together too. I started with a monster salad, that had no lettuce! I actually love having salads like this occassionally with no greens for a base because every bite of the salad is good stuff. i always think of lettuce as filler, but maybe that’s just me.

This salad had:

  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (1 pt)
  • 1 whole cucumber (from my farm share) (0 pts)
  • 1 box of grape tomatoes (also from the CSA) (0 pts)
  • 1/2 small avocado (2 pts)
  • 2 tbsp lemon hummus (1 pt)

I also had a slice of whole wheat toast on the side (1 pt) to get some carbs!

The tomatoes and cucumber were the highlights of the salad. They taste so fresh and delicious straight from the farm. I honestly sometimes forget how good fresh veggies can be! I ended up smearing some of the hummus and mashed avocado on the bread as I got towards the bottom of the salad. Lettuce-less salads are always great because everything is a topping basically, and I love me some toppings!

Afternoon snack was a plain siggi’s yogurt (2 pts) with some fiber one (0 pts).

The Siggi’s is a little tart for me, so I added a packet of Truvia and then it was perfect. Each jar of plain yogurt has 17 grams of protein, plus 16 grams of fiber from the Fiber 1! Very filling and satisfying snack, which is low in points, too.

I’m about to check out from work to get some last minute shopping done for tomorrow’s trip. Be back in the morning!

What’s your favorite salad combo lately?

10 Responses

  1. Good looking salad! I like creating new salads (lettuce or no lettuce). I recently made a salad with lettuce and leftover chicken from fajitas we made. The chicken fajita, peppers and onions were really yummy on top of the salad.

  2. oh my. that salad looks soooo good….if only you had added feta cheese you would have had one of my all time favorite combos – hummus, tomato, and feta!! Have fun in chicago…i’m so jealous of everyone who is going =( hehe

  3. oooh have fun! Sounds like you are all going to have a great weekend 🙂

  4. That salad looks delicious!

    Right now I am loving the tomato, mozz, basil, evoo, s&p combo.

  5. Looove garbanzos in salads, their pop is so yummy, and taste so subtle. My favorite salad combo is definitely: spinach, bell pepper, cucumber, homemade veggie patties (your recipe!!) crumbled on top, with homemade guac, or simple avocado with salsa (er.. ie: guacamole!)

    & fresh fruit + veggies are amazing, aren’t they? Farmer’s Markets are the greatest! 🙂

    I have yet to try the siggi’s yogurt, but really want to test my tart taste buds… can I handle it? I want to try!!

  6. SO jealous. Have fun at the healthy living summit. Take notes on new products and food blogging info!

  7. It has been a week of Caprese and Nicoise at this house. Why can’t it be summer all year???? Your’s looks great- I agree, better without the lettuce.

  8. And I am also jealous of the Healthy Living Seminar trip! SO wish I was going! Bring back lots of info for us all! And have fun.

  9. I’ve never tried Siggi’s but I’ve seen it in stores. Have fun at HLS!

  10. Have fun in Chicago!!

    I love salsa on my salads 🙂 Very summery!!

Leave a Reply

