• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Nats!

Guess where I went last night?

That’s right, the Nationals Park! Wil got free tickets from a vendor at work, so we got some pretty good seats in the “Stars and Stripes Club.” It sounded pretty glorious but all it involved was walking up many many ramps and then having similar seats to the other areas of the stadium. Wil didn’t think I looked supportive enough of our team, so he bought me a Nats hat.

And then we went in! We only stayed for a few innings because we were losing 8-1 and it was the 4th inning, so we ended up going in search of some food. I was nervous about finding healthy options at the ballpark because most of the stands have hotdogs, hamburgers, sausages, funnelcakes, pizza, ice cream, candy, etc. I did find a place that had a Grilled Veggie Sandwich, and it came with portabello mushrooms, zucchini, onions, lettuce and tomato. It also had “goat cheese” but it looked and tasted a lot like ranch to me…

I only ate half the bun and all the veggies, so it wasn’t so bad. The sandwich itself tasted good, but I still feel a little skeptical of that “goat cheese.” I also got a ceasar salad with no dressing at a little restaurant in the park, which was surprisngly delicious. The romaine was crisp and there was the perfect amount of cheese and just a few croutons.

On our way out of the stadium, I spotted the racing presidents, which are the National’s mascots who do a race e every game. I forget who won the race last night, but I still wanted to get a picture with them!

Abe Lincoln, Wil, Thomas Jefferson, Me, and Teddy Roosevelt. Exciting stuff.

This morning was an special day… CSA day! Here’s the goods from this week:

  • 5 eggplants
  • 2 mystery herbs
  • 2 boxes of baby tomatoes
  • 1 regular tomato
  • 2 yellow scallop squash
  • peaches
  • nectarines
  • 1 cucumber

This week my friend who I split the share with is on vacation, so I get to keep the whole thing! I am especially excited about the eggplant, scallop squash, and baby tomatoes! I’ve never had yellow scallop squash before so it’s going to be fun to come up with something to do with it!

Breakfast today was a simple bowl of (as Caitlin puts it) unovernight oats.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (1.5 pts)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 1/2 cup light soy milk (.5 pts)
  • 2 tbsp HempPlus Granola (.5 pts)

Simple, quick and delish. Yum.

Do you go to professional sporting events? Whats your favorite sport? Ever had your picture taken with the mascot?

11 Responses

  1. Baseball games are fun, but my favorite sporting events are Wizards games! Except the mascot is weird haha.

    • I’ve never been to a Wizards game but they actually give away free tix at my office so maybe i’ll get some!! i’ll see you TOMORROWWWWWW!!!

  2. We go to lots of baseball games. My favorite team is the Mets and my fiance’s is the Yankees (we’ve agreed to disagree on that), but we go to lots of Nats game, especially when the Mets are in town. (I’ve had my photo taken with Mr. Met!) Caps games are a lot of fun too!

    You can bring in your own food to Nationals games so we do that a lot when we go. Cheaper and healthier. We will usually split a baseball treat though… pretzel or soft serve, something like that.

    • I didn’t know I could bring my own food into the stadium!! Mental note for next time.

      The mets were actually my team growing up – my dad would always buy season tickets and have to DRAG me to the games because i never wanted to go. if only i knew how cool it was at the time!!

  3. Plenty of Phillies games. Never had my picture taken with the Phanatic. We took our son to a Camden Riversharks game. That was fun and he did get his photo with the mascot.

    Your CSA looks awesome this week!

  4. Oh fun! I actually said last week (not knowing the schedule, so they may have not even been in town) that we could have possible gone to a game… I’m all about getting to go experience new baseball stadiums!

  5. Nats games are fun 🙂 It feels so all American! I’ve never actually eaten there because everything is super expensive and seems ridiculously unhealthy.

    My favorite sporting events are Virginia Tech football games! Nothing like some crazy tailgating and an insane stadium to enjoy a Saturday morning.

    PS I love those eggplants!!

  6. Baseball games are fun. We used to go the the Rockies games when we lived in Colorado. I would love to go to a professional football game!

  7. That scallop squash looks so cool! Um yeah that’s definitely Ranch to me! It’s so hard to eat well at sporting events.

  8. You look really cute in that hat!

    I like going to the local hockey games in the winter time. The Blazers are fun to see live sometimes too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

