• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Chicago Bound

Hello! I am so excited to be leaving my office in just a few hours to head to Chicago for the Healthy Living Summit! Work has been so busy and I had a lot going on prior to last weekend’s wedding, so its just been hitting me the last few days that I’m actually going! It’s so exciting to be going to a conference for fun and about a subject I’m so passionate about, rather than a conference I’m planning.

Fingers crossed that everything goes well, even though it’s Friday the 13th!

Last night I went to Express to get a dress for the cocktail party. I went with this one with the turquoise top and actually had to buy a size small! If I wasn’t in such a rush I probably would have danced around and celebrated for a while. 🙂 Before heading out the door, I had a peach.

And then I grabbed a quick dinner with Wil before heading out to Target to get travel size liquids for my trip. I went with the veggie fajitas and actually ate everything on my plate!

These were awesome but not quite as good as the ones I love from Don Pablo’s which have much more veggies and more variety. I finally finished all my errands and packing, watched Chopped, and then headed to bed.

I woke up this morning and had an AWESOME run. It’s been far too long since I had a run and felt good throughout! Stats:

Distance: 4.0 miles

Duration: 38:09

Avg Pace: 9:32 min/mile

Calories: 460

Before the run, I had 2 shot blocks (66 calories – 1 pt).

I’d never had these before and love them! They gave me just the right amount of energy, tasted good, and will be easy to eat on long runs. I’m still partial to Sports Beans, but these were on sale at Target so I thought I’d give them a shot (pun intended).

After my run and last minute packing, I made a quick breakfast before heading out the door to work.

Two eggs fried in pam (4 points) over a sliced tomato (0 pts) with one slice of toast (1 pt). I don’t think I could ever go vegan because I just love eggs too much. They are so tasty to me and so quick to prepare for a protein boost!

I’m heading out to Weigh In shortly at Weight Watchers but I’m not expecting much of a change since I had a pretty indulgent weekend with all the wedding happenings.

Still 3 weeks more until Labor Day – I really have to get cracking on my goal of getting to my target weight!! How are your Labor Day Challenge Goals Going? Any exciting plans for the weekend?

11 Responses

  1. Cute dress! I won’t lie- the attire for this weekend has been completely blowing my mind because I didn’t know what to pack! And so my overpacking issues raged last night! lol

    See you tonight!

  2. I feel the same way about eggs. I’ve tried the vegan thing but eggs and cheese kept giving me the puppy dog eyes.

    Have a fantastic time in Chicago!

  3. have fun in chicago!

    and yeah, eggs rock. Nothing bad about them!

  4. Have fun this weekend! I too LOVE love love eggs. This weekend my good friend from high school is getting married! This will be my first wedding of a super close friend. I’m excited!

  5. Congrats on the size S purchase! I freak out in dressing rooms when that happens and just sit there staring at myself with so much excitement.

    Sometimes I may jump/dance around a bit with excitement as well, but then get nervous about the store rep seeing my dancing feet and thinking I am a wacko.

    Have fun in Chi-town!

  6. GREAT job on the run!! That’s a great time!!!

  7. have so much fun in chicago! missed you all by ONE wk! three weeks, you can TOTALLY do it 🙂

  8. I was curious to try the Shot Blox the other day but instead tried the Organic Honey Stingers- Cherry Blossom flavor. They are AWESOME. I highly suggest!

  9. i love those shot bloks! everyone who knows me has to pry those suckers from my hand. i tend to eat them like candy tho which may or may not be a good thing lol.

    have fun love!!! safe travels, and happy ones too 🙂

  10. I hope you are having a fabulous time! And just keep focused on doing the best you can each moment and you’ll reach your goals. The best doesn’t have to be perfection. You’re doing great! 🙂

  11. LOVE eggs over slices of tomato! Add some avocado, and you’ve got yourself the perrrfect bfast 🙂 And I’ve heard egg substitutes are pretty legit, who knows how they taste…

    Have an awesome Sunday, girl! And that 4 mile run was great, congrats!

Leave a Reply

